1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Rig Setup, any Suggestions?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by nyterage, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. nyterage New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    PSU: Corsair 650w
    Memory: OCZ 4GB DDR2 1066
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x3 720 2.8ghz 6mb L3 Cache socket AM3
    Motherboard:ASUS M4A78-E
    Video: Sapphire Radeon 4870 512mb 256bit GDDR5
    HDD:1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11

    around 700$ total, any suggestions on what to switch out that wont cost too much more, im going for a nice gaming Rig that will last me a few years untill my budget is bigger.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2009
  2. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Never heard of that PSU manufacturer before.... No idea on the quality....

    8GB of DDR3? Why so much RAM and why DDR3? If you do insist on having 8GB, I'd go with DDR2 because it's cheaper.

    What's this computer gonna be used for?
     
  3. meaintsmart New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    66 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    If you're going to get ATI, then I think you should go with at least a 4830.
     
  4. nyterage New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hardcore Gaming Rig, i multi task a ton while gaming so thats why i got so much ram. the Power Supply was used in my old rig and i was hoping to reuse it, seems to work great, any suggestions on a better one, i was thinking of Corsair but wasnt completely sure.
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Get a respectable power supply. I've never heard of power star before and wouldn't trust it. Get a Corsair, Antec, PC Power & Cooling, OCZ etc..
    And like another user said, get at least a 4830 for gaming. I have one for sale if you live in the USA :)
     
  6. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    You've got a pretty mean system until you list the 4670. Spring for a 4870 or 4850 at least.

    Also, I don't like/trust Seagate drives, I feel safest in WD's hands, or hell even Maxtor (and not Hitachi either, Deathstars, yeah two totally different ones have died on me).

    Also I am not going to suggest upping your PSU because 1) the one you have works and 2) it'll power this new system so no reason to spend money until it does fry.
     
  7. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Oh yeah, memory running in Dual Channel mode is actually slower in most games than Single Channel, I can only guess what kind of cripple you could get from going Tripple. So I suggest going with a DDR2 mobo and 4-6GB of DDR2 RAM, you'll save some money, and once again, instead of spending money on a PSU or something else you don't need, I'm actually an nVidia guy so I'd say make the trade off and buy a GTX260 (or a 1GB 4870).
     
  8. nyterage New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the Advice, went up to the 4870, will cost twice as much but im sure its well worth it.
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Definitely :)
     
  10. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Yeah, Corsair makes good stuff. How about a TX-650?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139005

    You in the US?

    Honestly, I would just get 4GB of DDR2 right now. I find it hard to imagine that you would notice hte difference between 4GB and 8GB. If you only get 4GB now, you can always get another 4GB if you decide that you need/want it.

    I would definitely use DDR2 instead of DDR3. DDR3 is not worth the cost atm, especially on mainstream/budget systems. You'll need another mobo too tho.

    You need a better graphics card. 4670 is ok for 1280x1024, but why not get a 4850 or 4870 which will be awesome on 1920x1200! You can use the money you save from DDR3-->DDR2 to get a better graphics card.

    @Studabaker
    It's not a good idea to run a low quality PSU because if it does decide to crap out on you, it could take other parts of your system with it. Why wait until something bad happens? Get a good PSU now and you can be sure you won't have any issues.
     
  11. nyterage New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, ill switch out the DDR3 for DDR2 and probably take about 60$ off the total price. :)
     
  12. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    I have never heard of a PSU dying taking out anything in a system. Modern PSUs, motherboards and devices have protection against all sorts of shortages/grounding/surge issues.
     
  13. nyterage New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    updated new specs, tell me what you think now.
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    That's probably the best price performance gaming rig right there
     
  15. nyterage New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yea, total at newegg.com is $687.96. great price for a nice gameing rig :)
     
  16. meaintsmart New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    66 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Looks good!
     
  17. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Yeah! Now we're talkin!

    @ Studabaker:
    You'd be surprised. I've seen many in many cases where a PSU dies and takes out other stuff with it.
     
  18. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    I'm on board for this one, you've done well young padawan.
     
  19. nyterage New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks, i have all the other parts i need to complete this rig (case, Sound card and Wireless network card) thanks for your opinions, helped me alot and only added 80$ onto the original price.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)