1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Ryzen revision corrects compiler segmentation fault issue

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by biffzinker, Aug 25, 2017.

  1. biffzinker

    biffzinker

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1,050 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    Location:
    AK, USA
    Source: Phoronix
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  2. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,948 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,255
    I have an affected CPU, but simply raising the SOC voltage to 1.2v fixes the issue. I think it was an early binning issue honestly. It's not worth sending it in for me.

    I have a gentoo environment to test this in, so I can say it with some confidence.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    6,033 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    yeah you have to disable micro op cache... its only on the first batch of them.

    @R-T-B I didn't know that would fix that... I feel like 1.2v SOC fixes a bunch of crap. But I did read to disable micro op.
     
    biffzinker says thanks.
  4. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,948 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,255
    I've read that but disabling mico-op on mine seemed like a work around, so I tried other things first. It seems the mico op cache is considered part of the SOC and is voltage starved, at least on my chip, as raising SOC voltage eliminated the symptoms.

    I'm unsure if it will work longterm though... really frustrating and making me considering an RMA, but I don't want my system down, lol.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    6,033 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    yeah I hear you man... that micro op cache was one of the core things Keller's team introduced to increase the IPC :/...

    The price of early adoption :toast:
     
    R-T-B says thanks.
  6. Totally

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    512 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Right where I want to be
    How do you guys test to see if your CPU is affected by the bug? Is it possible in a non-*nix environment?
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2017
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    6,033 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    Not really possible - the erratum is specific to a certain type of workload and kernel over an extended period.
     
  8. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,280 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,301
    Location:
    Houston
    Ah welcome to purchasing the low bin of a new design
     
    R-T-B says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,948 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,255
    The info to determine if your Ryzen is affected is above. Yes, mine is. It is exceedingly unlikely you will see this issue outside a *nix OS however.


    No, it's very testable in source distros like gentoo. I segfaulted pretty much every world rebuild.

    It's a major PITA to set up a test environment though...
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2017
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. biffzinker

    biffzinker

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1,050 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    Location:
    AK, USA
    If you click on the source link I included at the bottom of the first post, and scroll down the news article there is a script linked to you can run under Linux terminal to test your Ryzen CPU.

    I'll make it easy for you though here's the link. :)
    https://github.com/suaefar/ryzen-test/blob/master/kill-ryzen.sh
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2017
  11. mouacyk

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    96 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    RMA has resulted in segfault-free replacements as reported on the AMD Community thread. Why wait months or years to find out, when your CPU failure could be blamed on other things.

    Also, how safe is 1.2v on the SOC voltage and how far above spec is it?
     
  12. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,948 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,255
    it's not far above sped at all. about .15v above spec. It also adds almost no heat.

    As for the "why wait?" That answer is simple. Downtime. I don't want my rig down.

    I may see if they are willing to take a credit card on hold for a "ship after receipt" exchange.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2017
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,948 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,255
    I must withdraw my former claims that the voltage fixed my issue.

    Today, I did a world rebuild and got numerous segfaults. It appears it was just hiding, if improved at all. The issue is still present.

    I will be buying a week 25 or newer processor in town tomorrow to minimize downtime, and RMAing this one. The RMA'd replacement will likely come for sale here soon. It should be a NIB 1800x guys, and I plan to slice at least $100 off retail! Watch for it!
     
    AsRock, mouacyk, xkm1948 and 4 others say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,948 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,255
    I can't find one in town. It seems week 25+ CPUs haven't quite made it to market yet. I'll be doing an RMA I guess unless GIGABYTE miraculously comes out with a microcode update that fixes it in a few days.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,948 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,255
    I have my RMA'd CPU. Mine is a week 33. And it clocks like a rocket.

    Expect a full report on the process and my findings soon.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,114 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,971
    Location:
    Florida
    because it keeps crashing? lolol /tease
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,948 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,255
    I know you're kidding... but in a source based distro like gentoo, frankly, yes.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2017
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,114 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,971
    Location:
    Florida
    Oh I understand! im a BSD server admin myself. atleast all of my web stuff is. I consider it a test a baseline test for my techs to install gentoo with GUI. maybe ill make that a stipulation for there next raise. (and get java working)
     
    biffzinker and R-T-B say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)