• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New system build turns on but won't boot, not even bios! help

snbase

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 5000+ AM2
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-M61p-S3
Cooling Zalman 9500LED
Memory Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI HD 3870
Storage WD Sata 750gb
Case Antec 900
Power Supply CORSAIR 520 Watt HX Series SLI Certified Power Supply
#1
This is my 3rd system build and having a very irritating problem. I bought a ECS G31T-M motherboard along with a e8500 processor and a 1gb stick of ocz high performance premium module DDR2 800mhz. When i start it up the system hangs. It doesn't beep but all the fans and lights go on like normal. It goes to the boot screen and lists my cpu and memory but stops there. It says to press (DEL) to enter bios or (F11) for BBS popup. But nothing happened when i tried both. I tried clearing the cmos by both reseeding the jumper and also removing the cmos battery and when i did this it no longer had the option to boot into bios(DEL). This is really getting frustrating and don't know what the problem is.



New Build System Specs:

ECS G31T-M Motherboard
Intel E8500 Duo Core2
1gb OCZ DDR2 800mhz memory
Ultra Power Supply 750pro Lifetime Series
250gb WD Hard Drive SATA
LG DVD-RW Burner
Antec 900 Case
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#2
It's possible the board does not support wolfdales w/o a bios flash. You may need to put an older 65nm chip in there and flash the latest bios first. Also double check all power connections.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#3
Do you have another chip that you can put in the board?
From the website it shows that the last update that they did for the bios was for the 45nm chips... So, with that it might be the problem.
 

snbase

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 5000+ AM2
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-M61p-S3
Cooling Zalman 9500LED
Memory Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI HD 3870
Storage WD Sata 750gb
Case Antec 900
Power Supply CORSAIR 520 Watt HX Series SLI Certified Power Supply
#4
I do have a socket 775 chip but it is not dual core, its just a single core pentium 4. How can i run a boot to flash the bios? Ive tried making a bootable floppy disk but it doesnt even seem to read it, no lights go on on the drive.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#5

snbase

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 5000+ AM2
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-M61p-S3
Cooling Zalman 9500LED
Memory Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI HD 3870
Storage WD Sata 750gb
Case Antec 900
Power Supply CORSAIR 520 Watt HX Series SLI Certified Power Supply
#6
Ok...i switched out the processor and put in the pentium 4 chip and it turns on but nothing displays, the monitor was acting as if were asleep and was just a black screen.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#7
reset CMOS one more time with the P4 in, also make sure your power connections are hunky dorey.

Do you hear the standard one beep when you turn it on?
 

snbase

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 5000+ AM2
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-M61p-S3
Cooling Zalman 9500LED
Memory Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI HD 3870
Storage WD Sata 750gb
Case Antec 900
Power Supply CORSAIR 520 Watt HX Series SLI Certified Power Supply
#8
There is no post beep, also the lights on the keyboard dont light up. this is exactly what shows up:


Amibios 2006 American Megatrends
Release 6/29/2007
Cpu: Intel Core 2 Cpu E8500@3.16
press F11 for bbs popup
the MCH is operating with ddr2 800/CL5/Tras15/Trp5/Trcd5
Single Channel Mode
1024mb OK (8mb shared memory size used)


And it does nothing when i hit F11
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#9
I don't know if p4's are supported. I'm still thinking a bios problem, if you have a fry's or microcenter around you can pick up one of the ones above and swap em out real quick then take it back. Do you have other systems around that you can switch parts out w/? Maybe try the parts in another mb if you can. Could be a doa mb.
 
Last edited:

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,563 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,464
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#10
that board works with a wolfdale outta the box i had one e720ES booted no issues

its the ram put some stuff that runs @1.9v or it wont boot
 

snbase

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 5000+ AM2
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-M61p-S3
Cooling Zalman 9500LED
Memory Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI HD 3870
Storage WD Sata 750gb
Case Antec 900
Power Supply CORSAIR 520 Watt HX Series SLI Certified Power Supply
#11
the specs say that it runs 1.8v to 2.0v. Ok so if this memory is crap then can someone recommend memory that would run compatible with my motherboard?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,563 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,464
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#12
i know patriot extreme DDR800 CL5, corsair XMS2 CL4/5 work with it b/c i tried those but anything with samsung IC's is a no go
 

snbase

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 5000+ AM2
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-M61p-S3
Cooling Zalman 9500LED
Memory Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI HD 3870
Storage WD Sata 750gb
Case Antec 900
Power Supply CORSAIR 520 Watt HX Series SLI Certified Power Supply
#13
What was the model number of those that you know work with it