• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New system, new benchmarks.

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370
Likes
981
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#1
I will list my old system and then the new system.

Old system:

Amd Athlon XP 3000+ Barton
1Gb PC2100 DDR Ram
Radeon X850 Pro Oced to 550 Core 550 Memory.

3dMark05- Max score 5400, default settings.

F.E.A.R- Max Settings. Lowest, 16 Ave, 40 highest, 99. Below 25FPS 27%. 25-60 48%. 60+ 25%.

Oblivion- High settings 1024x768 Bloom. It ran fairly smooth, until you got into town.

Doom3 High 1024x768 2xAA, 47 FPS.


New System:

Amd Athlon 64 3000+
1GB PC2100 DDR RAM (Fixing to be Corsair 3200 dual channel)
Saphhire X1800XL

3dMark05- Max score 6500. Default Settings. (I haven't figured out why this is low yet)

F.E.A.R Max settings. Lowest=23. Ave=68. Highest=127. Below 25=3%. 25-60=25%. 60+=72%.

Oblivion, Ultra High, 1024x768 HDR. Smooth as butter.

Doom3 High, 4xAA, 8xAF. 59 FPS. (Again, I can't figure out why it's so low, in game it's smooth)


Basicly I am seeing much bigger scores with the new system and smoother gameplay to boot. Plus I no longer have to have a window fan blowing into my case to cool the damn Barton. Overall I am happy with the new system.
 

xman2007

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
633
Likes
4
Processor E4300@ 3.0ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Arctic freezer
Memory 2gb supertalent ddrII 1000 5.5.5.15
Video Card(s) Inno 3d 8800gts 320mb
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) 19" widescreen tft 5ms
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Hiper 430w 30a dual rails
Software Vista Ultimate
#2
id think ur ram may be holding you back a bit and also the athlon64 3000+, dont get me wrong its a good cpu but to get the most out of ur rig you should maybe go for a 939 3400+ or higher. i wouldnt actually reccomend dual core unless you can afford the 4400+ or higher as with gaming the 3800+x2 isnt much better (if any) than the single core 3800+ but it is the dogs doodahs for multitasking and encoding (i know ive been running dualcore for 2 months now :toast: ) also a gig of good qulaity ddr400 you should notice maybe a pickup on doom 3 and 3dmark although 59fps on high/ultra is easily good enough
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,100
Likes
1,254
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#3
"(Fixing to be Corsair 3200 dual channel)"
which kit exactly? the mem is defiently holding you back, once you fix that, you'll be fine.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
1,825
Likes
60
System Name Air Cooled Caselabs BH8
Processor Intel Coffee Lake 8700K @ 4.7
Motherboard MSI Gaming M5
Cooling Noctua D15s, 5x 140mm Noctua Chromax, 1x 120mm Noctua Chromax, 2x 80mm Noctua fans
Memory G. Skill Trident Z RGB series 3200mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
Storage Samsung EVO 840 250gb SSD, Samung EVO PRO 256gb SSD, 2 TB WD Black Edition HDD.
Display(s) 24" Asus Gaming ROG 144hz
Case Black Caselabs BH8
Power Supply 850w EVGA SuperNOVA G2 Gold PSU with individually sleeved black cables
Mouse Logitech Wireless G403
Keyboard Corsair Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#4
whatd you do with your old set up?
 

bigboi86

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
1,442
Likes
30
Location
techPowerUp!
System Name Just getting started....
Processor Athlon II Propus 620 @ 3.51ghz (quad core) L3 cache enabled
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 (great heatsink, 40c max load overclocked)
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR31600 4gb 2x2
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4850 by XFX
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer 21.5 inch viewable G215H 1920x1080p, AOC 22inch 1680x1050
Case Antec 300, stock for now
Audio Device(s) Onboard, Turtle Beach headphones / crappy logitech desktop speakers
Power Supply Corsair 650 watt PSU <3
Software Windows 7 x64
#5
When you gonna do some overclocking?

That 3000+ is just begging for 2.4ghz+

Also, get some overclockable ram, not PC3200.... Get some PC4000 or higher :)
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370
Likes
981
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#6
I am not sure what kind of Corsair it is, I will have to check. I sold my old system. I am planning to do some ocing, once I get everything together and running cool.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#7
Those are some things holding you back, the RAM and processor. but with the Corsair and some overclocking on the 3000+, it should help out.

BTW, the AMD Athlon X2 3800+ is a good dual-core processor. About the same than Single-core Athlon 64 3800+, but with multi-threaded games such as Call of Duty 2 and Quake 4, it runs better with more FPS.
I have an Intel Pentium D 820 2.8GHZ @ 3.2GHZ and runs the same as a single core Pentium 4 @ 3.2GHZ but in multi-threaded games, it gets a better boost. (the hyper-threading on Pentium 4's do give a boost but only by a few frames, the Pentium D's and Pentium EE's give a much better boost because it has 2 physical cores instead of 2 logical cores).