1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New system, new benchmarks.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by JC316, May 23, 2006.

  1. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    940
    I will list my old system and then the new system.

    Old system:

    Amd Athlon XP 3000+ Barton
    1Gb PC2100 DDR Ram
    Radeon X850 Pro Oced to 550 Core 550 Memory.

    3dMark05- Max score 5400, default settings.

    F.E.A.R- Max Settings. Lowest, 16 Ave, 40 highest, 99. Below 25FPS 27%. 25-60 48%. 60+ 25%.

    Oblivion- High settings 1024x768 Bloom. It ran fairly smooth, until you got into town.

    Doom3 High 1024x768 2xAA, 47 FPS.


    New System:

    Amd Athlon 64 3000+
    1GB PC2100 DDR RAM (Fixing to be Corsair 3200 dual channel)
    Saphhire X1800XL

    3dMark05- Max score 6500. Default Settings. (I haven't figured out why this is low yet)

    F.E.A.R Max settings. Lowest=23. Ave=68. Highest=127. Below 25=3%. 25-60=25%. 60+=72%.

    Oblivion, Ultra High, 1024x768 HDR. Smooth as butter.

    Doom3 High, 4xAA, 8xAF. 59 FPS. (Again, I can't figure out why it's so low, in game it's smooth)


    Basicly I am seeing much bigger scores with the new system and smoother gameplay to boot. Plus I no longer have to have a window fan blowing into my case to cool the damn Barton. Overall I am happy with the new system.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    633 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    id think ur ram may be holding you back a bit and also the athlon64 3000+, dont get me wrong its a good cpu but to get the most out of ur rig you should maybe go for a 939 3400+ or higher. i wouldnt actually reccomend dual core unless you can afford the 4400+ or higher as with gaming the 3800+x2 isnt much better (if any) than the single core 3800+ but it is the dogs doodahs for multitasking and encoding (i know ive been running dualcore for 2 months now :toast: ) also a gig of good qulaity ddr400 you should notice maybe a pickup on doom 3 and 3dmark although 59fps on high/ultra is easily good enough
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5,029 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    AZ
    "(Fixing to be Corsair 3200 dual channel)"
    which kit exactly? the mem is defiently holding you back, once you fix that, you'll be fine.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,741 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    whatd you do with your old set up?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,442 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    When you gonna do some overclocking?

    That 3000+ is just begging for 2.4ghz+

    Also, get some overclockable ram, not PC3200.... Get some PC4000 or higher :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    940
    I am not sure what kind of Corsair it is, I will have to check. I sold my old system. I am planning to do some ocing, once I get everything together and running cool.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,289 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Those are some things holding you back, the RAM and processor. but with the Corsair and some overclocking on the 3000+, it should help out.

    BTW, the AMD Athlon X2 3800+ is a good dual-core processor. About the same than Single-core Athlon 64 3800+, but with multi-threaded games such as Call of Duty 2 and Quake 4, it runs better with more FPS.
    I have an Intel Pentium D 820 2.8GHZ @ 3.2GHZ and runs the same as a single core Pentium 4 @ 3.2GHZ but in multi-threaded games, it gets a better boost. (the hyper-threading on Pentium 4's do give a boost but only by a few frames, the Pentium D's and Pentium EE's give a much better boost because it has 2 physical cores instead of 2 logical cores).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)