• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New System won't boot into windows with 4GB, just 2!

Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#1
So im running Xp SP3 32bit edition and i can't get windows to load, i tried both sticks seperately, tested both, system checks out fine with Linux, but wondows doesn't like it.

Is there a patch or something i need to get windows to run with 4GB's of ram,

Or is it because my graphics card is 1280mb of ram, p0lus the 2gb for ram is 3,8GB total? can anyone explain this to me?


System specs are in the systems tab to the left.


Thanks Guys.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,833
Likes
523
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#2
Question: Why are you using Windows XP?
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#3
It could be that you have SP3 installed . I would caution you against even using XP it is no longer a supported OS by MS .
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#4
im just still a little behind the times with upgrading windows, im waiting for the newest OS to become stable.

And when did they stop support for XP?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369
Likes
18,017
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
Windows 7 is stable. XP support stopped about a year ago.. I think.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#6
If i was to upgrade to windows 7, what version should i go with, being that i know of nothing beyond Vista, and that vista sucked.

what do you guys think, i use this computer for trading, and gaming and video editing.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369
Likes
18,017
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#7
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#8
can i upgrade it without loosing everything already installed, i have installed about 90% of the programs used on my pc, along with files and everything,

can i install it over top as ive heard on new egg, or do i have to wipe and do it over?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369
Likes
18,017
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9
You're going to want to do a fresh install and reinstall your programs.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#10
i guess i'll have to add it to the list of things to do before the trading week starts up again.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,257
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#11
So im running Xp SP3 32bit edition
You answered your own question. 32-bit Windows has a limit of 4 GB of addressable memory space. That means anything that needs an address on your mobo (graphics card memory, bus locations of Ethernet port, USB hub, etc.......and RAM last). Once your computer got around to addressing your memory, it didn't have enough unique numbers to do so. 64-bit OS has enough to not have to worry about it (192 GB of just RAM is the software limit for Win7).

Windows 7 was Stable on release thanks to an 8 month open Beta. Stop using XP, never use 32-bit OS ever again, and Vista doesn't suck now (all the issues with it have been sorted out). On that last note...why use Vista when 7 is so much smoother and faster. It is impossible to upgrade from Windows XP to Windows Vista/7. It will need to be a fresh install.

Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit 1-Pack for...
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642
Likes
1,984
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#12
xp sp3 known sometimes it aint perform well like it should
i guess you could consider to switch into 7 since many software and driver out for 7
microsoft has been stopping support on xp so ita another reason to switch into 7
if you plan to max your ram take 64bit version, 64 bit is the future but some apps may not work on 64bit, 32bit limits the ram to 3.25 gig
and the rest, for new os it would be nice if you make clean install