• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New system

Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#1
Hi all, not sure if this is the right section, but hey ho.

I am looking at buying a prebuilt system from overclockersuk http://www.overclockers.co.uk/syscon_int.php?prodid=FS-282-OK they give you the option of having it clocked before they send you it, but if I choose the option of no clocking will they bios still be accessible for me to do some mild clocking? I haven't been that frequent on here but the info you can get is amazing so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Hi Alcpone, welcome back! :)

It looks like they use standard retail motherboards so I doubt they use any kind of special bios that locks the user out. Your best bet would be to contact them and ask though.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#3
Thanks mate

I was just abit sus about asking them, as then if I was to cook said new system I wouldnt get a RMA lol

I will drop them a message :toast:
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,586 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,821
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#4
I have an overclocked board from OcUK. On an OC'd board they'll probably save the settings in the BIOS. My board, like most others I'd presume has a 'default' mode for stock settings. If you buy from OcUK i'm sure you'll have free reign over the BIOS whether it's overclocked or not. Had my board two years now and not a hint of a problem.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
Thanks mate

I was just abit sus about asking them, as then if I was to cook said new system I wouldnt get a RMA lol

I will drop them a message :toast:
You could word it carefully and say, "let's say I were to upgrade my RAM in the future and needed to manually set the settings in the bios. Could I do that?" Or something like that. :toast:
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderatorâ„¢
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#6
they give you the option of having it clocked before they send you it, but if I choose the option of no clocking will they bios still be accessible for me to do some mild clocking?
Welcome back :toast:

I'm an OcUK customer though I never bought a prebuilt or a bundle from them.

As far as I know, when you buy an overclocked system they give a warranty on the overclock and specifically state that if you add more ram or flash the mobo's bios you lose that specific warranty on the overclock. It doesn't mean you lose warranty on the parts, the way I understood it.

I'm pretty sure they won't be locking the bios if you choose the non-oc version. But better send them a message just in case - they normally reply within 24 hours.

It's definitely a better option budget-wise to choose no overclocking, as I see from your link! :laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#7
I have an overclocked board from OcUK. On an OC'd board they'll probably save the settings in the BIOS. My board, like most others I'd presume has a 'default' mode for stock settings. If you buy from OcUK i'm sure you'll have free reign over the BIOS whether it's overclocked or not. Had my board two years now and not a hint of a problem.
I think I read about if you change the bios it voids their system or atleast they wont offer support anymore?

You could word it carefully and say, "let's say I were to upgrade my RAM in the future and needed to manually set the settings in the bios. Could I do that?" Or something like that. :toast:
Good idea, I will use that line.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#8
Welcome back :toast:

I'm an OcUK customer though I never bought a prebuilt or a bundle from them.

As far as I know, when you buy an overclocked system they give a warranty on the overclock and specifically state that if you add more ram or flash the mobo's bios you lose that specific warranty on the overclock. It doesn't mean you lose warranty on the parts, the way I understood it.

I'm pretty sure they won't be locking the bios if you choose the non-oc version. But better send them a message just in case - they normally reply within 24 hours.

It's definitely a better option budget-wise to choose no overclocking, as I see from your link! :laugh:
Cheers mate

Thats what I thought.

I wouldn't want to pay for them to overclock it when thats half the fun, I wouldn't screw it to bits, but even a i5 2500k doing 4ish gig would be nice :)
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#9
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
6,823 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,901
Location
Viking Land
System Name Ivy Biatch
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard ASSRockzz z77TOTHEEXTREME!!!!
Cooling bleh
Memory 2x4gb crucial 1866
Video Card(s) HD7770, yes it does BF3
Storage 120gb Vertex
Display(s) 226BW
Case whats that, oh my table
Audio Device(s) stock onboard thing
Power Supply HX850W
Software 7
#10
i bought a pre overclocked bundle from a guy i know in UK, and its just like every other consumer board/bios
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#11
Holy shit! Al is still alive? Welcome back.

I gotta ask tho, why prebuilt and not diy?
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#12
Holy shit! Al is still alive? Welcome back.

I gotta ask tho, why prebuilt and not diy?
Thanks mate.

Im getting too old to mess on lol
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,102 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,255
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#13
Hi all, not sure if this is the right section, but hey ho.

I am looking at buying a prebuilt system from overclockersuk http://www.overclockers.co.uk/syscon_int.php?prodid=FS-282-OK they give you the option of having it clocked before they send you it, but if I choose the option of no clocking will they bios still be accessible for me to do some mild clocking? I haven't been that frequent on here but the info you can get is amazing so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
25 quid for them to change a few bios settings seems like a fail to me. and you'd probablly be able to build it cheaper and faster if you did it yourself.

gonna have to go with wile e on this, why prebuilt?
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#14
Bump lol

I've got a imac at the moment with boot camp running win 7. Plays FSX moderately well, but the wife isn't happy as she gets little use on it so I'm opening this up for debate again. I will build it myself if nothing has changed much in the last few years as far as hardware and piecing bits together. Would love it to run fsx mucho fast, so if anyone can do me a shopping list that would be cool. I need everything barring OS.

Cheers
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#15
I would start a new thread so they don't have to read the first. And come up with a budget. And welcome back
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
2,341 (0.57/day)
Likes
96
Location
Tyne & Wear, UK
System Name AMD '13
Processor FX-6300 @ 4.43GHz (1.35v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 rev 1.0 (F6)
Cooling Cooler Master T2 + x2 case fans
Memory 2x4Gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (Stock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 Ti OC 2Gb @ 1110/1500
Storage Corsair 240Gb SSD / Seagate 500Gb HDD + old skool IDE HDD's x 3
Display(s) Acer 23'' LED
Case Billy Basic
Audio Device(s) Onboard 8.1 HD
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores Smenchmarks
#16
Good idea and thanks, been a while but I know you guys will help me out.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
654 (0.18/day)
Likes
476
Location
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
System Name The Phoenix
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @ 4.41GHz (1.14V)
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark2/USB3.1
Cooling Custom Full Loop w/EKWB & Swiftech components
Memory 16GB (4x4GB) Kingston HyperX DDR3 @ 1600Mhz (1.65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS Nvidia GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 4GB @ 1.14GHz / 1.75 Ghz
Storage Samsung 850 Evo SSD (2x250GB) + Seagate HDD (2TB)
Display(s) LG 29UM65-P (2560x1080 @ 60Hz)
Case Thermaltake Core V51
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 w/ Tritton PC510HDa & NI Audio Kontrol 1 w/ M-AUDIO BX5-D2 speakers
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Software MacOSX 10.11.6 "El Capitan" & Windows 10 Pro "Anniversary" 64 bits
#17
Last edited: