• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New to F@H

Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#1
Hello, I have always been interested in it but never actually looked at it. Since now it's winter and my home it's a bit cold I think this is the perfect time to start. I downloaded everything joined TPU team and started folding but I have a couple of questions:
1) I removed completely the CPU slot from settings and just left the GPU since I have read that you should leave 1 or 2 thread on it I lowered the % of CPU from WCG. I checked the Task Manager and the CPU it's still about 100%. Is this the correct way to do it or should I set the threads somewhere else?
2) On my Task manager it shows my GPU not always fully utilized but on GPU-Z it's around 94%. How can I correctly tell if I'm actually using my GPU at his max?

My rig has a GTX 1060 6 GB and a Ryzen 2600x if you needed to know. Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,932 (1.82/day)
Likes
9,422
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#2
Woohoo!
(did you get a passkey?)
Welcome to the team, and thanks. The only way that I know of to answer your questions is to just experiment. Understand that F@H is a diva, while WCG is a gentleman, so you want to error on the side of F@H - don't let them fight for the CPU because both will suffer. I don't like it if the CPU gets to 100% while F@H and crunching - I like a "gulf" between them.
How can I correctly tell if I'm actually using my GPU at his max?
Run F@H without cruncing running to see what your utilization is. I can't get F@H to run the GPU at 100% even if I leave the CPU idle. You should be seeing around 400K PPD with that GPU.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,778 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,877
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 /new
Processor W3670 3.7 GHz/ W3670 3.5 / 4790K 4.4/2700x stock
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/MSI X470
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/ NH-U112
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/16 GB XSkill Flare
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 1070 ti MSI / 970+2070 Z MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD/250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none/Lian test bench
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/AX 860i
Software WIN7 64 bit/Linux
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
#3
Hello, I have always been interested in it but never actually looked at it. Since now it's winter and my home it's a bit cold I think this is the perfect time to start. I downloaded everything joined TPU team and started folding but I have a couple of questions:
1) I removed completely the CPU slot from settings and just left the GPU since I have read that you should leave 1 or 2 thread on it I lowered the % of CPU from WCG. I checked the Task Manager and the CPU it's still about 100%. Is this the correct way to do it or should I set the threads somewhere else?
2) On my Task manager it shows my GPU not always fully utilized but on GPU-Z it's around 94%. How can I correctly tell if I'm actually using my GPU at his max?

My rig has a GTX 1060 6 GB and a Ryzen 2600x if you needed to know. Thanks in advance.
Welcome to our folding team. You did the right thing but you didn't menition getting a passkey and entering it. Passkey you find HERE. You open FAHControl in advance and enter it here under Configure
Passkey set.JPG

GPU % is never more then 95 %. Best off luck and please ask if any questions.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#4
Oh yeah, I got the passkey I've read it on another post but I wasn't yet sure how to properly give it enough CPU to make it work correctly. Thanks for the answers tomorrow I'll fiddle a bit with it.

Ok it is about 420k ppd so I think everything it's running, I can't see any error so I guess I'm set
 
Top