• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New to HDD.. How it work?

Joined
Jul 17, 2007
Messages
741 (0.19/day)
Likes
8
Processor x2 4400+
Memory 3gig
Video Card(s) 8800 gts 512mb
Power Supply 500w zumax
#1
Pretend I want to buy addictional HDD. My current HDD is internal 160gb 7200rpm 2mb cache. If I buy extrenal HDD 7200rpm 8mb cache... Will it add up to my current internal HDD? and do I have to wipe everything on my current HDD?

My current HDD is internal with 2mb cache... can I add additional external HDD 8mb cache to add up together even if the cache size is different?

Will the HDD add up together? or I must replace it?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#2
Pretend I want to buy addictional HDD. My current HDD is internal 160gb 7200rpm 2mb cache. If I buy extrenal HDD 7200rpm 8mb cache... Will it add up to my current internal HDD? and do I have to wipe everything on my current HDD?

My current HDD is internal with 2mb cache... can I add additional external HDD 8mb cache to add up together even if the cache size is different?

Will the HDD add up together? or I must replace it?
You'd need to buy another internal drive of the same kind and same space then you could raid 0 them into one big drive. If you get an external HDD, you'd just have two different drives to store stuff.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.74/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#3
If you buy an additional external HDD or internal HDD it will appear as a seperate drive on your machine (much like a CD drive does). You will not have to wipe your current disks.:)
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2007
Messages
741 (0.19/day)
Likes
8
Processor x2 4400+
Memory 3gig
Video Card(s) 8800 gts 512mb
Power Supply 500w zumax
#4
So umm.. If I buy addictional external HDD iyt will be seperate? How does it work? Pretend both the current internal and the new external are installed.. all of the stuff that I store goes in the current internal? or do I have to choose which to be store at? or since the current intrnal have 160gb and when the 160gb is used... it will auto store on the new external?

Is it a set and go? I have internal HDD and want more space... I go buy external HDD any size and any cache and install and done?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#5
So umm.. If I buy addictional external HDD iyt will be seperate? How does it work? Pretend both the current internal and the new external are installed.. all of the stuff that I store goes in the current internal? or do I have to choose which to be store at? or since the current intrnal have 160gb and when the 160gb is used... it will auto store on the new external?

Is it a set and go? I have internal HDD and want more space... I go buy external HDD any size and any cache and install and done?
You'll have two hdd's. One will be "c" (your internal) and one will be either "d" or "e" depending on how your system is set up. So you just pick the drive where you want to save stuff.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2007
Messages
741 (0.19/day)
Likes
8
Processor x2 4400+
Memory 3gig
Video Card(s) 8800 gts 512mb
Power Supply 500w zumax
#6
oh ok

Is there anyway for me to make the external HDD to be my primary? without wiping everything on my current internal HDD?
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#7
oh ok

Is there anyway for me to make the external HDD to be my primary? without wiping everything on my current internal HDD?
If you connect it via eSATA it could be your primary yes, via USB it can't simply because Windows will reset the USB bus upon loading drivers. I wouldn't recommend setting an external disk as primary though.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#8
Usually when you buy a hard drive, you simply add it into your computer and format it cia control panel/administrative tools/computer management/storage/disk management. you right-click the drive and format (do not use quick format). Then I forget if you assign it a drive letter or if Windows assigns one automatically..