• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New TV speaker question

Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
921 (0.26/day)
Likes
128
System Name Demented
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock 970 EXTREME3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Sniper Gaming Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AXR9 280X 3GBD5-2DHE/OC Radeon R9 280X
Storage (1)Crucial M500 240GB ssd (1)WD 500GB Black Edition
Display(s) Samsung 27" w/ Acer X163W 16" secondary
Case Antec P183
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio (On Board 7.1)
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit
Software Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
#1
OK I got one of these TVs but I want to use my home stereo speakers to play my sound. I cannot find anything explaining how to separate the TV sound. If this is possible how do I do this. Here is a pic of the hookups I have. I just want stereo sound not a must to have surround.


Oh and I have wired speakers do not have RCA jacks. I have read I can take some Coax(sp) wires and cut the end and use the plug. Will that work?

Thanks for any help.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,529 (6.38/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
I use HDMI from my cable box to the TV and then use RCA to RCA cable to run from the audio out on the cable box to the Video audio on my surround sound. I leave the TV on mute and then turn the surround up and down.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
868 (0.30/day)
Likes
160
Location
Toronto, ON. Canada
System Name Gamers PC
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.80 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
Cooling Corsair H50 Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2 x WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA300 w/64MB Buffer (RAID 0)
Display(s) Samsung 2494SW 1080p 24" WS LCD HD
Case CM HAF 932 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI TITANIUM -PCIE x 1
Power Supply Corsair TX Series CMPSU-650TX (650W)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#3
More info needed to help u.

Are your home speakers connected to a digital receiver or a device of some sort of do you only have your speakers and the wires?
If you have a digital receiver use either RCA connections for analog or for Digital audio output use digital Coaxial or toslink optical. Digital will give you better sound.
If you only have your speakers, then you need to try and use RCA connections and connect them to the 2 audio inputs on your TV. I mean it depends whether this method works or not, but it should. But your TV volume will control both the TV speakers and your external speakers I think.

Also check out these you may need them?
6inch RCA Female to 2-RCA Male Digital Coaxial Splitter Adapter
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10236&cs_id=1023603&p_id=6261&seq=1&format=2
R/L Stereo Audio to Digital Coax & Optical Toslink Converter This a life saver IMO :D
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10423&cs_id=1042302&p_id=8127&seq=1&format=2
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
921 (0.26/day)
Likes
128
System Name Demented
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock 970 EXTREME3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Sniper Gaming Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AXR9 280X 3GBD5-2DHE/OC Radeon R9 280X
Storage (1)Crucial M500 240GB ssd (1)WD 500GB Black Edition
Display(s) Samsung 27" w/ Acer X163W 16" secondary
Case Antec P183
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio (On Board 7.1)
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit
Software Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
#4
I dont have a surround sound system I just have my 2 pair of PSB Stratus Silver speakers from my old stereo system. They have no RCA connectors. I am not sure exactly how to get 2 bare wires from each speaker to work with the RCA jacks. Or will they even play if I get them connected. :confused:

My Cable box is a Pace TDC787X I see where I can hook up the RCA jacks for a left and a right speakers to it. Is this where I need to get my audio from? Or from the TV? :confused: I know you said the TV but I would like everything channels and volume etc to work off of the 1 remote.


If I manage to get them converted to RCA plugs on the speakers what RCA speaker connections do I use on the TV. I have 2 sets of AV plugs and 2 sets of component plugs if I am looking at it correctly.

Thank you for all the help. I am just not really up on all this LCD/LED TV stuff. The last time I bought a TV you screwed a cable or antenna to it and it was good to go. :ohwell:
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,893 (1.82/day)
Likes
3,289
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#5
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,893 (1.82/day)
Likes
3,289
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#6
this should help a little.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
921 (0.26/day)
Likes
128
System Name Demented
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock 970 EXTREME3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Sniper Gaming Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AXR9 280X 3GBD5-2DHE/OC Radeon R9 280X
Storage (1)Crucial M500 240GB ssd (1)WD 500GB Black Edition
Display(s) Samsung 27" w/ Acer X163W 16" secondary
Case Antec P183
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio (On Board 7.1)
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit
Software Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
#7
http://www.ehow.com/how_4885770_convert-speaker-wire-rca-plugs.html

if you convert bare wire to RCA and hook them up to your television they probably won't sound good.
Oh man that is a good link. I just need to find where/who has the ends locally to make it where I can connect them. :)
Now the second part is I don't know anything about this stuff so can you explain "they probably won't sound good." I really dont have the money to buy a surround system or anything similar. I just had 2 reasonably good speakers I wanted to put to use if they will work. I know properly working they will sound much better than what is in the TV. I just dont know if the Cable box or TV can push them.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,893 (1.82/day)
Likes
3,289
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#8
the Onkyo TX-NR509 has a DAC (digital analog converter), DSP (digital signal processor), amplifier, etc. the television probably uses low quality chips and you want to hook up a pair of loudspeakers to it.. I understand if you can't afford the Onkyo receiver but it really is the best option.
 
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
921 (0.26/day)
Likes
128
System Name Demented
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock 970 EXTREME3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Sniper Gaming Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AXR9 280X 3GBD5-2DHE/OC Radeon R9 280X
Storage (1)Crucial M500 240GB ssd (1)WD 500GB Black Edition
Display(s) Samsung 27" w/ Acer X163W 16" secondary
Case Antec P183
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio (On Board 7.1)
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit
Software Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
#9
So say hypothetically you had to get these two speakers working properly in stereo for this TV. What is the least expensive way to get them to work that wont fry the TV or cable box. I understand its not going to be the "best option" as I see all sorts of sound systems designed for this. I was looking for a bubba /redneck way to get some better sound with speakers I already own. If I have to spend $20 I can do that, but right now anything over $40 A. may not be worth the results and B. isn't happening on this project.

I thought the cable box did all the digital analog converting, digital signal processing, and amplifying etc. :confused: