1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New VGA

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by blue.dot, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    So with my HD4670 passed away, I'm looking for a new card.
    But I'm very confused what to choose.
    I play in 1280x1024 and my HD4670 was not that powerful enough for new games in decent details. I mean BF3 mostly :mad:.
    I was waiting for new HD77xx series which would bring the best prize/performance ratio. I hoped for HD7770. But not at current prize (160€ dafuq?). Yes I know it will go down by time, but I need card now.
    So, my budget for card is around 120€. The 4670 cost me 90€ but I bought Accelero S2 with extra fan, which was around 30€ that time.
    HD7750 perhaps? Or add 15€ and get HD6850? Or nVidia equivalent?
    I guess I should go for 7750 since I'll be buying notebook this year too...
    I just want to run BF3/this years AAA titles, mostly above 30FPS (yes 40FPS would be beautiful too)... :D
    Do I want too much? :ohwell:
     
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    UK
    If i was you the 6850 sounds good

    Here is a list of graphics cards in comparison to the 7750 at 1280x1024

    [​IMG]
     
  3. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,545 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,719
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario Canada
    i'd also say 6850.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,618 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    You should be able to snag a 460 for cheaper than a 6850 as it's "older" tech and is just as fast.
     
  5. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    Best bet would be the 6870 check your prices there but a GTX460 the 1GB variant, NOT SE or the 768 MB would be better than a 6850, again check prices.
     
  6. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    708
    Location:
    Canada
    6850/6870 are best deal's right now, and both are better than 5770/6770/7770 IMO
     
  7. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    Cheapest 6870 is 170€... New one..
    6850 ~135€
    Cheapest GTX460 (GIGABYTE 460GTX 1GB) is on bargain in my local shop, for around 125€.

    Hmmm.. Will it be nVidia? Im AMD fan but Im not hesitating to change again (my last nVidia was 7600GS)...

    /Btw, does nVidia cards have massive FPS drops when there is smoke? For example, Im playing at constant 100FPS, but whether it was my old 4670 or this 4730, I get FPS drops to about 30-25fps...
     
  8. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    What game? Get the GTX460 it's better and cheaper than the 6850, what model is it?
     
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,249 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,350
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    you got the FPS drops because you were using a non-powerful card for gaming. Get the GTX460, you won't have that issue.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    Almost every game..

    Yes I think I'll go for 460.

    The model is GIGABYTE 460GTX 1GB (256) with WINDFORCE 2X fan.

    Will my Fortron be enough? (I guess yes if it can handle this nasty 4730)
     
  11. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    I just saw your PSU. Nope. Don't even think.
     
  12. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,249 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,350
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    HD4730 needs also two 6pin connectors and I'm running it with no problem.. But yeah I get the fact that 460 needs more power...
     
  14. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,249 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,350
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    if your running the 4730 with only one 6pin connector, your not running with no problems. Your not giving the 4730 enough power to run at it's maximum performance, and that is the problem.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    I have both connectors plugged in!
    I tested BF3 on low, it was 30-40 fps stable, in buildings 20-25fps.. How much is 7750 more powerful than 4670/4730? In %?
     
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Drop the little extra for the 6850. That Fortron would be able to cope with it a little bit better(due to age)
    [​IMG]


    The 7750 is roughly the same performance as 6850/GTX460 BUT with power consumption in HALF.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    Maybe up to 40% better. What's the price? I bet it's around 100Euro. I don't really see how you can play BF3 at all with your current card. In turn, the GTX460 is over 40% better than the 7750. Your choice.
     
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    But then I need also new PSU?
     
  20. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    let's summarize this. First your PSU is not what I would call a reliable one regardless of the GPU. But it's your call. Your options are:

    Get a 7750, even if you haven't told us the price in your country I think it proves a little expensive for what it can offer as performance compared with the 460 but you can just plug it in and gain up to 40% more that what you have now. You will be still at medium/low settings for 40FPS. For 80% of the games out there this little card will get you playable framerates at decent settings but it's not what you consider a gaming card.

    Get a PSU, for example Corsair CX500 would be enough, inexpensive but far better than what you have and will help you with the whole system not just the GPU - probably around 50Euro and get the 460 at 125E. So for around 175 you will be able to play BF3 on high with above 40FPS at your res. Trust me, BF3 looks like another game when you crank up the settings.
     
    blue.dot says thanks.
  21. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,249 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,350
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    Yes.

    IMHO, you should never have spent money on a 400 watt PSU if you planned on gaming. For today's hardware, to have even what I would consider decent gaming performance, you need atleast a high-quality(which Fortron is not) 550 watt PSU. I highly suggest upgrading your PSU to a higher quality brand and more wattage unit. The minimum I would suggest would be a Corsair, Seasonic, PC Power and Cooling, Antec, XFX, or simular brand PSU(look for a +80% efficiency rating) in the +500 watt range.
     
    blue.dot says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    Ok, that Corsair CX500 is really 52€ here...
    I guess I'll go for it with that GTX460!
    Thanks for help guys!

    /Btw, I found that there are two GTX460 1GB here.. One is 132€ nad second 127€.. The cheaper one has slightly lower clocks... Thats the only difference.. Should I go for that with lower clocks and OC it myself?
     
  23. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,616 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yep, beside that if you have psu like 650 watts and your system draws lower than that your psu wont sweat too much and theres a chance if you wanna add some hardwares in the future
     
  24. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    Nah, there wont be more upgrades... Thanks
     
  25. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,249 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,350
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    I would
     
    blue.dot says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)