• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New video card: What do I get?

Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,109 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,289
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#26
wow, you litterally didn't have a choice based on local pricing. 7950 is still a stellar card and you could always add another later, especially after the next launch pushes prices down. Still the 7950 should clock pretty decently.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,645 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,895
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#27
Update:
I actually ended up getting a Sapphire HD7950 3GB, instead.

Before the54void comes over here to punch me in the face, I'll explain why :)
Please supply your address sir, in order for me to deliver my, ahem, parcel.

Only kidding. I'm sticking with my 7970 for now as neither the 680 or 670 are any better in real world when i'm clocked at 1100. Think I'll settle for now.

Nothing wrong with a 7950. :toast:
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#28
Well. What a joy. My new card is getting the (apparently) infamous black screen, followed by driver crash or BSoD AMD behavior. It happens under load, at idle, at random intervals.

Grrr. That's what I get for trusting AMD with my money?

Anyone else had similar problems with a HD7950/70 and managed to solve them? I'll try wiping off all drivers and then reinstalling them again. Then try the card in another machine.

I'd just return it for a refund, but I can't: Under our (fucking idiotic) laws I cannot return it, I can only get it serviced if it is faulty.
 

Huddo93

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
299 (0.13/day)
Likes
57
Location
Perth, WA, Australia
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus Z77 Deluxe-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory RipjawsX 8GB @ 2133MHz 11-11-11-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 SC @ 1300MHz core
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 256GB + 1TB Samsung HDD
Display(s) 23" LG W2343T
Case Corsair 650D
Power Supply Corsiar AX-850
#29
I'd definitly look into driver issues. Also give it a try in anther PC. Unlikely that a HD7950 would just show up dead.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#30
I'd definitly look into driver issues. Also give it a try in anther PC. Unlikely that a HD7950 would just show up dead.
Actually, there's quite a few reports of HD7950 doing exactly this. XFX and Sapphire cards are the ones that most often have it. I am yet to find any solution (people would just get frustrated and return the card).
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,645 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,895
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#31
I've had a look at some 'bsod' issues and it's coming up as other issues, z77 chipsets, memory errors, EA's Origin interface, etc.

It's unlikely the card is broken as such but there are compatibility issues that affect the 79xx series as well as other cards too.. I went from a 580 to a 7970 with no problem except i had coil whine, so I RMA'd my 7970 and re-installed my 580. That 580 reinstall borked my SSD. No idea how but it did.

7970 back in and it worked fine.

I feel for you but it's not an AMD thing, it's what happens when we self build PC's, so much software and eventually a compatibility issue pops up. I noticed from your specs your using an Nvidia card in there too, for Physx? Might that be a problem?
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#32
I've had a look at some 'bsod' issues and it's coming up as other issues, z77 chipsets, memory errors, EA's Origin interface, etc.

It's unlikely the card is broken as such but there are compatibility issues that affect the 79xx series as well as other cards too.. I went from a 580 to a 7970 with no problem except i had coil whine, so I RMA'd my 7970 and re-installed my 580. That 580 reinstall borked my SSD. No idea how but it did.

7970 back in and it worked fine.

I feel for you but it's not an AMD thing, it's what happens when we self build PC's, so much software and eventually a compatibility issue pops up. I noticed from your specs your using an Nvidia card in there too, for Physx? Might that be a problem?
Using it for more monitor outputs, actually. I've had no problems with a pair of GTX470s and a pair of HD6570s. I also have no problems with a GTX285 and a pair of HD5670s in my other rig.

The point is that all that stuff worked just fine (sans the noisy, bad fan), until this HD7950 arrived. I'll dig into this mess after I get home from work and hope that its just a silly driver issue.

What driver are you running for your HD7970?