• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New Vista Patch Causing Problems

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#1
Forum users at Broadband Reports have posted some problems with Microsoft’s new patch for Vista. The KB925902 patch, which was supposed to fix vulnerabilities including the cursor exploit, is reportedly creating issues including stopping antivirus software such as AVG and F-Secure loading correctly, causing false positives of a Trojan, and even preventing users booting entirely. Although this isn’t yet a widely documented problem, it may be best to delay patching Vista until the matter becomes a little clearer. Apparently the news poster at neowin.net also experienced this problem, with one of the two computers he installed the patch on failing to boot.

Show full news post
 

HaZe303

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
305 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
Sweden (08-Stockholm)
System Name Desktop PC & HTPC
Processor Intel Core i7 920@4.0ghz & Intel Q9450@3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2 & Asus P5Q-E
Cooling CPU: TRUE w/Noctua P12 Fan & TR Ultima-90I
Memory Corsair XMS 1900mhz & OCZ Reaper 8gb@900mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX460OC1GB SLIx2 @840/1680/2000mhz & ATI HD5870@1000/1300mhz + XFX 9800GT PhysX
Storage 3xSamsung TB1 F1@raid0, 2xOCZ SSD@Raid0, and several others..
Display(s) FS LSL 3260W 26" LCD@1920x1200 & LG 37" HDTV@1360x768
Case Silverstone TJ09B (WINDOW DIY) & Silverstone LC17
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD 5.1 DolbySurround & X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200W & Corsair TX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RT7Lite x64 & x86.
#2
That is a good reason why you should use Kaspersky Internet Security instead of others... :) Im yet to notice any issues of that patch, but maybe im one of the few???
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#3
I'm using Vista and Live Onecare, no problems here.
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#4
I'll give the patch ago tomorrow - it looks like the problem is only affecting a small amount of Vista users, but it was rushed out to fix the cursor vulnerability from what I've read.
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
654 (0.15/day)
Likes
18
Location
Newcastle upon Tyne
Processor Intel Core I7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30
Memory 32GB DDR3 (16GB Corsair XMS3 / 16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical)
Video Card(s) AMD 280X
Storage Samsung 840 / Crucial BX100
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T / BenQ EW2430
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 831
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair 750W HX Modular
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Professional
#5
using bitdefender 10 here... no problems related to this patch yet.. (just the irritating one where i have to disable the antivirus when its doing updates or they won't install :( )
 

Ombracol

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2005
Messages
98 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
NY NY
#6
UI have been having Problems

Yeah my patch was installed automaticly last night and now when I am runing media center on my second display i cant get the mouse to focus to first display just a buch a flickering an no responsive media center or my pointer will disapear... damn you microsoft
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#7
Oh that's the reason why Symantec Anti-virus stopped working yesterday. I thought I cought some malware somewhere and ended up formatting my hard drive and re-installing Vista 64 ultimate again.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#8
AVG is one of the best antivirus protection out there, used by many corporate companies worldwide, its not a good sign M$ released a patch that screws even more software programs up, especially given Vistas already almost neverending list of problems.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#9
Is live one care any good? Ive gotten alot of bad reviews on it and some security issues. I use Zone alarm, even though Im not on Vista,,,,,yet, I havent heard anything wrong with Vista and Zonealarm yet.
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#11
The current versions of Zonalarms don't work with vista. I am hoping they will rectify this soon, as I don't trust the standard windows shit.
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#12
The current versions of Zonalarms don't work with vista. I am hoping they will rectify this soon, as I don't trust the standard windows shit.
Yeah, I'm hardly using Vista at the moment because there are no decent free firewalls and I don't particularly like the built-in one. It's better than XP, but I'm still waiting for Comodo to come out on Vista - even if it's a beta, I'll give it a go because I'm behind a hardware firewall anyway.
 

Casheti

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
4,421 (1.04/day)
Likes
29
#13
By the way, my computer does sometimes fail to boot lately. I always thought that was just because it was a piece of crap, but all along it was this :eek: