• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

newb at GPU-z - need some help please

Suus1990

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
hi,

im kind of a big newb at this thing, so i was wondering if anyone could give me some advice about my GPU-z. ever since i bought my pc, it has been crashing regularly. mostly when im playing world of warcraft or any other heavy game. the dudes at the shop already applied extra cooling paste, they did not know what else to do to fix my problem.
so i was hoping some of you could give me abit of insight.

i noticed spikes in my second fan speed, it was suddenly at 8771930 RPM and making a huge airplane noise and it lasted only a second, then it went back to 4655 RPM again. and thats the regular number it has. the highest RPM i've had during a world of warcraft play was 31250000 RPM. no im not fiddling with the numbers - this is actually from a log file, copy paste.
bit much isn't it?

the airplane noise ONLY happens whenever i go into my wow. when im out of the wow - but its still on max screen, and im surfing on the net - it's silent. so whenever i get my mouse into the game it starts airplane-ing :p

also, my temperature of the GPU memio is at 74 degrees - and this is when im playing world of warcraft, standing in a not-so-heavy environnement.

here is a picture of the GPU when running normally - without the airplane noise:



here is a picture of the GPU-z when being busy with wow - without stressing it alot + airplane noise:



and this was when it was silent, but high RPM and weird usage:



thanks in advance!
 
Last edited:

radeon747

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
112 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Location
Australia/Victoria/Melbourne
System Name RADEON747
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ECS G41T-M V 2.0
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory Corsair PC2-8500C5D 2x2GB @800 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 4890 1GB @ 925x1050
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) Sony Bravia KDL-40EX700 LED LCD
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advance Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000w Modular Power Supply
Software Windows XP Sp3 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Furmark v 1.8 640x480 No MSAA Score: 10542 Temp 73 degrees celsius min 146 max 259 avg 176 FPS @925
#2
Heres an image i just uploaded hope it helps.
Also can i have a screen shot of ccc.
 

radeon747

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
112 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Location
Australia/Victoria/Melbourne
System Name RADEON747
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ECS G41T-M V 2.0
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory Corsair PC2-8500C5D 2x2GB @800 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 4890 1GB @ 925x1050
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) Sony Bravia KDL-40EX700 LED LCD
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advance Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000w Modular Power Supply
Software Windows XP Sp3 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Furmark v 1.8 640x480 No MSAA Score: 10542 Temp 73 degrees celsius min 146 max 259 avg 176 FPS @925
#4
Catalyst Control Centre is a ati program where you can adjust you 3d, color, Display properties so on
 

radeon747

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
112 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Location
Australia/Victoria/Melbourne
System Name RADEON747
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ECS G41T-M V 2.0
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory Corsair PC2-8500C5D 2x2GB @800 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 4890 1GB @ 925x1050
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) Sony Bravia KDL-40EX700 LED LCD
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advance Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000w Modular Power Supply
Software Windows XP Sp3 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Furmark v 1.8 640x480 No MSAA Score: 10542 Temp 73 degrees celsius min 146 max 259 avg 176 FPS @925
#5
whats ccc? sorry im a newb :(
btw you're GPU load seems much much higher than mine. were you playing a game at that point you took the pic?
I actully used furmark stability test for 5 minutes.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.93/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#7
suus1990, what power supply are you using. the gpu its seflf seems fine and within normal limits, also is it 4850? 4870?? 4890???
 

radeon747

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
112 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Location
Australia/Victoria/Melbourne
System Name RADEON747
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ECS G41T-M V 2.0
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory Corsair PC2-8500C5D 2x2GB @800 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 4890 1GB @ 925x1050
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) Sony Bravia KDL-40EX700 LED LCD
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advance Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000w Modular Power Supply
Software Windows XP Sp3 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Furmark v 1.8 640x480 No MSAA Score: 10542 Temp 73 degrees celsius min 146 max 259 avg 176 FPS @925
#9
He has a hd 4890 well im guessing by hes clocks
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.93/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#10
if you open up your case, the power supply should have a stiker or something identifying it.
 

Suus1990

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
no idea, i've never opened the case. i always take it to the shop and let them put it together over there :p im too afraid i might break something. isnt there another way to find out?
 

radeon747

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
112 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Location
Australia/Victoria/Melbourne
System Name RADEON747
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ECS G41T-M V 2.0
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory Corsair PC2-8500C5D 2x2GB @800 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 4890 1GB @ 925x1050
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) Sony Bravia KDL-40EX700 LED LCD
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advance Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000w Modular Power Supply
Software Windows XP Sp3 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Furmark v 1.8 640x480 No MSAA Score: 10542 Temp 73 degrees celsius min 146 max 259 avg 176 FPS @925
#12
Well if you wont to know wat graphics card you got can you give me a screenshot like this
 

radeon747

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
112 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Location
Australia/Victoria/Melbourne
System Name RADEON747
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ECS G41T-M V 2.0
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory Corsair PC2-8500C5D 2x2GB @800 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 4890 1GB @ 925x1050
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) Sony Bravia KDL-40EX700 LED LCD
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advance Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000w Modular Power Supply
Software Windows XP Sp3 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Furmark v 1.8 640x480 No MSAA Score: 10542 Temp 73 degrees celsius min 146 max 259 avg 176 FPS @925
#14
Well you have the same graphics card as me which is a ATI RADEON HD 4890 also know one well be able to help you without you knowing your full system specs like for instant my specs /PROCESSOR INTEL CORE 2 DUO CPU E8400 3.0 Ghz/MEMORY CORSAIR PC8500 1066Mhz DDR2/MOTHERBOARD ECS G41T-M/POWER SUPPLY CORSAIR HX 1000 WATT/HARD DRIVE SEAGATE 500 GB and yes youll have to open your case to find out your power supply brand.
 

Suus1990

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
i have intel core i5 CPU 650 @ 3.20 ghz (4 cores)
4 gb ram
ACPI 64 bit windows 7 home premium
realtek PCIEe GBE family controller network card
motherboard: MSI H55M - E33
 

radeon747

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
112 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Location
Australia/Victoria/Melbourne
System Name RADEON747
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ECS G41T-M V 2.0
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory Corsair PC2-8500C5D 2x2GB @800 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 4890 1GB @ 925x1050
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) Sony Bravia KDL-40EX700 LED LCD
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advance Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000w Modular Power Supply
Software Windows XP Sp3 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Furmark v 1.8 640x480 No MSAA Score: 10542 Temp 73 degrees celsius min 146 max 259 avg 176 FPS @925
#16

radeon747

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
112 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Location
Australia/Victoria/Melbourne
System Name RADEON747
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ECS G41T-M V 2.0
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory Corsair PC2-8500C5D 2x2GB @800 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 4890 1GB @ 925x1050
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) Sony Bravia KDL-40EX700 LED LCD
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advance Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000w Modular Power Supply
Software Windows XP Sp3 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Furmark v 1.8 640x480 No MSAA Score: 10542 Temp 73 degrees celsius min 146 max 259 avg 176 FPS @925
#17
Have u look to see wat power supply you got
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#19
No, you must open up your case and read the brand and model number of the PSU, or even take a picture of it.. that is the only way, there is no other way.





230 vac is your local mains voltage witch does not help.
 

AltecV1

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
1,286 (0.39/day)
Likes
169
Location
Republic of Estonia
Processor C2D E8400@3.6 ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KPL-AM
Cooling Freezer 7 pro
Memory Kingston 4GB 800Mhz cl6
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 700/1000 + Accelero S1 Rev. 2
Storage WD 250 GB AAKS
Display(s) 22" Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Audio Device(s) int.
Power Supply Forton Blue Storm II 500W
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#20
does it not change clock speeds? normal and gaming it shows the same clocks what might be caused by the new drivers(when i installed the 10.5 it didnt apply 2d clocks and was stuck at 3d clocks what made the temps go sky high)
 

Suus1990

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#21
well if it is, i have no idea how to fix it xD im not really technical. just pretend to be sometimes :D lol.
but does my cpu-z indicate something is wrong then?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#22
does it not change clock speeds? normal and gaming it shows the same clocks what might be caused by the new drivers(when i installed the 10.5 it didnt apply 2d clocks and was stuck at 3d clocks what made the temps go sky high)
3rd pic shows clocks dropping.
 

Suus1990

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
ahh yes ! you're right, i see it.
but what should i do to fix this then? i wonder how it happened - cuz i didnt do anything or changed anything :p

does it work if i reset all CCC 3d options to default?
 

AltecV1

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
1,286 (0.39/day)
Likes
169
Location
Republic of Estonia
Processor C2D E8400@3.6 ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KPL-AM
Cooling Freezer 7 pro
Memory Kingston 4GB 800Mhz cl6
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 700/1000 + Accelero S1 Rev. 2
Storage WD 250 GB AAKS
Display(s) 22" Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Audio Device(s) int.
Power Supply Forton Blue Storm II 500W
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#24
ahh yes ! you're right, i see it.
but what should i do to fix this then? i wonder how it happened - cuz i didnt do anything or changed anything :p

does it work if i reset all CCC 3d options to default?
yes that works but like "THE DUDE" pointed out the biggest suspect is you PSU just open your case and see what it says on it :)
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#25
yes that works but like "THE DUDE" pointed out the biggest suspect is you PSU just open your case and see what it says on it :)
yep, do this now.