• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

newb question about system temp

naseltzer

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
72 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#1
Sorry for a total asking a total noob question, but what is the "system temp?" is that the ambient temperature inside the case, or is that the northbridge temp? Something else? oh, also what is ACPI sensor temp?

Thanks for taking a moment to answer my question.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.07/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#2
well, to be honest with you, I dont even know what temp it represents! I'd BET it's the ambient temperature, but if you're OCing, play it safe and assume its the CPU temp. do you have a screenshot of whatever is telling you you're "system temp"?
 

G.T

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
573 (0.13/day)
Likes
0
Location
The other side of Hell
Processor 3.20E GHz P4 Prescott
Motherboard Asus P4P800-E Deluxe
Cooling Zalman (CNPS7000B-CU) Super Flower Cooler + Ultracool II fan controller
Memory 2 Gig Mushkin HP 3200
Video Card(s) Leadtek A6600GT TDH
Storage 2 x WD 10k 74GB Raptors in RAID 0 (OS), 2 x WD 80GB SATA RAID 0, 1 X Maxtor 250GB ATA (Media, music)
Display(s) Samsung 19" TFT SyncMaster 913N
Case Antec Plusview Iii (Modded front) 1000AMG SOHO File Server - 5X Antec UV reactive fans - 2xUV tubes
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Fatal1ty FPS running through Creative Inspire 6.1 6700 speakers
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580w Blue with UV cables
Software XP pro (Legit) & shitloads that isn't >:] /serial Brycer and FraxFlamer :)
#3
I'd say system temp usually indicates CPU temp or Motherboard temp depending what App or prog is giving it you. Or how you have your sensors wired.

On my Rig most things relating to System temp refer to my MOBO temp.

"also what is ACPI sensor temp?"

Google seems to think in general it is some form of temp gauge system or the like, not 100% sure on that one sorry.
 

naseltzer

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
72 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#4
well, speedfan gives me several temps: cpu, system, acpi, and HD.

I'm confident that the cpu temp is,in fact, the cpu, temp, i'm actually concerned about the temp of my northbridge. I got a zalman passive sink on it, but i think the contact is all screwed up because i had to slide it slightly in order to fit my 7800gt. speedfan still reads "system temp" as 33, which sounds fine, but thats why i want to know.

N

Thanks for answering everybody, btw
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.07/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#5
ohhh lol. I THINK that my NB fan speed would be fan speed 3...if there was a NB fan :p. I cant help you there, I'm sorry
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
6,087 (1.38/day)
Likes
878
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#6
i think system temp is the mobo chipset temp thow my monitor shows my cpu.. sys.. and pvm temps.. exactly where the last pair of sensors are i havnt the faintest idea.. or how hot they should run at.. as long they look cooler than the cpu i am happy.. he he

at the moment my sys temp reads 28c and my pvm shows 33c.. my cpu reads 36c.. i aint doing much only browsing..

trog
 

mmx

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2006
Messages
339 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
Location
Europe
#7
naseltzer said:
Sorry for a total asking a total noob question, but what is the "system temp?" is that the ambient temperature inside the case, or is that the northbridge temp? Something else? oh, also what is ACPI sensor temp?

Thanks for taking a moment to answer my question.
Usualy that MSI mobo reports incorrect temps, did you fixed it whit a bios update??
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,379 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,293
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#8
see i have it easy i have 2 temp sensors cpu diode and socket.....so i know exectly what temps my comp runs at though i dont know were the diode is isnt it in the core? i know my socket sensir is in the middle of my socket...as for ACPI i think that is a sensor on the mobo near the pci slot / AGP slot
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#9
My system temp is the ambient temperature inside my case. It is measured by the thermometer on my exhaust fan as the air exits the case.
 

naseltzer

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
72 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#10
Yeah, I have (had) the latest bios update, but then again I'm sort of confused there because i can get bioses from either msi or from nvidia. I had both most recent revisions, but i installed the nvidia bios last. I really dont know if they write different parts of the bios, or if they're completely separate bioses.

wel, I dont think i'll buy an msi again. i got an asus a8n-e (refurbished by the egg) on the way. I wish some mobo makers are reading this thread. I would wish that they make clear temps like this:

1) cpu
2) chipset
3) ambient case temp (upper section of case)
4) ambient case temp (lower section of case)

But no, that would be too much to ask. All we get is "system temp" which appears to mean something different on every motherboard. And ACPI, which nobody seems to know what it is.
:banghead:
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name Windows XP
Processor AMD OP144
Motherboard DFI
Cooling T120
Memory DDR400
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage WD 1T Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative
#11
I have an idea. Because I could not tolerant the noise of my Power fan, I changed it with a GT 8cm fan and connected the 3pin to the MB port. The port is right besides the CPU. Then the BIOS can control the fan speed by detecting temp of the port. And the port temp is the same as the sys temp detecting by Everest.

So I think the sys temp is just the temp surranding CPU.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#13
Yea...LMAO!!