• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Newbie with a X1950 pro needs ur help

deuse

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
OK...first post and i am asking for help...lol


Ok my specs are this

asrock 775 dual vsta with duo 2, 1.8
2 gig of super talent 667 ram

X1950 pro pci-e

the card is running good BUT i want to over clock the chip to what i had it
before i installed the new card.

In the bios i can Sync or Async the duo 2 chip.

if i try Async and put the fsb up to 300hz(thats 2.1) the x1950 will lock up
now and then.

but if i use the syne and put it up to 300hz the PCI-E slot will go from 100(normal) to 117

now will the higher 117 pci-e hurt the card ???
it seams to run ok and not get any hotter (38 idle 60 full load)

i can even overclock it using using the cat overclocker to 621/787
and all is ok..i am just worried about the 117 on the PCI-E will do to the card..

also i want to get a new cooler from artic..
but my x1950 looks like a x1900GT with the fan by the dvi ports and not
at the end of the card like i see on the net..

which cooler would you masters got for...???


thanks you for your time


deuse
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#2
PCI-E is generally okay to 120, but that's getting close to the threshold. I run about 105, and I'm considering going back to 100 since I notice no difference. From my own and reading many other's tests on this issue there is no real gain in upping your PCI-E bus speed. It's rumored it helps to up it a little bit to have a stable OC on your vid card, but that's even debatable...different products, different vairables..

I have the AC Accelero X2 cooler on my x1950pro, it is GREAT!! I love it, keeps my card cool and stays very quiet. The Zalman vf900 is also another popular and effective cooling solution.

Do you have any way to lock your PCI-E bus speed? I am not a fan of those Asrock boards, I almost bought one, but I heard that they can be a real pain, and I am not familiar with your board. I'd recommend a different MB, but that may be out of the question. You may be limited due to compatability and limitations until you replace your mobo.

PLus your card is running very cool if that's stock cooling, mine runs 36c idle, 52 load (avg 45c while gaming).
 

deuse

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Hi Kursah

yeh i can keep it at 100 by using Async in the bios,i only sync it when i overclock
my duo2 chip cause its more stable...
i think i will turn it down a bit at a time till i get it right..(the pci-e buss that is)
it does run cool its got a copper heatsink on with a bit of ali on top..
but as i say it looks the same as a X1900GT on the outside(fan to the left)

but it says X1950 pro on it so !!!


thanks for the info,and if any one else can help it would be great
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#4
Hi Kursah

yeh i can keep it at 100 by using Async in the bios,i only sync it when i overclock
my duo2 chip cause its more stable...
i think i will turn it down a bit at a time till i get it right..(the pci-e buss that is)
it does run cool its got a copper heatsink on with a bit of ali on top..
but as i say it looks the same as a X1900GT on the outside(fan to the left)

but it says X1950 pro on it so !!!


thanks for the info,and if any one else can help it would be great
The fan on the X1900GT rev.2 is 100% identical to the X1950Pro.:p
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#6
Yep..but you have to get the kit with the extra heatsink for VMU's.
 

kwchang007

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#7
why would you want to raise the pci-e bus? isn't it fast enough?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#8
DONT raise the PCI-E bus. Its just stupid you can destroy your GPU, the AcceleroX2 comes with the VRM heatspreader these days anyway. If you have a capacitor party X1950PRO, then the VRM heatspreader is useless.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#9
Last I checked they still had 2 X2 options on the site for one kit for the 1950 with VRM spreader and one without. But my card came with one installed so I never had to worry about it. PCI-E bus can damage your GPU if you're not careful, generally from what I've heard, experienced and read 120 is the MAX, and usually not worth any noticable gain in performance. Some say if you bump it up you can get more stable OC's...but on the other end is that current cards don't even fully utilize what the PCI-E bus offers...either way it's best to lock it at 100 to be safe and stable.
 

deuse

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Thnaks guys..

the only reason i have the pci-e at a higher hz is that when i overclock my cpu
the x1950 will lock up now and then,when i had a AGP 9800 in this mobo it did not do this.

if i leave the PCI-E at 100hz and overclock my duo2 to 2.1(300mghz) and try to play a game
after about 2 mins all the graphics go wirerd...like the floor goes away in F.E.A.R

but..if i turn up the pci-e to 111hz it plays great i can even overclock the x1950 to
621/786 and all is fine...

maybe its becaus emy pci-e slot on this mobo is only 4x and not 16 ??

i just dont understand why when i overclock the cpu and the pci-e is left at 100hz
it just wont work ok......

so..it sound like i hav to get a new mobo ???


any one else like to take a shot at this ??
 
Last edited:

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#11
You'd be better off with a better motherboard for sure. But if you are stable at 111mhz on PCI-E that's within the supposed safe range...so the choice is yours. If you want better and more stable OC's you will need a better quality motherboard that was made for OC-ing. Such as a Gigabyte DS3 or Asus P5B (deluxe preferred) are two good and very popular examples.