• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NIC Bonding in Win 7

Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.50/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#1

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,688
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
you mean for teaming?

Not a clue for different brands, my marvell onboards come with software to do it.

Its generally useless, why are you trying to do it?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.50/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#3
I am going to have a file server with teamed nics hosting a large raid array. I had an extra nic lying around and wanted to see if it was possible using different brands on my main machine.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,688
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
i dont THINK its possible with different brands.


Even if you do get it working, without a managed switch with link aggregation you get no speed benefit - you just get one backup cable should one get disconnected (which doesnt help in a home situation)

In my testing, you get NO speed boost using the basic teaming methods, under any circumstances. Just fallback in case of a failure.


my methods were: three PC's hooked up to same gigabit switch (48 port unmanaged, no other PC's connected). My PC was connected with teaming. Each target machine downloaded 500GB of data off my machine, from two separate hard drives (each capable of 110MB/s reads sustained).

The end result was that while either machine could get 100MB/s sustained, adding in the second machine never resulted in faster speeds. I did get faster speeds when we tested with a managed switch and link aggregation, but as it wasnt my switch, i have no idea what settings were used.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.50/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#5
aww weak...Thanks though..
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
#6
What are you going to run for your file server (W7 is not ideal)? If you run FreeNAS, then you can do Link Aggregation (the proper term for bonding) with different manufactures (ideally, stick with intel).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FreeNAS
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,688
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
What are you going to run for your file server? If you run FreeNAS, then you can do Link Aggregation (the proper team for bonding) with different manufactures (ideally, stick with intel).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FreeNAS
but he gets no benefit if his switch cant support it, and the client machine doing the downloading doesnt support it also

2Gb on one end, 1Gb on the other end... still capped at 1Gb.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
#8
but he gets no benefit if his switch cant support it, and the client machine doing the downloading doesnt support it also

2Gb on one end, 1Gb on the other end... still capped at 1Gb.
But that is assuming that the file server is for one client (and if that is the case, why go through all the trouble?). What happens it to be providing to multiple clients. That is where he benefits.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,688
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
But that is assuming that the file server is for one client (and if that is the case, why go through all the trouble?). What happens it to be providing to multiple clients. That is where he benefits.
only if his switch supports link aggregation. otherwise, he doesnt.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.50/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#10
My switch doesn't support it, but as long as I am using Ubuntu using the correct bonding method, "Round Robin", "Adaptive Load Balance" etc etc.. It doesn't matter. I am going to be running an i7 based ESXi Machine, which will host a Pfsense VM, and a Ubuntu Server VM(which will run my File Server).
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
405 (0.12/day)
Likes
69
Location
US
System Name Main Rig/Wife/Spare/Spare2/Server
Processor FX8350/i73770k/i72600k/i7 920/q9550
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD3/Asrock Extreme/Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling XSPC/CM Seidon 250/Corsair H50/Sunbeam/OCZ Vendetta 2
Memory 16gb/16gb/8gb/6gb ddr3/8gb ddr2
Video Card(s) R9 290/GTX 670/GTX 570/HD6970/HD4350
Storage 2x840 1xvelociraptor/2xS511 1xwd black/2xC300 1xwd black/1x OCZ Vertex 1xspinpoint/1xOCZ Vertex
Display(s) 2x24in/2x 24in/2x 22in/1x 24in
Case Raven/CM690/CM690/Antec/Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Xi-Fi Titanium/Xi-Fi Fatality/Audigy 2/Realtek Onboard/Realtek Onboard
Power Supply Corsair/Corsair/Antec/Antec/CM
Software Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit
#11
Ahhh, pfSense... my love hate relationship. It is one of the fastest firewall distro's I've ever used, but I've never been able to get FTP to work with non standard ports.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#12
i dont THINK its possible with different brands.
It is under Linux, not under Windows. Apparently it's handled on a different level in both OSes. I'm not sure about the exact technical details of that. Unless of course the software detects all NICs in the system and can add them, I would not expect so though.

Anyway, under Windows you can do it via device manager, as long as you have the software of your NIC installed. This is what it looks like for Intel and Marvell. (don't have any other NICs, no clue how other brands handle it)



If there is a switch in between it has to support trunking/teaming/bonding/link aggregation/whatever name you prefer, the 802.3 standard.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,688
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#13
i run PFsense as well... and yes, wtf is up with FTP being broken on it?


edit: thats the software i used on mine, it has three modes. One is crap and only provides a backup, the other two required a switch with aggregation.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.50/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#14
Well, looks like I have an extra nic if the Win 7 can't use it...oh well. I'll just have to use 3 teamed nics on the ESX server!!! Thank god I bought a 16 port switch....
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,688
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#16