• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nice haul

  • Thread starter Deleted member 24505
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 24505

Guest
Its a I5 2320. Checked it over today, no post, had a couple of very slightly bent pins in socket, sorted them out and works fine with 2x2gb ddr3 and the 6670 video card i found.

Seems the AM3 board might be dead, using same PSU as for the GA-75M-D3V if i connect the PS on pins the led on the PSU goes off and nothing, same PSU runs the GA-75 fine
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
2,288 (0.71/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Possibly a dead CPU causing it to auto-shutdown due to it being bad but that could be the board causing it too.
You wanna toss the CPU?
Just send it here - I'll give it a shot.
 
D

Deleted member 24505

Guest
Possibly a dead CPU causing it to auto-shutdown due to it being bad but that could be the board causing it too.
You wanna toss the CPU?
Just send it here - I'll give it a shot.

I got another AM3+ board today, a gigabyte ga-78lmt today with a FX8320E in it. it posts fine. With the 8320 in it, no post, if put the 8320E in the 990 board it does the same, PSU just goes off, board does nothing, no lights, nothing. With the 8320 in the GA-78LMT no post. Should the 8320 be supported in the 78LMT?
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2022
Messages
355 (3.62/day)
System Name EA-ZEN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D with -50mW UV
Motherboard Asus X570
Cooling Big Air
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 Ti Strix highly OC’ed
Storage 1 TB NVME, 500 GB SSD etc
Display(s) 2x 27”, main: curved 144Hz SVA with BLS and HDR
Case Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Z906 5.1 and Audeze Headphones, Shure SM7B mic
Power Supply Enough
Mouse Old but gold
Keyboard Mechanical Cherry Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A lot
I got another AM3+ board today, a gigabyte ga-78lmt today with a FX8320E in it. it posts fine. With the 8320 in it, no post, if put the 8320E in the 990 board it does the same, PSU just goes off, board does nothing, no lights, nothing. With the 8320 in the GA-78LMT no post. Should the 8320 be supported in the 78LMT?
Are you sure the bios supports it? Last shot before I would know the cpu is dead which it probably is.
 
D

Deleted member 24505

Guest
Are you sure the bios supports it? Last shot before I would know the cpu is dead which it probably is.

The 78LMT definitely does as a 8320E is in effect a 8320, and both are on the supported list, and i am pretty sure a 990fx does support a 8320/E
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2022
Messages
355 (3.62/day)
System Name EA-ZEN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D with -50mW UV
Motherboard Asus X570
Cooling Big Air
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 Ti Strix highly OC’ed
Storage 1 TB NVME, 500 GB SSD etc
Display(s) 2x 27”, main: curved 144Hz SVA with BLS and HDR
Case Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Z906 5.1 and Audeze Headphones, Shure SM7B mic
Power Supply Enough
Mouse Old but gold
Keyboard Mechanical Cherry Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A lot
The 78LMT definitely does as a 8320E is in effect a 8320, and both are on the supported list, and i am pretty sure a 990fx does support a 8320/E
I think they go for under 50 bucks now though.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2020
Messages
450 (0.65/day)
System Name Glasshouse
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X (manual PBO)
Motherboard MSI x570 Tomahawk wifi
Cooling Noctua NH D15 Chromax Black/ Noctua 140mm fans x2 (top)/ Corsair 120mm fans x4/ Arctic P12 exhaust
Memory G Skill Neo 16GBx4 (3600MHz 16/16/16/36)
Video Card(s) XFX 6900XT Merc Black
Storage Corsair Force MP600 (1TB) & Sabrent Rocket 4 (2TB) & 2TB Crucial Sata & OneTouch Portable HDD (4TB)
Display(s) LG CX 48 inch 10bit 4K@120Hz and Samsung U28E590 10bit 4K@60Hz
Case Corsair Crystal 570X White
Audio Device(s) Built in LG monitor speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Microsoft IntelliMouse Pro
Keyboard Leopold High End Mechanical
Software Windows 11
If it's in a skip and you haven't trespassed to get access then you're in the clear.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
2,288 (0.71/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
I got another AM3+ board today, a gigabyte ga-78lmt today with a FX8320E in it. it posts fine. With the 8320 in it, no post, if put the 8320E in the 990 board it does the same, PSU just goes off, board does nothing, no lights, nothing. With the 8320 in the GA-78LMT no post. Should the 8320 be supported in the 78LMT?
Yep - The CPU is dead.
Basically any AM3+ board should support a 8320 chip.
 
D

Deleted member 24505

Guest
Could something have taken out the 990 board and the CPU?
There is no damage to the 990 board that I can see.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
4,690 (3.55/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
6000 series as well as 5000 series were both made to be efficient, that’s nothing exclusive to 6000 series. 6000 series introduced VLIW4 arch with 6970 and 6950 those have bigger chips and more transistors, so your memory is 100% wrong, go check old reviews if you want, the 6970 is 20% faster than the 5970 and eats more power as well. Generally there’s no point in regressing performance, the only way is forward, not backwards or standstill.
"no u."
Seriously though, I'm definitely not wrong, you are.

The 6970 was slower than the 5970, the 6870 was slower than the 5870, and the 6850 was slower than the 5850.

Here's Techpowerup but Tom's and Anand are also in agreement. Saying I'm wrong is literally denying the evidence of three top independent reviewers of the day.

1656839989006.png


Find a credible source that paints a 6970 as 20% faster than a 5970 please.

Edit:
Actually, you made me go back and look at the 6670 specifically, (as per @Tigger's dumpster find) and it's probably the best indication we have that the HD6000 series VLIW4 was a flop both in the market, and internally at AMD.

Anand compared two cards we're interested in:

1656840527230.png


1656840932336.png
1656840967073.png
1656841029408.png
1656841075892.png
1656841119741.png
1656841164435.png


20% more resources AND clocked higher? Sadly the 6670 is only 10-12% faster than it's smaller, cheaper, older sibling. VLIW4 is not looking good here at all and at the $100 market (oh man that feels so strange to think that $100 was a price point with half-decent GPUs back then - how times have changed), performance/$ was way more important than raw performance, too.

Thinking about it, AMD abandoned VLIW4 immediately after a single generation. Just to rub salt in the wound, GCN which lasted for about a decade (!) went straight back to VLIW5.
 
Last edited:

Lenne

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
8,793 (2.46/day)
Location
Finland
System Name Gaming / HTPC
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 / Xeon X5675 @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool h2o
Memory 32GB DDR4 / 24GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1080 Ti / Radeon R9 290X
Storage ~2TB of SSDs + 2TB / 240GB of SSDs + 1.25TB
Display(s) 2x 24" 1080p / 40" 1080p HDTV
Case Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) DAC + Superlux HD668B / Corsair HS35 Carbon
Power Supply Fractal Ion 550W / Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard NOS C450 Mini Pro RGB / IBM Keyboard
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro ENG / Win 10 Pro ENG
On way home from cycle shop. Spotted a skip so had a look and found all this stuff in it, got to go back as there is a socket A board in there too with some athlon CPU in it.

Not sure what the PCIe video card is, the AM3 CPU is a 8320 black edition.
View attachment 253175View attachment 253176View attachment 253177View attachment 253178View attachment 253179View attachment 253180
Gimme! That SB Live! is also a nice touch, loved that soundcard (tho Audigy2 ZS is the best ever)
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
2,288 (0.71/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Could something have taken out the 990 board and the CPU?
There is no damage to the 990 board that I can s
You'd probrably have to remove the VRM heatsink on the board and check, there is a chance a bad MOSFET could have done the deed.

I also spotted something that doesn't look quite right from what I can tell, I've circled the area and the component to the left looks suspect.

IMG_0102.JPG
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
7,398 (3.73/day)
Location
Back in Norway
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X, 142/95/120, PBO +150Mhz, CO -7,-7,-20(x6),
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling LOBO + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14 @3800c15
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UC@2250MHz max @~200W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
Could something have taken out the 990 board and the CPU?
There is no damage to the 990 board that I can see.
Have you got a multimeter? If so, I would go around the board (especially the VRMs) looking for short circuits with the meter in continuity mode. The PSU shutting off like that sounds like short circuit protection kicking in.

Failed VRMs aren't necessarily visible, and can often be bypassed by desoldering the dead mosfet/power stage and limping along with a reduced VRM (though stability might not be great, and OCing would obviously be out of the question). Not the simplest fix (desoldering SMD components on a heavy 12V power plane is a definite challenge, and might require a hot air station), but it might be salvageable. VRM failures often kill CPUs though, depending on whether it fails short to ground or whether it shorts 12V directly into VCORE.
 
D

Deleted member 24505

Guest
You'd probrably have to remove the VRM heatsink on the board and check, there is a chance a bad MOSFET could have done the deed.

I also spotted something that doesn't look quite right from what I can tell, I've circled the area and the component to the left looks suspect.

View attachment 253516


Looked at them, they are perfect, must be a glitch in the pic.


Got 2x256mb PC133 ram sticks to test the KT7A board off my bud, it powered up with no ram, so i can test it with ram in it now. Got a genuine win 98 disc too.
 
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
770 (4.97/day)
Location
G-City, UK
System Name My first new build
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450M mortar max
Cooling Vetroo V5 Arctic MX4
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200@3600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1660 Super OC Ventus
Storage Samsung 870 QVO 1tb x 2, Lexar 256 GB, Western Digital 500 GB nvme
Display(s) 22'' Some p tv
Case Aerocool Eclipse
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 2019/Edifier M201BT
Power Supply MSI MPG AGF 850 watt gold
Mouse Glorious Model D
Keyboard Dell KB212-B
Software Windows 10 pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 multicore 9995 single 1274 7.84 3d mark : Timespy 6180
Looked at them, they are perfect, must be a glitch in the pic.


Got 2x256mb PC133 ram sticks to test the KT7A board off my bud, it powered up with no ram, so i can test it with ram in it now. Got a genuine win 98 disc too.
There's water on them, makes them look broken... :laugh:
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
4,690 (3.55/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
There's a lot of dust and crap on that board - I wonder if it's worth doing an old Der8auer dishwasher rinse on it in case some crap from the skip is bridging stuff?

 
D

Deleted member 24505

Guest
There's a lot of dust and crap on that board - I wonder if it's worth doing an old Der8auer dishwasher rinse on it in case some crap from the skip is bridging stuff?


Tbh it is pretty clean, i can't see anything blown or obviously shorted.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,562 (4.56/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
There's a lot of dust and crap on that board - I wonder if it's worth doing an old Der8auer dishwasher rinse on it in case some crap from the skip is bridging stuff?

Dishwasher is fine, but it won't remove flux; for that I use isopropyl alcohol but avoid acetone.

Most of my computers were picked up after being dumped.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
7,398 (3.73/day)
Location
Back in Norway
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X, 142/95/120, PBO +150Mhz, CO -7,-7,-20(x6),
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling LOBO + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14 @3800c15
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UC@2250MHz max @~200W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
Tbh it is pretty clean, i can't see anything blown or obviously shorted.
As I said above, VRMs can fail without this being visible from the outside. You'd need a multimeter to test for this - probing for continuity across the source, drain and gate pins should be sufficient to see if there is a short in/around the VRMs.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
10,028 (1.70/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Dishwashers are not a good idea. There are too many unknowns. Dishwashers splash so much water around, it is essentially the same as submerging the board and all its mounted components into a tub of "heated" water. It is important to remember, dishwashers use hot water only and then they heat the water even further!

And dishwashers use pumps to pressurize that hot water into "jets" forcing that water into every crack and crevice - over and over again.

Do you know for a fact, each and every "electrical" device mounted on the motherboard is sealed? Impervious to water? Do you know for a fact, all the edges of the layered motherboard (including the edges of the drilled mounting holes) are still properly sealed by the resins?

Do you know for a fact, all the components, metals, plastic materials, labeling, and the PCB itself is impervious to the highly caustic detergents - detergents that are known to interact with some metals, that can "etch" crystal?

Even if no detergent is used, there is still the pressurized "hot" water issue.

Then of course, what if you forget to set the dishwasher to air dry - and then the heating element for the dryer comes on? And even if you do remember that, what if you don't ensure, with 200% certainty, that there is absolutely no trace of water left - anywhere - before applying power again?

Are there anecdotal examples of people washing motherboards in dishwashers with good results? Yes. But that does not mean that is the best or proper way to clean electronics. If a simple wipe with a "damp" (not wet) cloth is not enough, I recommend the use electrical contact cleaner - which is specifically designed to be used on electronics. I recommend CRC QD Electronic Cleaner.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
7,398 (3.73/day)
Location
Back in Norway
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X, 142/95/120, PBO +150Mhz, CO -7,-7,-20(x6),
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling LOBO + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14 @3800c15
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UC@2250MHz max @~200W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
Dishwashers are not a good idea. There are too many unknowns. Dishwashers splash so much water around, it is essentially the same as submerging the board and all its mounted components into a tub of "heated" water. It is important to remember, dishwashers use hot water only and then they heat the water even further!

And dishwashers use pumps to pressurize that hot water into "jets" forcing that water into every crack and crevice - over and over again.

Do you know for a fact, each and every "electrical" device mounted on the motherboard is sealed? Impervious to water? Do you know for a fact, all the edges of the layered motherboard (including the edges of the drilled mounting holes) are still properly sealed by the resins?

Do you know for a fact, all the components, metals, plastic materials, labeling, and the PCB itself is impervious to the highly caustic detergents - detergents that are known to interact with some metals, that can "etch" crystal?

Even if no detergent is used, there is still the pressurized "hot" water issue.

Then of course, what if you forget to set the dishwasher to air dry - and then the heating element for the dryer comes on? And even if you do remember that, what if you don't ensure, with 200% certainty, that there is absolutely no trace of water left - anywhere - before applying power again?

Are there anecdotal examples of people washing motherboards in dishwashers with good results? Yes. But that does not mean that is the best or proper way to clean electronics. If a simple wipe with a "damp" (not wet) cloth is not enough, I recommend the use electrical contact cleaner - which is specifically designed to be used on electronics. I recommend CRC QD Electronic Cleaner.
I don't know what it's like in the US, but dish washers use cold tap water here in Europe. Hot tap water is rather unpredictable in temperature, but generally hot tap water is above 65°C (the threshold for killing legionella, and the lower threshold for legal hot water installations in many places) and might be close to 90 (depending on your tank, pipes, etc.) - that's way too hot for use in a dish washer. My dishwasher has temperature settings from 45-70°C - there's literally no way that could be done with hot tap water unless it spent significant time cooling down after filling up. Which, to be clear, is not how dishwashers work - they're insulated to keep heat in, after all. Some plastics might not like even 70°C, but those aren't likely to be found on a motherboard - they need to handle indirect heat from nearby components being soldered on, after all. Still, your concerns about heat are unfounded.

You're sort of right about metals and detergents, but that mainly applies to aluminium heatsinks in the case of motherboards, and anodization protects quite well from this. Copper, brass, steel, nickel, gold and other commonly found surface materials in PC components are fine with harsh detergents, as is the glass and resin in the PCB - unless you're loading your dishwasher with acetone, I guess. But generally, you don't use (or need) detergent for this. It's the relatively gentle spraying with hot water over time that does the cleaning.

It's obvious that any paper labels will be destroyed though. Any that are worthy of preserving need to be removed first.

As for the rest: a long drying cycle is an absolute necessity for this - ideally aided by heat and some form of air pressure. Passive air drying is not necessarily sufficient, as moisture gets trapped beneath SMD components and BGA packages and doesn't evaporate easily from there. Still, nothing a hairdryer can't help with, and it is entirely safe to do this as long as you're not dumb enough to think "oh, this looks dry, so it must be fine to power up".

And, for the record, submerging a motherboard in hot water is equally fine - it's just more work and the scrubbing will necessarily be harsher than the water jets of a dishwasher.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,562 (4.56/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
I should have added that if there is a dry cycle, it is to be avoided.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
10,028 (1.70/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Interesting about dishwashers there - at least in Sweden. I do know when I lived in England, our dishwasher was indeed connected to the hot water only. But that was in the 80s.

Hot water connection is normal here in the US. Why? Because it takes a lot more energy to heat the water in a dishwasher than in the water heater - which typically are preset to 120 - 140°F (49 - 60°C). This is why most dishwasher manuals say to run the kitchen sink's hot water until hot water comes out the faucet. This helps ensure only hat water enters the dishwasher, minimizing the need for the electronic heating element to come on.
And, for the record, submerging a motherboard in hot water is equally fine
And again - no it is not - not unless you know for a fact, nothing on that specific board, and the PCB itself, can tolerate it.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,562 (4.56/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
There is definitely a risk, especially if the board has a speaker.
 
Top