• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

No hardware listed in Device manager?

Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#1
I don't konw whathappend but in Device manager and in my Network connections there is nothing where there used to be a Modem listed and all my hardware in Device Manager. What happend and how do I fix this?

 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#2
wow thats strange never seen that before, have you installed any updates or somthing recently? maybe try pressing f8 whilst booting and try "last known good configuration" or "debugging mode" also see if you can see device manager from right clicking on "my computer" from the start menu, then click mananage and device manager
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#3
Thanks for the suggestion man. I believe I have done all that and a bit more. I googled my situation and it would seem I'm not the only one to have had this happen. Unfortunately my case is different than theirs and thus there solutions haven't worked for me. I would be pissed if I end up having to reformat.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.86/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#4
Did you try booting in safe mode to see if they were there? You might be able to get by with only repairing your OS. Another thing that might be wrong is your registry might be all f'ed up. Find a program that does reg fixes and run that.(I can't think of any off hand)
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#5
Just a long shot, but is your "Software Licensing" service running?
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Humour me, go into task manager and kill rundll32.exe and then re-open device manager.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#7
Safe mode same thing, "Software Licensing" service is running and there is no RunDLL running, I"ll start it though and reboot.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Safe mode same thing, "Software Licensing" service is running and there is no RunDLL running, I"ll start it though and reboot.
Hmm...guess Vista is different....never noticed I didn't have rundll32.exe anymore lol. In XP I had the same issue, all I had to do was kill rundll32.exe and restart Device Manager and it worked fine.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#9
Yeah I enabled RunDLL.exe and still same thing. Wait looking at msconfig I have many diff RunDLL.exe's lol. Last thing I remeber doing was disabling something in msconfig, but I didn't think it would scew me over that bad. Could it be malware or something? I have scaned my computer and I'm clean so I don't know.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#10
well i have none in mine, strange, you could always try running spware scan, av etc, hijack this see if anything turns up ?
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Minnesota
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790k
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD3H Z97 ATX Motherboard
Cooling Coolmaster Hyper 212
Memory 2 ADATA XPG V1 4GB Desktop Memory Module
Video Card(s) AMD Radoen HD 6670
Storage 1(1TB) HDD 1(500GB) HDD
Power Supply Ultra LSP Series V2 550-Watt Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#11
Does Vista have a System Restore like XP? If it does you could just make the computer rewind itself a month and see if that'll fix the problem.