• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

No post beeps, no video, no usb?

tilldeath

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Messages
200 (0.08/day)
Likes
5
#1
CPU: AMD 8150
Motherboard: Gigabyte 990fxa-ud3
PSU: 1000W Ultra X3
RAM: 2x4GB 2133 Gskill Sniper
GPU: MSI 7950

Like the title says no post beep, no video, no keyboard/mouse. Fans are spinning and leds are on, gpu fan spinning. Cleared CMOS, checked battery, standoffs, connections, cpu mount and pins, ran 1 slot ram and have confirmed both sticks work. WTF! Any ideas? I'm thinking MOBO. Any ways to test with out swapping everything out individually ie. psu, seperate GPU, different CPU etc...?:banghead:
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.93/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#2
Do you have a different AM3/AM3+ CPU to test? If so try that, otherwise it's the mobo. Make sure everything is properly plugged in and double check all the jumpers in case one of them came mysteriously set incorrectly (it's happened to me before).
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.00/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#3
Sounds like a dead board to me.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,274
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
#4
exact same thing happened to me, it turned out to be a dead mobo... Try all your stuff on another mobo to make sure
 

Yo_Wattup

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
789 (0.37/day)
Likes
198
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Desktop/Gamer/Digital Audio Wokstation ||| HTPC
Processor 2500k @ 4.65ghz ||| AMD A8 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 with single Blue Antec Tri-Cool 120mm ||| Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 @1900mhz 8-9-9-24 ||| 8GB G.Skill 1600 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x HIS HD6950 2GB Crossfire, 6970 clocks ||| HD6550D
Storage 120GB Intel 320 series SSD + 2TB storage ||| 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 32" Sony Bravia LCD 1080p ||| 50" Hitachi Plasma 1080p
Case Raidmax Raptor modded to 7 fans ||| A compact HP Case
Audio Device(s) Firewire audio interface + two 9" studio monitors, 450 REAL watts ||| onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W ||| generic 400W
Software Win 7 Ultimate + Win 8 consumer preview||| Win 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Never drops below 60fps Battlefield 3 everything on max, fov 90. :D
#5
Friend was in the exact situation, turned out to be his VGA cable. Yep, we tried everything, PSU, video card, ram, then we just tried my whole system on his monitor... bingo.

SO try it at someone else's place to see if its the monitor or cable.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
527 (0.23/day)
Likes
472
Location
somewhere in Eastern Europe
System Name Cruncher
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow SB-E
Memory 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7870+Powercolor HD7850 CrossFire
Storage Corsair ForceGT 90 SSD,WD Black 500
Display(s) Acer 24'' 2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Grand 1050w 80+Gold
Software Win 7 SP1 Ult x64
#6
CPU: AMD 8150
Motherboard: Gigabyte 990fxa-ud3
PSU: 1000W Ultra X3
RAM: 2x4GB 2133 Gskill Sniper
GPU: MSI 7950

Like the title says no post beep, no video, no keyboard/mouse. Fans are spinning and leds are on, gpu fan spinning. Cleared CMOS, checked battery, standoffs, connections, cpu mount and pins, ran 1 slot ram and have confirmed both sticks work. WTF! Any ideas? I'm thinking MOBO. Any ways to test with out swapping everything out individually ie. psu, seperate GPU, different CPU etc...?:banghead:
Not quite sure of the writing.
Does the system worked before? Or is it happened after installing the FX-8150?
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
527 (0.23/day)
Likes
472
Location
somewhere in Eastern Europe
System Name Cruncher
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow SB-E
Memory 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7870+Powercolor HD7850 CrossFire
Storage Corsair ForceGT 90 SSD,WD Black 500
Display(s) Acer 24'' 2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Grand 1050w 80+Gold
Software Win 7 SP1 Ult x64
#8
If new build, most likely need a BIOS update that supports FX. Many times, met with such a problem. You need any AM3 to flash the latest BIOS.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.00/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#9
If new build, most likely need a BIOS update that supports FX. Many times, met with such a problem. You need any AM3 to flash the latest BIOS.
After looking, you are right.

@tildeath

Pickup a Sempron 1x0 to flash the bios. If you still get no post I would rma the board.
 
Joined
May 21, 2010
Messages
221 (0.08/day)
Likes
61
System Name Rhino
Processor FX6300
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO R2
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory HyperX Beast 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX560ti
Storage OCZ Agility 3
Case Lian-li
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Sound Studio
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Keyboard Tt eSPORTS Challenger Pro
Software W10 64bit
#10
Similar thing.

This is the third case of this in a fortnight, I had it too. Everything on but nothing to the monitor, set up an new rig with same stuff but a different board and all good. Something blocking the mainboard. Old school tekkies say there's no such thing as malware that does the mainboard in however it didn't do itself in.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,555 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,459
Location
Kaunas, Lithuania
System Name Eternal WIP ][ HP ProLiant server blade
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.4/4.1 GHz ][ 2x Intel Xeon L5520 @ 2.27GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z ][ -
Cooling Corsair H55 ][ Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis @ 1866MHz ][ 4x4 GiB Hynix @ 1333 MHz; ECC on
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC ][ None
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Green + 750GB Samsung + 64GB OCZ Agility 4 ][ 3x 1 TB Hitachi
Display(s) Asus VG278H + Asus VH226H ][ None
Case Antec Nine Hundred ][ it's a server blade, lol
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II (Integrated); Using optical S/PDIF output ][ none
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i ][ [stock]
Software Gentoo Linux ][ Linux Mint 16
Benchmark Scores 65970 BogoMIPS. Ha. Ha. Ha. >=|
#11
I had exactly the same thing with a higher-end model/variation (GA-990FXA-UD5).
It appears that some (all?) GA-990FXA-UD* mobos have an old BIOS out-of-the-box. Old enough /not/ to support the AMD FX line. So basically - You need to get a AM3 CPU, flash Your BIOS, and then put Your FX 8150 back. (see the CPU support list @ Gigabyte website.)
(That's exactly what I did. And after flashing the BIOS it worked perfectly.)
It's a shame, though. BIOS revisions to support AM3+ CPUs came out more than half a year ago, yet people still get mobos with outdated versions, this way putting us into a frustrating situation.

EDIT: sorry for post redundancy - it took me a while to write this.
 

dean1959

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
CPU: AMD 8150
Motherboard: Gigabyte 990fxa-ud3
PSU: 1000W Ultra X3
RAM: 2x4GB 2133 Gskill Sniper
GPU: MSI 7950

Like the title says no post beep, no video, no keyboard/mouse. Fans are spinning and leds are on, gpu fan spinning. Cleared CMOS, checked battery, standoffs, connections, cpu mount and pins, ran 1 slot ram and have confirmed both sticks work. WTF! Any ideas? I'm thinking MOBO. Any ways to test with out swapping everything out individually ie. psu, seperate GPU, different CPU etc...?:banghead:
I am having the same issue with a system that I have been running for over a year. I have the Gigabyte 990fxa-ud3 and have been running a fx 8120 with liquid cooling. 16gig memory. 2 Older ati hd 4350's. I started to see my temp rising on my cpu, so went to bios and saw that my voltages on cpu was showing 130w. I adjusted it down and was okay. Last week temp started going up so I checked bios and it showed 141w. I adjusted it down and haven't gotten video again. I put a fx8320 on and still nothing. I reseated everything and still nothing. I don't have any keyboard function either. I hope I don't have to replace the board.


Was there ever a resolution to this?


Deane
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#14
Prob a bios flash. Make sure GPU is seated or try other PCIE slot. Make sure memory are in the correct dimms and memory is compatable. where do you live? Maybe a TPU member with older AM3+ processor is close by.