• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

No Reboot After Altering Bios Settings !!

Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#1
Well I have a small problem with my motherboard in my new PC build.
Here is the problem - when I go into the bios to OC and then hit "F10 to Exit And Save Changes" the board will not POST again,it just shuts down then restarts with all fans ( CPU and GPU ) spinning at full speed but does not go the stage where they step down in speed and POST.

BUT here is the part that is bugging me.If I then hold down the power switch to turn the board off and switch the PSU off and then on again it will boot with the changes I made in the bios.Not a big deal really but just annoying.

I hope you follow what I mean there.Here are my specs -

Asus Maximus Extreme motherboard
Patriot Viper Fin DDR3 1600MHz RAM
E6850 CPU >>>> Thanks to Infrared
PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 PSU >>>> Thanks to Infrared

Anyone any ideas on fixing this? Not sure if it's related to a setting in bios or just seems to be problem with Asus boards.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#2
Well I have a small problem with my motherboard in my new PC build.
Here is the problem - when I go into the bios to OC and then hit "F10 to Exit And Save Changes" the board will not POST again,it just shuts down then restarts with all fans ( CPU and GPU ) spinning at full speed but does not go the stage where they step down in speed and POST.

BUT here is the part that is bugging me.If I then hold down the power switch to turn the board off and switch the PSU off and then on again it will boot with the changes I made in the bios.Not a big deal really but just annoying.

I hope you follow what I mean there.Here are my specs -

Asus Maximus Extreme motherboard
Patriot Viper Fin DDR3 1600MHz RAM
E6850 CPU >>>> Thanks to Infrared
PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 PSU >>>> Thanks to Infrared

Anyone any ideas on fixing this? Not sure if it's related to a setting in bios or just seems to be problem with Asus boards.
Are you using the LCD post thingy? Where is it getting hung?

If I make a lot of changes in my Formula's bios, after I save and exit, it shuts down completely, then restarts. Then it usually takes a few extra seconds to post. How long have you let it go?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#3
Yeah I just plugged it in there now and when I make changes it shuts down and then about 2 seconds later restarts with all fans at full power and stays there.
The read out says EN SETUP,I have let the fans spin for about a minute or so.

EDIT:After I do the PSU on/off thingy it boots straight to Windows and if I "Restart" from Windows it will reboot OK
 
Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#4
Sounds like it may just be a BIOS bug.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
I have that randomly happen to me as well. I can't wait for a bios that is better than 0907, or 903 whichever one works for you.:)
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#6
Sounds like it may just be a BIOS bug.
Yeah thats what I'm thinking,seems to get stuck at the "EN SETUP" and not going back to "INNIT CPU" .
Have tried the latest bios 1001 and still a no go but I can live with it for now,hopefully will get sorted in later bios.

Anyway still trying to fathom the settings on this board, as it is my first Intel build,may take me awhile to find where everything is.

@ erocker How do you find the Zalman cooler?,might have to get a decent air cooler to tide me over till I get my water setup going,on stock cooler at the moment.
 
Last edited:

Dac3062

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
I am also working on my first Intel build with a q6600 and ASUS P5N32-E SLI.
I was coasting google for some bios info and found your post here.
In my manual ( in my case, possibly not yours) on my motherboard there is a jumper labeled
CLRTC_EN if the jumper is on pin 1 it is set to clear your bios upon rebooting the system, if on pin 3 its set to normal mode. Try checking to see, but more than likely not your case but hey if it works worth the post eh?