• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

No signal from custom pc to dell monitor

juicexct

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I just build a custom PC (specs below) for the first time. I connected my Dell SX2210 monitor to the PC using a VGA cable. I also tried HDMI and DVI. When it is plugged in, the monitor is briefly on, then says "entering power saving mode" and the power light on the monitor goes orange. When I press the menu buttons on the monitor a message pops up that reads "no signal is coming from the computer." The computer boots up, beeps, etc. All the case fans and the cpu fan are running, and the connection indicator lights on the motherboard are lit.

My motherboard supports onboard graphics, but the CPU I'm using doesn't have them so I can't try plugging the monitor in there. I tried another monitor via VGA on the graphics card and it also said that there was no signal. I have no way of going into the BIOS to see if onboard graphics are enable or not and if that is what is causing the issue. I'm at a loss since I can't see anything the computer wants to do.


SPECS:
MSI H57M-ED65 LGA 1156 Intel H57 HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
MSI R5450-MD512H Radeon HD 5450 (Cedar) 512MB 64-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card
Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor BX80605I5750
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL8D-4GBRM
Corsair TX650W PSU
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Saint Louis, MO
#2
First of all, it sounds like your MSI Radeo HD 5450 Video card is bad. Do you have a friend that might possiblyl have another PCI Express video card you could borrow to use in its place just for a test?

And secondly, regarding your comment about not being able to use the onboard graphics. That is not correct. You CAN plug your monitor into the onboard VGA port and it should work. There is no such issue with your CPU supporting or not supporting onboard graphics. The CPU is completely unrelated to that. Plug your monitor into the onboard VGA port and see what you get. Even if the onboard graphics were disabled, it would still function for the POST (Power On Self Test) and allow you to see the POST and the BIOS menu.

But I think what it boils down to is that your video card is defective. I bet if you get a different video card, you will be just fine. The thing is, you really need to get ahold of another video card and swap them out to be sure. OR, take the MSI video card in that PC and put it into another PC somewhere and see if it works in that PC. It's just a process of elimination, but to me the trouble seems to be pointing to a faulty video card.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2010
Messages
265 (0.10/day)
Likes
10
System Name no bases
Processor E8400/e5300/qx9770
Motherboard rampage formula/DG41TY/p5q DELUXE
Cooling stock DTC cooler&copper core
Memory titanium XTC DDR2 800 2gbx4/2gbx2/ballistix 2GBx4 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) evga gtx 460 oc/zotac 9600gt amp/evga gtx 580
Storage WD cavior black 2TB 16mb eSATA 2/500gb 16mb ATA133/ OCZSSD2-1ONX32G + samsung 320gb 8mb ESATA
Case cm 690/GZ-x2/antec qaudro 1200w
Power Supply antec quattro 1200w/zumax 500w v2/antec HCG 900w
Software windows server 2008 sp2/windows xp x64 pro sp2c/windows server 2008 sp1
#3
largely possible the display port/dvi port and the control chip are dead during static. but gpu definitely fine. you just have to send back to change the port.
 

travva

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
349 (0.10/day)
Likes
55
Location
Hampton, VA USA
System Name ambalamps
Processor i7 980 @ 4.15 GHZ
Motherboard Gigabyte x58a UD3R
Cooling Corsair h70
Memory 12 GB Dominator DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX580'S in SLI
Storage OCZ Vertex Turbo 60GB WD Velociraptor 300GB Seagate Barracuda XT 2 TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD
Case HAF-X
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium HD
Power Supply Coolermaster Real Power Pro 1kw Non Modular
Software Windows 7 x64 Pro
Benchmark Scores pwning n00bs like you
#4
My motherboard supports onboard graphics, but the CPU I'm using doesn't have them so I can't try plugging the monitor in there.
what does this even mean? your cpu has nothing to do w/ onboard graphics i don't think? i have never owned a board that used them so maybe i'm wrong though. try plugging the monitor in there. it's very possible the bios is set to output via onboard vga and that's why your monitor says no signal.

largely possible the display port/dvi port and the control chip are dead during static. but gpu definitely fine. you just have to send back to change the port.
no offense but that's horrible advice. he tried 3 different connections.
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,881 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
what does this even mean? your cpu has nothing to do w/ onboard graphics i don't think? i have never owned a board that used them so maybe i'm wrong though. try plugging the monitor in there. it's very possible the bios is set to output via onboard vga and that's why your monitor says no signal.
Very possible indeed. Try this, sometimes you have to change this in BIOS before you can actually use the graphics card properly.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#6
@ travva Aurelia & Frick

With the new Intel cpu's & H5x boards, you must have a Clarkdale installed to utilize an onboard IGP as the integrated graphics core is on the cpu die not the board itself.

@ juicexct

You may need a bios update to support your i5 lynnfield chip. Know anyone with a clarkdale you can borrow?
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,881 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#7
D'oh! I keep forgetting about that. :(
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2010
Messages
265 (0.10/day)
Likes
10
System Name no bases
Processor E8400/e5300/qx9770
Motherboard rampage formula/DG41TY/p5q DELUXE
Cooling stock DTC cooler&copper core
Memory titanium XTC DDR2 800 2gbx4/2gbx2/ballistix 2GBx4 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) evga gtx 460 oc/zotac 9600gt amp/evga gtx 580
Storage WD cavior black 2TB 16mb eSATA 2/500gb 16mb ATA133/ OCZSSD2-1ONX32G + samsung 320gb 8mb ESATA
Case cm 690/GZ-x2/antec qaudro 1200w
Power Supply antec quattro 1200w/zumax 500w v2/antec HCG 900w
Software windows server 2008 sp2/windows xp x64 pro sp2c/windows server 2008 sp1
#8
no offense but that's horrible advice. he tried 3 different connections.
that means all i/o port are dead, probably even the port controller chip are dead too since he had tried 3 kind of adapter and no responds on screen. a broken gpu will leaving long bee sound when not respond on monitor but this client doesn't have bee sound which means the gpu is fine.