• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

No Sound after fresh Win 7 Install

Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#1
Hey all,

Just got my new rig built up and have been installing/updating and tweaking for the past 24 hours. I just finally was able to jump into Planetside 2 to test it out, to find out there's no sound. When windows makes a sound, it comes out for some reason. There's no sound in Youtube or a game though. This is 7 Pro x64...

My Realtek manager test shows my center, sub and front L/R all as working when I play the sound test. I can hear the tone out of them... Then when I go to game or watch a vid, nothing. Matrix mode also disables my center and sub speakers when usually it enables all 5.1.

It's running straight from my brand new MoBo, no sound card. My speaks are set and activated and default as the audio device. All the newest Windows updates are installed. Latest Win 7 Realtek driver is installed. Nothing is muted.

This happens often everytime I rebuild a system with these speakers. They are Logitech 5.1. Or maybe it's Realtek's fault. Or my fault. Anyone has any ideas, let me know.

Thanks!
 
Last edited:

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#2
Sounds dumb but did you set the audio device as default?
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#3
Yes, it's enabled and set as default.

Driver install did nothing. Another thing to add is turning on the "Matrix" mode on my speaks currently disables the center and subwoofer (in the Realtek test). Usually it enables all 5.1 speakers.
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#4
Just installed more updates and also Win 7 SP 1 and still nothing. I get the bootup pretty twinkling sounds coming from my speaks but then nothing from Youtube or games... Speakers respond through Realtek Speaker Test thing.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#5
Just installed more updates and also Win 7 SP 1 and still nothing. I get the bootup pretty twinkling sounds coming from my speaks but then nothing from Youtube or games... Speakers respond through Realtek Speaker Test thing.
Thats really strange, try uninstalling the generic drivers and redownloading the ones on your mobo website
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#6
Okay. I will remove the Realtek HD Audio driver from 6/19/2012 and install the Gigabyte "Realtek Function driver for Realtek Azalia audio chip (Including Microsoft UAA Driver in English edition)" from 10/26/2012 and see where that gets me.
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#7
Well after that hassle it ended up being the same exact driver anyways. Not really sure what to do here. Maybe I'll remove the RTek driver and see if Windows can just make a generic one.
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#8
That didn't work. This is getting ridiculous. How hard can some plug and play speakers be to get to work?! With the generic drivers it's now showing speakers as unplugged and a "Digital Audio (S/PDIF) as the default and enabled device..........................

If this means anything, the 3 plugs for the end of the speakers make scratching/static noises come from the speakers if they touch the metal of the computer case. What does that mean?
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#9
That didn't work. This is getting ridiculous. How hard can some plug and play speakers be to get to work?! With the generic drivers it's now showing speakers as unplugged and a "Digital Audio (S/PDIF) as the default and enabled device..........................
It's a strange problem. Try removing all the drivers in Safe mode
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#10
Could this be a hardware issue with the new MoBo? I can't imagine it would be, since they are getting some semblance of detection when I test them w/ RTek manager.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#11
Could this be a hardware issue with the new MoBo? I can't imagine it would be, since they are getting some semblance of detection when I test them w/ RTek manager.
i doubt it, can you make it so you use generic drivers rather than the realtek ones? they might be causing a driver conflict
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#12
I have always had issues with sound and drivers. On my windows 7 desktop, sometimes it takes up to 5 minutes for the sound configuration to come up.

I sometimes have this issue, and when I do I find out that it is something small, since there are so many points of failure. Between that and the fact that sometimes for some reason my sound had to be toggled off and back on, could make for an hour of trying to get the sound to work.

Have you tried anything other than planetside 2? Music perhaps? You did say that the windows sound was doing okay.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#13
Yes try something else first and foremost. Even a Flash game with sound in your browser would suffice though another real DX game would be ideal...
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#14
Tried Youtube, iTunes, BF3, PSide2... All to no avail. I got a Youtube video to work randomly once for a few seconds then it stopped.

Bo$$ - I just tried the automatic Windows generic drivers that install (that's what you mean right?) while the RTek one was uninstalled. They used some sort of "digital" device and I have no idea what that is. No sound from the speakers from that one.

PS - Windows sounds are now not working either.
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#15
Deleted all Audio drivers in safe mode... They automatically reinstalled and I am still getting no sound. I clicked the red X on the sound icon and after a few seconds it came up with this:

After driver removal and auto-driver installation:
Playing audio:
Issues:
One or more audio service isnt running NOT FIXED
Check audio device DETECTED
Hardware changes might not have been detected DETECTED

Issues found:
One or more audio services isn't running
Both Windows Audio and Windows Audio End Point Builder services must be running for audio to work correctly. At least one of these isn't running.

This is sad.
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#16
RTek driver reinstalled and still nothing. Disabled the driver, got a red X saying no speakers are attached. Enabled it, said speakers are attached and at 100% volume. I honestly am running out of ideas here.

I just plugged in some headphones to the line in port... RTek picked them up and said you have plugged something in. No sound coming through them either.

Should also be noted... I had two simple speakers hooked up at my Dad's house right after the fresh build and they seemed to work fine. What the hell is going on?

When playing a Youtube vid and watching the Windows "Sound" box that shows all the devices, "Speakers" are moving up and down with green as if the sound is registering and playing perfectly... It's just that nothing is coming out.....................
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#17
Hmmm Have you tried under the sound applet a test of the windows startup sound whiles fully in windows? Sounds like the driver loads while booting the kicks out. Are there any hardware conflicts under device manager? Also is there anything muting the sound after full boot? What happens when you unplug the speakers while booted and plug them back in? Does the applet pop up that asked how you want to setup the speakers? Sorry for all the questions, just trying to help if I can.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#18
Are you working on the rig in tour specs? Download drivers and HD app from the motherboard manufacture web site


And it shows a triangle in the device manager?
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#19
Mad - The sounds are no longer even coming in before windows boots/during the startup. No sound whatsoever. No conflicts in device manager. I'm not seeing anything muting the sound; checking all the volumes and they aren't muted. If I unplug a speak, RTek pops up and says I unplugged something. Upon re-plugging, it pops up and I specify what I plugged in and hit okay. Thanks, keep them coming.

Jet - Yes. Already DL'd and installed audio driver from MoBo website. It's currently installed. What's HD App? And I don't see any triangles in the device manager.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#20
If there are no yellow triangles in the device manage then
its not your driver
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#21
There are no yeller triangles. Although I wish there was... At least we'd know the issue.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#22
Do you have it pluged into the right port?
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#23
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#24
Also right click the volume icon in the bar below and check the levels in the "Open Volume Mixer"
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#25
Good news for now... I put them in the "wrong" ports and now I'm at least getting sound, although less quality than my prior MoBo.

MailMan - They were plugged in the proper "center/sub, front, side/rear" ports at first. Then I moved them into the mic/in/out jacks and started to get some sound. It seems of shoddy quality though... All levels in volume mixer are 100%.

Mx - Should it be on or off? I'll check.