• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

No Sound In Front Panel Audio & Mic

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
Hi,
My Specs:
Case
Mobo
So I can't get any sound out through the front panel of my case. I believe it is AC'97. The mobo I have has HD or 5.1 for the front panel connector, So I used that connection, but I still can't hear anything out through the front panel. Am I suppose to plug the front panel somewhere else?
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#2
Should have an option in the bios to switch between hd and ac97.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
Should have an option in the bios to switch between hd and ac97.
In the bios, it only has the option to enable and disable azalia audio chip.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
208 (0.09/day)
Likes
35
Location
Kilmarnock Scotland
System Name White Phantom
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.4ghz = 1.360-1.368 vcore
Motherboard asrock p67 pro (not pro3)
Cooling prolimatech megahalem with 2x nocuta in push pull (thanks to the 54thvoid) ;) , stock phantom fans
Memory 8gb pny optima ddr3 1333mhz cas 9... oc'd to 1600mhz 1.56v's
Video Card(s) asus 560ti 1gb TOP bf3 edition (stock 900mhz oc)
Storage primary seagate 7200rpm 80 gig, secondary maxtor 250gig ,external maxtor 750 gig
Display(s) samsung syncmaster p2450 via DVI @1080p 60hz
Case White and blue NZXT Phantom (carbon fibred sides/door)
Audio Device(s) onboard , philips AMBX pro speakers 80watts rms
Power Supply corsair TX 650 watt
Software windows 7 ultimate 64bit service pack 1 64bit
Benchmark Scores world record for most amount of times machine has pissed me off ....
#4
is there a software download by any chance? just a suggestion as i have a realtek onboard audio and had a similar problem, it was resolved by downloading a software suite that allowed me to control jack detection e.t.c i had the option to enable or disable the front panel along with switching to digital or analog outputs, or have you plugged the ac97 plug into the hd mobo header instead of the hd plug or vice versa
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#5
are you in the white plug on the motherboard?(very back bottom),Also did you use the cable that says Audio on it?from the case,it is easy to plug the usb one in and think it is the right one.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#6
make sure you use the part of the audio cable that says hd audio and not ac97
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
Well I updated the the audio driver for my mobo just last week, so it should be the latest driver. I don't see of any software download. The case I have does not have the HD audio cable, only AC'97. The problem is that when I plug anything into the front panel, nothing happens, even the realtek app does not detect anything being plugged in. It only detects the rear plugs.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
is there a software download by any chance? just a suggestion as i have a realtek onboard audio and had a similar problem, it was resolved by downloading a software suite that allowed me to control jack detection e.t.c i had the option to enable or disable the front panel along with switching to digital or analog outputs, or have you plugged the ac97 plug into the hd mobo header instead of the hd plug or vice versa
Well, I finally found the motherboard manual and it states as you exactly said; however not only did I have to disable the front panel analog, I had to also disable the simultaneou pass-through for the rear port. Funny thing is that after I checked both of the boxes rather than the one, I can finally hear from both the rear as well as the front.