1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No TRIM support SSD for OS

Discussion in 'Storage' started by suraswami, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,498 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Recently bought 2 of those DELL/Samsung 50GB SSDs from Microcenter. Wanted to image an existing system and restore to the SSD.

    I used CrystalDisk info tool to check the features supported by the SSD and found it doesn't support TRIM.

    Have seen few reviews about the benefits of TRIM.

    So if I anyway install the OS, how bad of impact will it be considering I will be going from IDE HDD to this SSD.

    Is there manual TRIM commands/Utilities that will be useful?

    I tried the Samsung Magician tool and it says non-samsung SSD (may be because of DELL branding?)

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,627 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,162
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    I think hdparm can do this for you
     
    suraswami says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,014 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,307
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Am I missing something because your system specs says your OS drive is a Patriot TorqX SSD.

    I would not have bought an SSD so old it does not support TRIM. You can manually clean the disk which would effectively just reset all the unused areas to 0 if there was data on there. This would have to be done whenever the disk slows down due to use. This is annoying.

    Personally I say take those back, get your money and buy a decent 120 GB or large SSD from Microcenter or newegg.com or whatever. They are not that expensive any more and many can be found for less than $1 a GB.
     
    suraswami says thanks.
  4. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,498 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    This is for the family machine. Yeah I can do like you said, but for some reason I feel like SSD prices are going back up and HDD prices are coming down.

    Anyway I wanted to upgrade 2 machines (not my main machine tho) and this one was $35 each and thought perfect for OS. I don't mind running manually some tool to get back the performance (slight annoyance but should be ok).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,627 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,162
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    The better deal would be OCZ Agility 3 60GB
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,014 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,307
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Than you should be good to go. If these are for "normal" people you can just put in a second standard HDD and re-route the My personal files folder to it, and never have to worry about it.

    And SSD prices are never going back up.
     
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,498 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    how much, where?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)