• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Noises About Radeon HD 7900 Series with XDR2 Memory Grow

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
As early as in September, we heard reports of AMD toying with Rambus XDR2 memory on its next generation of high-performance GPUs. Apart from our own community's response, that news met with a wall of skepticism as it was deficient in plausibility. New reports from Chinese websites have raised the topic again with fresh rumors that AMD will attempt to implement XDR2 on some of its next-generation ultra-high end products after all. XDR2, according to Rambus, can transport twice the amount of data per clock as GDDR5.

Show full news post
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
1,961 (0.41/day)
Likes
955
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 512GB Plextor M8PeG NVMe, 500GB Crucial MX200
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Roccat ISKU
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/j1yypa
#2
Sounds like a PR stunt by Rambus to try and get its share price up...
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
765 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
Location
Pocomoke, MD
System Name Good Enough
Processor Intel G3258 @ 3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81M-H
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 8gb
Video Card(s) MSI 650 ti Boost
Storage Crucial MX100 128gb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VN248
Case Coolermaster Ammo 533
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887
Power Supply Antec BP550
Mouse G502
Keyboard Sidewinder x4
Software Windows 7
#3
Damn chocolate avatar... brb. Going to the store.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
167 (0.05/day)
Likes
70
Location
Finland
Processor Core i7 920 @ 3,6
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9900 led
Memory 6GB DDR3 OCZ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 SC Black Edition
Storage Lots
Display(s) Samsung 226CW
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 1000
Power Supply 850W Corsair
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 1/0 0.o
#4
I have my sights on the second version GTX 560 ti, but would it be wise to wait and see what AMD is cooking ?? As I'm in no hurry to upgrade my GPU.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
496 (0.14/day)
Likes
115
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
#7
It's all about performance, anyone has any idea on XDR2?
But looking at rambus financial situation, they have to start selling their work at a reasonable cost.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#8
It's all about performance, anyone has any idea on XDR2?
XDR2 has never been used on consumer PC GPUs, but Rambus makes a lot of song and dance about its "superiority over GDDR5".

XDR is used in Playstation 3 consoles.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#9
What is the difference between the two here?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#10
What is the difference between the two here?
XDR2 apparently pushes twice the amount of data per clock compared to GDDR5. There is no comparison between the two from a neutral source, but here's Rambus PR video:

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#11
XDR2 apparently pushes twice the amount of data per clock compared to GDDR5. There is no comparison between the two from a neutral source, but here's Rambus PR video:

I see, perhaps add that to the OP.

So AMD are going for that "difference" to make their products more appealing that just another generic GPU.

Either that or this stuff really does work.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
1,764 (0.46/day)
Likes
343
Location
Darkness
System Name Unreal Machine III
Processor Intel Core i3 2120 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth P67
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory Gskill 8GB 1866Mhz Ripjaw CL9
Video Card(s) Saphire HD6950 1GB
Storage Kingston SSD 240GB + 500GB Barracuda 7200.12 + WD 640GB Black eddition + WD 1TB green + 500GB F3
Display(s) HP W2207 22'
Case Termalthake xaser III black
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatal1ty + Creative inpire t7900 7.1
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM 850HP
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software 10 pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage P14042;3DMark 11 P4408; Furmark 1.9 @840 3654
#12
What is the difference between the two here?
From the little i have researched, massive performance improvement with lower wattage than gdr5...

Just to put it simply...
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#13
Yeah, this is one of the things I've been waiting for. I had a pair of 128 MB Samsung PC800 RDRAM 10 years ago... on a Willamette 1.6 with a TNT2 32mb. lol. And it rocked. DDR has became a norm ever since it's launch - it killed both SD and RD on the desktop side.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#14
Yeah, this is one of the things I've been waiting for. I had a pair of 128 MB Samsung PC800 RDRAM 10 years ago... on a Willamette 1.6 with a TNT2 32mb. lol. And it rocked. DDR has became a norm ever since it's launch - it killed both SD and RD on the desktop side.
You are currently running DDR3-SDRAM.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
1,725 (0.71/day)
Likes
203
Location
So. Cal.
#15
massive performance improvement with lower wattage than gdr5...
That's how I see it with 348-bit and 1Gb (or maybe less) AMD could achieve more bandwidth (thru-put), while keeping efficiency in check and cost down.

Beats a costly 512-Bit PCB, crammed with 2Gb of ram... That looks to be the trend for the competition and we know how AMD likes to buck the status quo. If it works it's good for the consumer.

wall of skepticism as it was deficient in plausibility...:shadedshu
That wasn't so much from the readers and respondents...
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#16
Yeah, this is one of the things I've been waiting for. I had a pair of 128 MB Samsung PC800 RDRAM 10 years ago... on a Willamette 1.6 with a TNT2 32mb. lol. And it rocked. DDR has became a norm ever since it's launch - it killed both SD and RD on the desktop side.
lol you so funny. the type of RAM we use is always SDram :D

we should actually be saying DDR2 SDRAM or DDR3 SDRAM.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderatorâ„¢
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#17
I think in that case it's just DDR. I've got a Willamette 1.6 myself but the mobo broke.. And my daughter's pc is still running single core AMD, with DDR (because it's not DDR2 like my pc and far less DDR3 ;))
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
2,785 (1.22/day)
Likes
1,672
Location
New Zealand
System Name MoneySink
Processor 2600K @ 4.8
Motherboard P8Z77-V
Cooling AC NexXxos XT45 360, RayStorm, D5T+XSPC tank, Tygon R-3603, Bitspower
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600C8
Video Card(s) GTX 780 SLI (EVGA SC ACX + Giga GHz Ed.)
Storage Kingston HyperX SSD (128) OS, WD RE4 (1TB), RE2 (1TB), Cav. Black (2 x 500GB), Red (4TB)
Display(s) Achieva Shimian QH270-IPSMS (2560x1440) S-IPS
Case NZXT Switch 810
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek yawn edition
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050
Software Win8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3.5 litres of Pale Ale in 18 minutes.
#18
XDR2 apparently pushes twice the amount of data per clock compared to GDDR5. There is no comparison between the two from a neutral source, but here's Rambus PR video:
Rambus have an employee call Rob Dhat ? Why doesn't that surprise me ?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
J

John Doe

Guest
#19
You are currently running DDR3-SDRAM.
Obviously. :rolleyes: I was referring them as a whole. Yes, GDDR and DDR are different. Everybody knows that. This is the first change on memory used under desktops (not just on your mobo).

lol you so funny. the type of RAM we use is always SDram :D

we should actually be saying DDR2 SDRAM or DDR3 SDRAM.
Technically, yes, but we're currently using DDR RAM. 10 years ago, there was also SDR RAM for GPU's. So this is similar, as in an alternative to GDDR (XDR). :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
766 (0.23/day)
Likes
414
Processor Intel Core i3-4370
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-D3H
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 AT
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-N75TOC-2GI GeForce GTX 750 Ti WindForce
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Display(s) Acer G245HQ 23.6" LCD
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech M500
Keyboard Lenovo KB1021 USB
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#20
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#21
XDR 2 has a reference clock rate of only 800MHz. While GDDR5 has a reference clock rate of 1.5GHz. With that XDR2 can provide 16 bits of data per clock cycle. While GDDR5 can only provide 2 bits of data per clock cycle (which is why you see it at 1.5GHz). XDR2 is generally more efficient and requires less power. Along with it's use of FDMA, FlexLink, Micro-threading, differntial i/o's, etc I have to wonder if XDR2 is oc'ing friendly? From the initial information so far I would think that it's not. But if that is true I wouldn't think that is a negative thing. It already offers enough bandwidth. However, I also have to wonder if this can be achieved using current PCIe standards? Or would we need a next gen PCIe?

I would love to see a video tested using GTA V or SR3 with XDR2.
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#22
XDR 2 has a reference clock rate of only 800MHz. While GDDR5 has a reference clock rate of 1.5GHz. With that XDR2 can provide 16 bits of data per clock cycle. While GDDR5 can only provide 2 bits of data per clock cycle (which is why you see it at 1.5GHz). XDR2 is generally more efficient and requires less power. Along with it's use of FDMA, FlexLink, Micro-threading, differntial i/o's, etc I have to wonder if XDR2 is oc'ing friendly? From the initial information so far I would think that it's not. But if that is true I wouldn't think that is a negative thing. It already offers enough bandwidth. However, I also have to wonder if this can be achieved using current PCIe standards? Or would we need a next gen PCIe?
Type of memory is unrelated to PCI-E lanes. It makes little difference on performance, nowhere more than what a new GPU offers over an older one.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#23
Type of memory is unrelated to PCI-E lanes. It makes little difference on performance, nowhere more than what a new GPU offers over an older one.
I'm referring to the video card overall performance (IE 7970 or whatever they call it) not the IC.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#24
Obviously. :rolleyes: I was referring them as a whole. Yes, GDDR and DDR are different. Everybody knows that. This is the first change on memory used under desktops (not just on your mobo).
No, you weren't referring them as a whole. You were clearly ignorant to the fact that we use SDRAM even today. GDDR and DDR are both kinds of SDRAM. As a matter of fact, even RDRAM was a kind of SDRAM.
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#25
I'm referring to the video card at that point not the IC.
And it doesn't, there's nothing limiting the card from using XDR on PCI-E 2.0 x16.

No, you weren't referring them as a whole. You were clearly ignorant to the fact that we use SDRAM even today. GDDR and DDR are both kinds of SDRAM. As a matter of fact, even RDRAM was a kind of SDRAM.
Really? I'm clearly ignorant eh? Way to go buddy. Yes, they ARE kinds of SDRAM. But they DIFFER between each. Full stop.