• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Non ref R9 290 vs GTX 780ti, New build

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 22, 2013
Messages
42 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
System Name Master / Note
Processor Core i5 2310 / Pentium T4200
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2V-B3 / Barebone
Memory 2x2 GB Generic 1333MHz / 2+1GB DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) HD 7950 Vapor-X
Display(s) Samsung UN32EH6030GXZD 32" / Sansung 932BW 19"
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 400
Software Windows 7Pro x64 MSDNA / Windows 7 Basic x32
#51
Overclocking on air by HWBOT:

290/290x: ~1150 Mhz
780Ti/780: ~1190Mhz

Nothing enough to make me buy a 780Ti. If you will go water, pick 780Ti.


Radeon is for miners... and that's end of story. Until our mine because available...
And more than half miners play games on NVIDIA near 10-20 Radeons and options for multi CF... That's fact.
This is a lie.

Radeon have lot of help of reviews to stay competitive, special last series where give performance of GTX780 in almost intolerable noise and heat.
This is call deserving.



 
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
106 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
System Name Mean
Processor 2700k @ Modest 4.85Ghz,1.38V
Motherboard Asus maximus V formula
Cooling Sealed intel water loop
Memory 16 Gig Corsair red @2133 Mhz @ 11,10,11,27,2T timings 1.55V
Video Card(s) 2 X XFX 290 In crossfire 4 gig memory
Storage Intel 520 Ssd 520 read 500 write 120 gig system drive 3 x Wd 750 gig drives
Display(s) BenQ BL3201PT 32" 4k 60Hz Professional Widescreen LED Monitor
Case Lian li Tall tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply enermax revolution 87+ 650w '80 plus gold X 2
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/7671243 http://www.passmark.com/baselines/V8/display.php?id=17224737452
#52
780 Lacks enough memory to justify a sli config unless your using a old 1920x1080 display and then if that's the case you shouldn't even have a 780 to begin with.
Get 2 290 cards your have 4 gig of memory and be around the same price as a single 780ti card and be 160% faster.
290 is win win all the way
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,218 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,808
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#53
Definitely the 290- 780 is just way too much for the price for the abysmal increase.
Vlada=typical flamebaiter
 
Last edited:

roki977

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#54
780 Lacks enough memory to justify a sli config unless your using a old 1920x1080 display and then if that's the case you shouldn't even have a 780 to begin with.
Get 2 290 cards your have 4 gig of memory and be around the same price as a single 780ti card and be 160% faster.
290 is win win all the way

3gb is more than enough for 1440p or 1600p. 4k is challange. There is great choice of factory highly overclocked 780s than are fast as or faster than 290x, cheaper, cooler and perfect for any single GPU or SLI rig up to 1600p..
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
106 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
System Name Mean
Processor 2700k @ Modest 4.85Ghz,1.38V
Motherboard Asus maximus V formula
Cooling Sealed intel water loop
Memory 16 Gig Corsair red @2133 Mhz @ 11,10,11,27,2T timings 1.55V
Video Card(s) 2 X XFX 290 In crossfire 4 gig memory
Storage Intel 520 Ssd 520 read 500 write 120 gig system drive 3 x Wd 750 gig drives
Display(s) BenQ BL3201PT 32" 4k 60Hz Professional Widescreen LED Monitor
Case Lian li Tall tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply enermax revolution 87+ 650w '80 plus gold X 2
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/7671243 http://www.passmark.com/baselines/V8/display.php?id=17224737452
#55
3gb is more than enough for 1440p or 1600p. 4k is challange. There is great choice of factory highly overclocked 780s than are fast as or faster than 290x, cheaper, cooler and perfect for any single GPU or SLI rig up to 1600p..
Not for me it isn't.
Im using around 7850 megs playing bf4 170% texture res full ultra.
The 780 cant do that and I know this for a fact because I once had a asus 780 card and it memory swapped like crazy.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,101 (0.66/day)
Likes
814
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#56
Not for me it isn't.
Im using around 7850 megs playing bf4 170% texture res full ultra.
The 780 cant do that and I know this for a fact because I once had a asus 780 card and it memory swapped like crazy.
7.85Gb's...What resolution are you running? I run 2560x1600, max details and I only hit 2Gb - 2.5Gb. I think you are talking about system ram and not gpu ram.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
106 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
System Name Mean
Processor 2700k @ Modest 4.85Ghz,1.38V
Motherboard Asus maximus V formula
Cooling Sealed intel water loop
Memory 16 Gig Corsair red @2133 Mhz @ 11,10,11,27,2T timings 1.55V
Video Card(s) 2 X XFX 290 In crossfire 4 gig memory
Storage Intel 520 Ssd 520 read 500 write 120 gig system drive 3 x Wd 750 gig drives
Display(s) BenQ BL3201PT 32" 4k 60Hz Professional Widescreen LED Monitor
Case Lian li Tall tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply enermax revolution 87+ 650w '80 plus gold X 2
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/7671243 http://www.passmark.com/baselines/V8/display.php?id=17224737452
#57
7.85Gb's...What resolution are you running? I run 2560x1600, max details and I only hit 2Gb - 2.5Gb. I think you are talking about system ram and not gpu ram.
No system ram is system ram im looking at graphics memory.
In msi after burner it adds the memory up and not mirror to show 4 gig considering that's what crossfire does.
It says mem usage on the graphics to be 7850 megs.
I don't mistake the graphics memory and system ram.
example on this small test map im using over 3 gig from each of the cards alone.
On bigger maps I use close to 8.


His choice is down to one simple thing.
whats his screen res he plans to game on,
Is he using a single 1920 display or 3,
Is he using a 2.5 or 4k ?
if so a 780 is useless not because there not fast enough because they
more than fast enough but the fact they don't have enough memory to avoid memory swapping.


Noise and heat are no longer a problem for my 290 cards.
Im silent and don't go above 50c during gaming,.
Stress testing with furmark will push my temps to touch 60c after 20 min or so but that's still 35c
away from them thermal throttling and considering the money I saved buying reference cards
i spent on cpu cooling the only logical and best and fastest and most silent way is to use 2 290 cards,
Cooler cards use less power im -7% on my cores now with a modest 150mhz overclock.


In all the total cost to do this on a budget was 720 pounds including the cards and coolers.
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/70-pounds-to-water-cool-2-290-cards.197317/
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,101 (0.66/day)
Likes
814
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#58
I think you are talking about memory doubling. When you crossfire you don't actually get 2 cards worth of memory. Or in your case 2x4gb = 8gb. You xfire setup uses 4gb per card in parallel, so from the softwares perspective you only have 4gb usable. Now memory doubling is taking the cards gpu memory and using that much of system memory for swap. But you are not using 8Gbs of GPU memory (and if you were each card would need 8GB), nor are you really using that many GBs of RAM. If someone else could let me know whether this is accurate or not, but I am pretty sure this is true. It is just stating you are mapping 8GBs of space in total. 4GB of VRAM and 4GB shadowed.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.61/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#59
I think you are talking about memory doubling. When you crossfire you don't actually get 2 cards worth of memory. Or in your case 2x4gb = 8gb. You xfire setup uses 4gb per card in parallel, so from the softwares perspective you only have 4gb usable. Now memory doubling is taking the cards gpu memory and using that much of system memory for swap. But you are not using 8Gbs of GPU memory (and if you were each card would need 8GB), nor are you really using that many GBs of RAM. If someone else could let me know whether this is accurate or not, but I am pretty sure this is true. It is just stating you are mapping 8GBs of space in total. 4GB of VRAM and 4GB shadowed.
I agree, he is using half the amount of vram his OSD is showing.
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,176
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
#60
freeleacher said:
In msi after burner it adds the memory up and not mirror to show 4 gig considering that's what crossfire does.
From this statement, I think he gets that cfx mirrors the vram usage. Thus while MSI AB reports close to 8gb vram, it's really close to 4gb vram usage.

He may we wording it wrong. I did that one time a wile back, and while I knew it was mirror and not really using double, I expressed myself incorrectly.


Anyway, I think this thread has gone far astray and is a waste, considering the OP hasn't logged on since the day he created this thread. :laugh:
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#61
I know you all love beating dead horses with XXX vx. XXX arguments, but I'm pretty sure the OP has made their choice by now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.