1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Non ref R9 290 vs GTX 780ti, New build

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Limbo, Dec 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. el etro

    el etro

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    42 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Overclocking on air by HWBOT:

    290/290x: ~1150 Mhz
    780Ti/780: ~1190Mhz

    Nothing enough to make me buy a 780Ti. If you will go water, pick 780Ti.


    This is a lie.

    This is call deserving.



    [​IMG]
     
  2. freeleacher

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    106 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    780 Lacks enough memory to justify a sli config unless your using a old 1920x1080 display and then if that's the case you shouldn't even have a 780 to begin with.
    Get 2 290 cards your have 4 gig of memory and be around the same price as a single 780ti card and be 160% faster.
    290 is win win all the way
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,920 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,130
    Definitely the 290- 780 is just way too much for the price for the abysmal increase.
    Vlada=typical flamebaiter
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2014
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. roki977 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2

    3gb is more than enough for 1440p or 1600p. 4k is challange. There is great choice of factory highly overclocked 780s than are fast as or faster than 290x, cheaper, cooler and perfect for any single GPU or SLI rig up to 1600p..
     
  5. freeleacher

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    106 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Not for me it isn't.
    Im using around 7850 megs playing bf4 170% texture res full ultra.
    The 780 cant do that and I know this for a fact because I once had a asus 780 card and it memory swapped like crazy.
     
  6. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,034 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    801
    7.85Gb's...What resolution are you running? I run 2560x1600, max details and I only hit 2Gb - 2.5Gb. I think you are talking about system ram and not gpu ram.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. freeleacher

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    106 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    No system ram is system ram im looking at graphics memory.
    In msi after burner it adds the memory up and not mirror to show 4 gig considering that's what crossfire does.
    It says mem usage on the graphics to be 7850 megs.
    I don't mistake the graphics memory and system ram.
    example on this small test map im using over 3 gig from each of the cards alone.
    On bigger maps I use close to 8.



    His choice is down to one simple thing.
    whats his screen res he plans to game on,
    Is he using a single 1920 display or 3,
    Is he using a 2.5 or 4k ?
    if so a 780 is useless not because there not fast enough because they
    more than fast enough but the fact they don't have enough memory to avoid memory swapping.


    Noise and heat are no longer a problem for my 290 cards.
    Im silent and don't go above 50c during gaming,.
    Stress testing with furmark will push my temps to touch 60c after 20 min or so but that's still 35c
    away from them thermal throttling and considering the money I saved buying reference cards
    i spent on cpu cooling the only logical and best and fastest and most silent way is to use 2 290 cards,
    Cooler cards use less power im -7% on my cores now with a modest 150mhz overclock.


    In all the total cost to do this on a budget was 720 pounds including the cards and coolers.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/70-pounds-to-water-cool-2-290-cards.197317/
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2014
  8. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,034 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    801
    I think you are talking about memory doubling. When you crossfire you don't actually get 2 cards worth of memory. Or in your case 2x4gb = 8gb. You xfire setup uses 4gb per card in parallel, so from the softwares perspective you only have 4gb usable. Now memory doubling is taking the cards gpu memory and using that much of system memory for swap. But you are not using 8Gbs of GPU memory (and if you were each card would need 8GB), nor are you really using that many GBs of RAM. If someone else could let me know whether this is accurate or not, but I am pretty sure this is true. It is just stating you are mapping 8GBs of space in total. 4GB of VRAM and 4GB shadowed.
     
    Slizzo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    954 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    I agree, he is using half the amount of vram his OSD is showing.
     
  10. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,645 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25,761
    Location:
    Florida
    From this statement, I think he gets that cfx mirrors the vram usage. Thus while MSI AB reports close to 8gb vram, it's really close to 4gb vram usage.

    He may we wording it wrong. I did that one time a wile back, and while I knew it was mirror and not really using double, I expressed myself incorrectly.


    Anyway, I think this thread has gone far astray and is a waste, considering the OP hasn't logged on since the day he created this thread. :laugh:
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,234 (10.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,197
    I know you all love beating dead horses with XXX vx. XXX arguments, but I'm pretty sure the OP has made their choice by now.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.