• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Non working evga GTX 560ti

unknownk

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2021
Messages
9 (0.23/day)
I just got in a GTX 560ti and have issues with it.

Installed in a LGA 1155 Intel DZ68DB motherboard (replacing a HD 4690) it came up and Windows 7 installed generic VGA driver. I then downloaded the latest geforce installer for the card , installed, and rebooted but get a BSOD on starting Windows.

I did notice a SMD capacitor was missing on the back (C519), would that be causing the issue? No writing on the capacitor so I am not sure what value it is.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
16,653 (3.34/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Might be the cap although doesn’t seem all that likely, but could it be a fake card? There’s been a lot of these about lately.
 

unknownk

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2021
Messages
9 (0.23/day)
Has dual 6 pin power connections and the correct looking heatsink plus the plastic bezel around it. I was under the impression that more modern 4GB cards were being faked unless this is a very old fake.

I did find it odd Windows loaded the generic VGA drivers instead of one for the card.
 
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
162 (0.37/day)
If capacitor is missing, not just not being put there by the factory, then by all means it could prevent it functioning properly (noisy power). Try and find picture of said card... And no it's not fake if it has got a rectangular (not square) gpu and 1GB of memory and 2x 6pin connectors.
 

unknownk

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2021
Messages
9 (0.23/day)
I soldered in a capacitor taken from a dead Geforce 9500 (figured any capacitor is better then none and picked on the same size since I have no idea what value they are), no difference. Once you load drivers it BSOD.

I did notice some blue horizontal lines in VGA mode so maybe a RAM chip is bad or the GPU itself is.
 

Tabbygaming

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
1 (0.03/day)
Have you downloaded the correct version of the driver? I think the latest driver for a 560ti is 391.xx or something, so you cannot download the newest one.
 

unknownk

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2021
Messages
9 (0.23/day)
I just used Nvidias drive dowload page for the 500 series and W7 x64, will have to check the exact driver I snagged.
 
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
162 (0.37/day)
Were the horizontal blue lines there before attaching a condenser to the card?
With this crappy unleaded solder "old" pc components stop functioning merely because it cracks due to heat cycles the card goes through.
 

unknownk

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2021
Messages
9 (0.23/day)
Sorry for the delay in replying.

I think the lines were visible before repair, at low resolution.

I installed the card into another machine I own that had a Galaxy GTX 560 (not Ti) in it running 391.35 drivers.

The card showed up as Standard VGA like it did on the other system. Re installing the drivers causes the BSOD again Stop 0x000000116. I found it funny Windows 7 didn't recognize the card.

I did notice on boot that the working 560 card shows information before the BIOS comes up and the 560ti does not. Is the BIOS messed up by chance?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
31,083 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Blue lines sound memory related.

Use the working card to boot, open gpu-z and select the non working card, attempt to do a bios upload to tpu database using gpu-z by clicking arrow next to uefi checkbox. If you get a notification of bios being in database already copy link and post here. Also take pictures of the white stickers on the card. Even picture of card heatsink, if you feel comfortable remove heatdink, get picture of the gpu die and ram modules to include closeup of 1.


Some smd parts can cause crashing.
 

unknownk

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2021
Messages
9 (0.23/day)
GPUZ shows 0 information on the card with no drivers installed (VGA mode), not sure why it would be different booting from built in video. Anyway I will try it this weekend when I have time.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
31,083 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Put the non working card in another slot along side the working card, open gpu-z and switch tabs.

If it crashes then. You might as well toss the card.
 

unknownk

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2021
Messages
9 (0.23/day)
OK, installed it in a machine with a working video card. W7 installed standard VGA graphics adapter driver.

GPU-Z validation eynu6

Shows up as a GF114 Rev FF
40nm 332mm2
Jan 25, 2011 1950m
EVGA
10de 1200 3842 1563
32/64 384 unified
11.0

Seems to think it is a EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC when I did a lookup (there was another option also)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
31,083 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
OK, installed it in a machine with a working video card. W7 installed standard VGA graphics adapter driver.

GPU-Z validation eynu6

Shows up as a GF114 Rev FF
40nm 332mm2
Jan 25, 2011 1950m
EVGA
10de 1200 3842 1563
32/64 384 unified
11.0

Seems to think it is a EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC when I did a lookup (there was another option also)

Post a screenshot of gpu-z please
 

unknownk

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2021
Messages
9 (0.23/day)
1624856195711.png
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
31,083 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

unknownk

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2021
Messages
9 (0.23/day)
OK had some time to work on the card today (too hot and humid outside and the basement where I tinker was cold).

Anyway I got the hot air station out and using some liquid flux I reflowed the card.

W7 loaded the Nvidia drivers on boot. CPU-z showed this



gtx560ti.PNG

Ran 3dmark Vantage with no crashes. 3dmark P19539 20199 GPU and 17792 CPU
GPU-z said max temp was 86C with GPU clock of 900 max and mem clock of 1053 max, fan at 54% max.
 
Top