• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Northwood, revisions and stuff...

grisnak

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
58 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Im working on a deal for a used 2.8C cpu (i'd get it for like 100 bucks, I know this may sound expensive but remember that everything is about 20% more expensive in sweden due to the worlds highest taxes) and I got a screenie from cpu-z.

Its apparently a revision D1 with stepping 9, model 2.

I saw somewhere that this was the shittier variant that wouldnt clock too much :/
Does anyone know what fsb these processors can normally be run at stable?
I cant stand my shitty old 2.4b that wont go any further than 155fsb, I dont like AMD or prescott and I dont have the money for a pentium M because I didnt get the job I applied for :(
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,368 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
I have a P4 2.4C and it ran stable at 3.0(250FSB) 24/7 also a D1, runs cool and I just bumped the voltage up 1 step 1.55 from 1.52 to be safe. go for it its a great CPU
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#3
2.4C can run at 3.3 easily, I have one too. It doesn't even require changing the voltage. I'm not sure about the stepping, can't read it due to Intel thermal paste being on it and me being to lazy to clean it.

BTW if everything is so expensive there, why not buy one off e-bay from some foreigner?
 

grisnak

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
58 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
DanTheBanjoman said:
2.4C can run at 3.3 easily, I have one too. It doesn't even require changing the voltage. I'm not sure about the stepping, can't read it due to Intel thermal paste being on it and me being to lazy to clean it.

BTW if everything is so expensive there, why not buy one off e-bay from some foreigner?
The main reason is that swedish customs add an extra 25% on the price+shipping, and then another 4.6% fee. And also that if the cpu is damaged it will be more trouble to send it back to someone outside sweden and all that.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,368 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#5
DanTheBanjoman said:
2.4C can run at 3.3 easily, I have one too. It doesn't even require changing the voltage. I'm not sure about the stepping, can't read it due to Intel thermal paste being on it and me being to lazy to clean it.
well I had run it at 3.2 but for my RAMs stability sake(was generic) I kept it at 3.0
 

grisnak

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
58 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#6
Hmm, well, should I buy it? You guys who own it should know more than me about how good it is :)

Right now I have a 2.4 533 bus :(