• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Not applying profile 2d/3d MSI Afterburner R6850CFX

Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hello.

I have a CFX of 2 MSI R6850 OC.

I created a 2d and a 3d profile for the graphics card.

The issue is that none of the profiles applies itself automatically when I start a game neither when I boot up the system. I tried adding the application and giving the maximum level of detection but it doesn't work.

I must apply the profiles manually always. And, when I boot up the system, I have to specify the core clock and memory clock manually, it doesn't work when I select the profile from the profile list.

Any ideas?

I'm using the last AMD drivers and the final version of the Afterburner (2.1.0 Final).
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#2
you could try using RBE to change the bios clock profiles to what you're trying to do in afterburner. That may fix it.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#4
that is interesting. Is AB set to run when windows runs? I think default it is set to not do that though I highly doubt that is the issue it's worth checking lol.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#5
AB and the Rivatune OSD are set to run when windows starts. I couldnt try your suggestion about using RBE to edit the BIOS but I will.
It is that it seems to be very weird that AB it isnt working properly under CFX.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#6
Jasper, I tried editing the BIOS with RBE. I did it, but when Windows was starting, a BSOD came out so I had to go back to the original BIOS.

Any ideas about why the BIOS failed?

You can download the BIOS (Original and edited) from this post.
 

Attachments

xsever

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
119 (0.04/day)
Likes
11
System Name The Ultra Machine
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 720 @ 3.5GHZ 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte 790GP-UD4H
Cooling Core-Contact Freezer 120mm
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 4GB PC6400
Video Card(s) XFX 5770 1GB @970/1305 1.1V
Storage WD Black 1TB + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 2X Acer 20" LED
Case Ultra Wizard Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek (Onboard)
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 500 W
Software Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
#7
Jasper, I tried editing the BIOS with RBE. I did it, but when Windows was starting, a BSOD came out so I had to go back to the original BIOS.

Any ideas about why the BIOS failed?

You can download the BIOS (Original and edited) from this post.
The BIOS failed because the 6000-series cards have more restrictions on their BIOS and RBE cannot alter their clocks yet.
 
Last edited: