• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Not bleed properly or Too much for the pump???

Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#1
I just added a 2x140mm rad to my current WC set up. My set up before I added the Rad was....

XSPC Rasa CPU Block
EK 480 Rad (4x120mm)
2x MCW80 GPU Blocks
1x MCP655-B (No speed control but runs at 317Gph)
1x Swiftech Micro Res.
7/16 by 5/8 Tube

In order to fit the second rad in my case I had to install it with nozzles facing down vertically.While the EK 480 Rad on the back of my case is still vertical but nozzels are up.

My question is I have not got into too much testing yet but.... the temps seem a little worse then they were before. Is this too much for my Pump or would it be a better possibility that I did not bleed it all the way???

Suggestions???

Oh yeah if this helps....
Old order....
Pump>CPU>GPU>GPU>Rad>Res>Back to Pump

New Order
Pump>CPU>2x140 Rad>GPU>GPU>4x120 Rad>Res> Back to pump

Was getting temps Overclocked to 4.5 Ghz around 54c load and 44c load on the GPU (Overclocked to almost 1000mhz)

Now getting temps (Just backing up Steam) of around 47c CPU (Not overclocked) and 31c on the GPU (No load)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#2
That does seem disappointing, and it doesn't seem realistic that your 655 couldn't keep up, although there isn't as much head pressure in that high flow pump. I noticed about a 1 degree increase in temps when I swapped out my thinner mcr240 rad with a thick XSPC rx240 when using my old Jingway 1200. I switched to a higher pressure pump, and now I run much cooler. How's about some pics, for kicks. I don't think the nozzle placement means jack, as closed loop systems move water with little regard to direction.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#3
That does seem disappointing, and it doesn't seem realistic that your 655 couldn't keep up, although there isn't as much head pressure in that high flow pump. I noticed about a 1 degree increase in temps when I swapped out my thinner mcr240 rad with a thick XSPC rx240 when using my old Jingway 1200. I switched to a higher pressure pump, and now I run much cooler. How's about some pics, for kicks. I don't think the nozzle placement means jack, as closed loop systems move water with little regard to direction.
So you don't think it should be the pump the eyy??? Alright possible....not bled correctly??? Or something else here are some pics... you can see by the pics I am currently experimenting with more bleeding and also a possible placement of a second pump.... but for all intents and purposes this is what it looks like....
IMG_2759.jpg

IMG_2759.jpg
 

Attachments

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,441 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,107
#4
It shouldn't be the pump. I'm using a MCP355, use 90 degree fittings and have a pretty restrictive motherboard block. What is the order of your loop, it's hard to tell?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
951 (0.33/day)
Likes
246
Location
Granby, Qc. Canada
System Name Loose nuts & bolts
Processor FX-8350 - EK Supreme HF full nickel
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Water EK goodness all around 2xBlack Ice X-280
Memory 2 x8G HyperX Fury 1600 @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) 2 x XFX RX 480 w/EK-FC RX 480 nickel+Acetal
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + 2xWD Black 500GB in RAID0
Display(s) Crossover 27" 2560x1440 110Hz OC
Case Cooler Master HAF XB EVO
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win 10 Enterprise x64
#5
I'm thinking more along the lines of an air pocket restricting some of the flow
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#6
It shouldn't be the pump. I'm using a MCP355, use 90 degree fittings and have a pretty restrictive motherboard block. What is the order of your loop, it's hard to tell?
Right now it is
Pump>CPU>2x1400mm Rad>GPU>GPU>4x120mm Rad>Res> Back to the pump You thinking I should possibly move something???
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.35/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#7
I'm thinking more along the lines of an air pocket restricting some of the flow
Yeah me too , but the thinner RAD is going to restrict your flow rate as well . I think you should try to bleed it first , If this doesn't help I see it being a flow restriction from the thin rad in your loop . Nice loop though .
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,441 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,107
#8
Right now it is
Pump>CPU>2x1400mm Rad>GPU>GPU>4x120mm Rad>Res> Back to the pump You thinking I should possibly move something???
Nah, it's not the "most efficient" setup but it all equalizes in the end. Preferably with your setup you would want to go pump>rad>cpu>rad>video cards>res>pump.

You probablly have an air pocket in there. Preferably with just the pump running, shake/move your computer around to jar the air loose. I think you could do with just the 4x120 rad also.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#9
Nah, it's not the "most efficient" setup but it all equalizes in the end. Preferably with your setup you would want to go pump>rad>cpu>rad>video cards>res>pump.

You probablly have an air pocket in there. Preferably with just the pump running, shake/move your computer around to jar the air loose. I think you could do with just the 4x120 rad also.
Yeah I am beginning to think that too (The 1 4x120mm rad thing) I have been shaking the shit out of it.... I think there is a air pocket in there too..... What I might do is...drain it and re fill it. I think I might have got some really bad air bubbles in it when filling it. I did it kind of funky. If that does not work.... I am going to go back to the 4x120mm rad only or possibly try moving the pump. If that does not all work I am going to sell off the 2x140mm and just stick with the 4x120mm rad. I was just worried about summer coming and I did not want to be restricted on overclocking with any ambient temps in my room.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#10
Just added a second pump I had laying around we will see how that does will report back later
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#11
Okay guys I got my Second pump in.... it is a DD-CPX-Pro 12V Pump which is rated for 211Gph my next question to you guys is it okay to use two different speed pumps in a system. The reason I ask this is could it cause back pressure???

The set up I have right now is....

MCP-655-B>
CPU Block >
2x140mm res>
DD-CPX-Pro 12V Pump>
GPU's>
4x140 mm Rad>
Res >
and back to pump

Is this safe??? Or okay???

What also could have fixed it is the fact I completely emptied the system and refilled and bled it.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.35/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#12
Okay guys I got my Second pump in.... it is a DD-CPX-Pro 12V Pump which is rated for 211Gph my next question to you guys is it okay to use two different speed pumps in a system. The reason I ask this is could it cause back pressure???

The set up I have right now is....

MCP-655-B>
CPU Block >
2x140mm res>
DD-CPX-Pro 12V Pump>
GPU's>
4x140 mm Rad>
Res >
and back to pump

Is this safe??? Or okay???

What also could have fixed it is the fact I completely emptied the system and refilled and bled it.
I don't think you will see any problem with running it like that at all . I would call it safe as you are close to the out put of the other one . Minimal back pressure at best . If you do not see it now I doubt you will ever . Good job ! How about a pic ? Man I really like the way you set that up .
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#13
I don't think you will see any problem with running it like that at all . I would call it safe as you are close to the out put of the other one . Minimal back pressure at best . If you do not see it now I doubt you will ever . Good job ! How about a pic ? Man I really like the way you set that up .
Well what types of things should I look for in Back pressure???? Also the MCP655 is 317GPH and the DD-CPX-Pro 12V Pump is 211 GPH is that close enough in pressure??? Or do you think I will be okay???

First pic points everything out.... shows pumps and direction....
Direction 1.jpg

Next pic is just to show it off...
IMG_2762.jpg
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,441 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,107
#14
Getting your pump up higher will help. I recommend the XSPC dual 5.25" D5 resevoir. Gravity will help the pump and it will help bleed air out better.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#15
Getting your pump up higher will help. I recommend the XSPC dual 5.25" D5 resevoir. Gravity will help the pump and it will help bleed air out better.
Yeah I meant to ask that since I am still a noob to WC. What are the rules on that.... I thought the res is what you want higher? It's the pump??? Or both..... the other thing is too I am running out of room in this case. I had to move all 3 of my HDD's up to the 5.25 bay to do this.

Also I trust your opinion Erocker.... (not that I don't trust trickson just the more opinions the better) What do you think on the two different Pumps????
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.35/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#16
Really nice setup . Well I do not thing that you are going to see any thing impeding the pressure , The way you have it setup is not going to give you any real restriction on flow if any . Just keep an eye on the temps really and the res. if you Know what the flow looked like before and it looks the same now then it is a non issue . Looks GREAT to me . I wished I had a second pump !
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.35/day)
Likes
161
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
#17
very sexy looking loop, i have the same res for my cpu, the only thing i noticed from yours to mine was i filled mine less about 3/4 of an inch from the top. not sure if that has anything to do with it, as my water actually moves and ripples a bit. Just a thought, maybe you dont have enough room in the res for water displacement, try siphoning/draining a lil bit, see if that helps. also iv'e had air locks before, squeezing the tubes or shaking/tilting your rig as erocker said will help dislodge any air bubbles that may lie within rad, etc. I, even gone as far as hooking up a piece of tubing on a barb in the top of my microres, and actually had to suck start the loop, to get past a big ass air pocket.(insert dirty comment here, lol)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,411 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,541
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#18
You might want to go pick up some water wetter from your local autoparts store. Put a small amount in your loop, about a cap full. It breaks the surface tension of the water, which breaks up air bubbles in the loop.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.92/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#19
You know I wonder if there is not something wrong with the MCP 655 B pump I have..... From what I can tell looking on the net.... people are getting way better performance with theirs then I am with mine. It almost seemed to me the DD CPX-Pro I have was running stronger.