• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Not reaching max (stock / oced) clock speed!

gakio12

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor 2.1 Ghz AMD Phenom x3
Memory 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) gt 220 ddr2 1gb
#1
I have been trying forever to get this card up to speed but it maxes out at 405/324/810 (core/memory/shader clock). I have tried ocing it and its currently at 720/425/1587 with the stock settings at 625/400/1360. It is a gt 220 ddr2. I don't know if this means there is a bottleneck somewhere or what, but I'm stumped :(
 

gakio12

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor 2.1 Ghz AMD Phenom x3
Memory 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) gt 220 ddr2 1gb
#2
Sorta fix found, but still need help

Well i reinstalled the drivers and the card would run stock clock speed, but when I attempted to overclock in nvidia's control panel thing, it would underclock it to 405 mhz! Why is this happening?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#3
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#4
What do you think he is going to do with that extra half a frame per hour that he is gonna get out of overclocking a GT220? :)
 

gakio12

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor 2.1 Ghz AMD Phenom x3
Memory 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) gt 220 ddr2 1gb
#5
nope, the "display driver kernel has stopped working and successfully recovered" then it locks to 405 mhz and I have to reinstall the driver to get it back up. It does this at 640 mhz, and I've read people overclocking this card to 720mhz! I don't like this card, I'm not getting pny anymore...

I am thinking about getting a MSI N450GTS, but I am unsure if my 450W psu can handle it! I can't find anything on minimum psu requirements for the MSI N450GTS >< Any advise on this? Thank you for responses btw
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#6
nope, the "display driver kernel has stopped working and successfully recovered" then it locks to 405 mhz and I have to reinstall the driver to get it back up. It does this at 640 mhz, and I've read people overclocking this card to 720mhz! I don't like this card, I'm not getting pny anymore...

I am thinking about getting a MSI N450GTS, but I am unsure if my 450W psu can handle it! I can't find anything on minimum psu requirements for the MSI N450GTS >< Any advise on this? Thank you for responses btw
If you gonna get a 4xx series card for gaming and junk, just go out and get a GTX 460 card and be done with it, even tho you may need a new PSU, its still better than a GTS 450
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
93
Location
Finland
System Name I can't believe I bought that / HTPC
Processor i5-750 @ 3.5GHz 1.27v / P II 705e @ stock
Motherboard Asus P7P55D-E Evo / Asus M4A785D-M PRO
Cooling Corsair H100i / Air
Memory 4x2 Geil DDR3-2133 @ 1755 / 2x2 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660 TI / Asus HD6670
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB + Spinpoint F1 750GB / Crucial m4 128GB + WD Green 1TB
Display(s) HP w2408h / Samsung 55" HDTV
Case CM 690 II Advanced / Silverstone GD02
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair AX850 / OCZ ModXstream 500W
Software Win 7 / Win 7
#7
Look at this review, the 450, even overclocked takes a max of 146W and I'm fairly sure the rest of your setup doesn't use 300W, so you should be fine.

What brand and model is your PSU?
 

gakio12

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor 2.1 Ghz AMD Phenom x3
Memory 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) gt 220 ddr2 1gb
#8
my psu is Athena Power model p4atx45f/ts/fr3
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#9
Hmm it only has a 20amp +12V and that wont work

were do you live and how much can you spend on a new PSU, you can get some nice ones cheap!
 

gakio12

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor 2.1 Ghz AMD Phenom x3
Memory 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) gt 220 ddr2 1gb
#10
I'm up in Idaho, and my budget is about $140, I just got the gt 220 for $109 which is a rip I found out. So I am going to be returning it as soon as I figure out a better card.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#11
I'm up in Idaho, and my budget is about $140, I just got the gt 220 for $109 which is a rip I found out. So I am going to be returning it as soon as I figure out a better card.
hell yea thats a rip! i got my GTX 460SE 1gb model for 129$ shipped! and it will rip the 220 a new one!

Corsair 550VX

79.99 (59.99 after MIR) free shipping

Send back that 220 and you can find a used GTX 460 around 110$
 
Last edited:

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#12
Sorry double post, thought i edited^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#13
I'd try it with his current psu. Take a look at my HTPC specs. My budget 500 watter has 26a max, 18a continuous and the 3850. 0 issues.