• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Note- 4850 CROSSFIRE AND CERTAIN SETUPS DO NOT WORK WITH 8.10 (HOTFIXED)/8.11

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#1
I've been through hell and back the past 2 days trying to figure out what in the world was wrong with my cards and setup that was preventing me from using 8.11. I'm going to save someone some trouble hopefully.

Apparently if you are using x38, p45, x48's of certain kinds along with x64 bit vista along with 4850 crossfire, the drivers will result in a BSOD after you see the little vista logo.

I am re-installing with 8-7 untill I hear that AMD has fixed this issue in 8-12 or with a hotfix for 8-11. I am raged.

Can others with this problem please post what they did or backup what I have said? Because I saw a post on AMD forums and a bunch of people seem to have this problem.
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=262&threadid=103143


For those of you who already knew this, good for you. I wish you had told me !!:D Wasted so my much time thinking it was PSU or me installing drivers incorrectly or something.
 

mullered07

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#2
just damn glad i dont/havent had that problem, currently running 8.10/8.11?? i dunno one of those, only time i have had a bsod is when i ran the second card without the pcie 6 pin power :slap:
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#3
At first I thought it was something like that but I replaced all those cables and here is the good update.

I am on 8-7 drivers. It is working without a single problem in crossfire.

I am actually quite dissapointed in AMD/ATI. I thought they had there drivers under control. I'm about to send in a support ticket anyways to see if they are going to do something about this problem since it doesn't only effect asus x38's (Both p5e like me, and maxiums) but also gigabyte mobo's as well.

I think it has less to do with hardware then it does to do with vista 64 bit + the intel chipsets being the problem with the drivers.


I want some freaking up to date WORKING drivers *mad face* 8-12 better deliver.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,022
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
Thing is it does work for many people. Good that you are sending in a ticket, be as dispcriptive as possible.:)
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#5
But does it work with 8.10 hotfixed and 8.11 drivers and vista 64 bit? If it does then does it work with asus x38 and 48 chipsets? And then with p35 and p45. These are things that they should of tested the drivers on before releasing them.
I've seen enough complaints on the AMD forums that I think this is a bigger problem then just me. I sent them a ticket just now asking for an explanation and if they are going to fix it in 8-12.

I can't stay mad at AMD that long :), but this has me pretty mad.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,019
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#6
Thankfully I am not on 64....but thanks for posting, useful info!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,022
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#8
But does it work with 8.10 hotfixed and 8.11 drivers and vista 64 bit? If it does then does it work with asus x38 and 48 chipsets? And then with p35 and p45.

Yes it does. Worked for me (Rampage X48), and it works for someone I know (DFi X48). We are both using Vista x64. If it was a widespread problem it would be news. There is either a problem on your end, or something with your particular hardware configuration.
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#9
And you are using 4850 crossfire? Your system specs says 4870 and 9800gtx+. This error as far as I know ONLY occurs when you are CROSSFIRING 4850's.

I guarantee you it is not from my end, it HAS to be a driver issue, considering it works perfectly well for me with 8-7. Not a hiccup yet.

Some of the things I tried before jumping to conclusions:
I have an 800 watt psu that powerd 8800 gt sli before fine, and shouldn't have a problem with 4850 crossfire. But i still thought that might of been the issue, so I changed out the modular cables and tested them and they all worked. That was not the problem.

I followed the guide for crossfire from this very forums (which btw is a very good little guide, 11 stesp) 3 times.

Tried each card indivudally again, they both work fine and can get through 3dmark06 and ati tool for 4 mintues, I didnt see any temp problems either.

I did a few more things, can't remember, but besides the point check this out, this is when I decided to try 8-7.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=262&threadid=103028

Read this thread, I'm not alone from what it appears.
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,022
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#10
I was using 4850's in crossfire with 8.10's. The friend of mine with the DFi is using a HIS and an Asus 4850 in crossfire right now with 8.11's.

*What steps did you take as far as uninstalling/reinstalling the drivers?
 

mullered07

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#11
i have p45 and x64

as far as it being a driver issue, from what ur reporting its more than likely a conflict of x64 and certain chipsets, which doesnt place the blame solely in ati's hands, although a driver update may address the issue doesnt neccessarily mean its ati's fault
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#12
I was using 4850's in crossfire with 8.10's. The friend of mine with the DFi is using a HIS and an Asus 4850 in crossfire right now with 8.11's.

*What steps did you take as far as uninstalling/reinstalling the drivers?
I did it the correct way, Uninstallin the drivers using the CCC installer, then Uninstalling the display adapter, then using DCP to get rid of the little bits left over in safe mode.

were you using 8.10 hot fixed? Because 8.10 regular works as far as I know. It's when it gets hot fixed that the problem occurs apparently.

Why isn't it ATI's fault for not supporting common chipsets with released drivers?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,022
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#13
I don't think it has anything to do with the chipset. I always follow this method for uninstalling/reinstalling drivers: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=52502 It always has worked with any drivers. The one problem I have had was not being able to revert to 8.10's after I installed the 8.10 hotfix. I found that MS visuall C++ was the culprit in many situations.
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#14
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=51219

I followed that method word for word. 8-11 did not work 3 times, 8-7 worked the first time.

And why did you get rid of the hotfix? Was it because your 4850's were BSOD'ing you? Because I did not mean 8-10 regular, I ment hotfixed.

In any case, I still believe it was a driver issue problem and it was not my fault and that 8-11 does not work with certain setups like I put in the title.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,022
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#15
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=51219

I followed that method word for word. 8-11 did not work 3 times, 8-7 worked the first time.

And why did you get rid of the hotfix? Was it because your 4850's were BSOD'ing you? Because I did not mean 8-10 regular, I ment hotfixed.

In any case, I still believe it was a driver issue problem and it was not my fault and that 8-11 does not work with certain setups like I put in the title.
I wanted to revert back because of a game issue, though it was all not related. Never had a blue screen due to crossfire.
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#16
O.

In any case, with the 8-7 drivers I just ran through 3dmark06 with a 2,500 point increase due to my 2nd card being installed. And that is with stock clocks for EVERYTHING. Once I throw my quad back up to what it was before things should get interesting.

Oh btw, here's a pic, i broke 20 k yay!

 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#17
You havent seen my posts have you. I posted workarounds for this a while ago. The drivers will work if you just need them if you disable the second card in safe mode. Also 32bit IS effected for vista. Along with that it just seems to be 4850s in crossfire for some reason. Not effecting 4870s (have no clue why). 8.10 works, but newer dont, period.

Already checked chipset drivers, .net, C++, win updates, BIOS, CPU, PSU, connections, and a little on the sound side.

I always clean before installing and ive determined that there is nothing I can do about it to get it working erocker, I tried to post to you earlier.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=262&threadid=103028

8 pages.

Also 8.12 is the same.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#18
I mean they MIGHT be intel drivers contributing to it, but they havent updated the x38 chipset stuff since January, it sucks. (they have newer updates yes, but if you actually look at the INF, the stuff for my board is old).
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,022
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#19
Have you guys tried updating your chipset drivers with both cards in, video drivers not installed?
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#20
Yea. 30min ago. Cleaned in safe mode, then installed in windows. It wont actually do anything though since like I said, the INF for the x38 stuff is from january. So it will skip without doing anything.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#21
I can force overwrite, but again, old drivers. Intel wont update them.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,022
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#22
Tried the x48's by chance. The rampage and the maximus are really the same boards.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,209 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,800
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#23
perhaps you need to look at it from the Motherboard Perspective aswell, because in the Past with AGP i do Recall the Motherboard requiring GART in order to communicate with The Graphics Card Properly, perhaps it has came down to that with the Dual PCI E motherboards, btw Dont say no the motherboards from Intel didnt require a GART because i know the 865PE Did.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#24
Tried the x48's by chance. The rampage and the maximus are really the same boards.
You mean the bios?

Because if you mean the drivers, that doesnt really make a difference since the installer looks for things like ich9 and ich10 before installing, which is indeed the same for both boards, so no diff there.

Hell il try OLDER drivers, you never know. I mean chipset drivers, on ASUS website.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,022
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#25