1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NTLDR is missing Error

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Flava0ne, Jul 30, 2008.

  1. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    I just tried to boot up my system, but right after POST I get this NTLDR is missing Press Ctrl+Alt+Delete to restart error. Everytime I restart it keeps happening. What can I do to fix this error?
     
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    make sure raid is set in your bios and if that doesnt fix it try repairing windows. Also there is about a million topics on this... google it.

    p.s

    didnt mean for that to sound rude.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,849 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,306
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    it means its either booting from the wrong hard drive, or windows is corrupt.

    Check the boot order in the bios, and be sure the hard drives are all connected.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,560 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    N.Ireland
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,849 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,306
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    oh a cause i've seen before is bootable USB. one time i left a flash drive in my mums OEM system, and it went nuts trying to boot from it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,229 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    if not one of these solution there is other thing which is the hard disk problem, i don't remember there is a dos instruction to repair the ntldr use boot disk or cd
     
  7. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    732 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Sometimes a too aggressive overclcock can cause this as well......try running stock and see If It fixes Itself.

    Hope It Helps. :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,934 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,201
    Happened to me once. I fixed it by repairing Windows XP.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    ^Like Mussels said, USB drives or floppies can cause nightmares! Been there done that! Check for those and if no Usb's or floppies, try BP's idea^ try using the repair function.:)
     
  10. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,937 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Boot from WinXp cd and do a repair.. Experienced that when I had my Athlon XP machine oc'ed and caused some corruption... Lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,025 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,756

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)