• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NTSC console on PAL TV

Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.64/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#1
So yesterday I welcomed a Japanese Gamecube in my console family. Its been hardmodded to play US/JAP games using a switch, and with the help of Freeloader also EU games can be played.

Now, the Gamecube being Japanese, it uses NTSC, which is as we know operating at 60hz.
My TV, being European and all, is PAL, so 50hz.

Now I'm aware that just like that it doesn't work (or lead to the dreaded NTSC50). But my TV is also 60hz capable. So in theory, on a hardware level, it should work.

Well it doesn't. I used the standard Gamecube Composite cables, both on the front TV inputs and via SCART adapter on both back slots. Result is a greyscale picture when attempting to play US games. And Mariokart Double Dashs Rainbow Road looks rather not rainbow-ish in grayscale.

A solution to try would be hooking the Gamecube to the TV via S-Video (I have the proper cables). Now my TV doesn't have a native S-Video input, and I don't have an adapter.

Would this one work? Or should I not even bother.

If it wouldn't work, what other steps could one perform without actually getting a new TV?
Note that I use a tube TV for all my old consoles. Also note that I'm aware of the fact that some Gamecube games have the option to select the Hertz value on boot, but some doesn't, and I want to play all games in color, not just some.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,206 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
it wont work that way. you're changing resolution and refresh rate, so if the TV doesnt support it, no go.


you could try on a HDTV, as they're more likely to support all the standards. you're pretty much SOL if you dont want to replace the TV.
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.64/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#3
it wont work that way. you're changing resolution and refresh rate, so if the TV doesnt support it, no go.


you could try on a HDTV, as they're more likely to support all the standards. you're pretty much SOL if you dont want to replace the TV.
Yeah but as said my TV supports both 50 and 60hz. Would it still not work?

Yeah I could but that would be my last resort as I'm not to keen about playing non-HD games on a HDTV.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,206 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
no because you only support ONE of the required features. the resolution change is whats screwing you over here.
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.64/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#5
So how come the US games on my modded PAL Saturn play just fine?

This is just too complicated... also it seems that old school TVs aren't around that much anymore, who would've thought.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,892 (1.82/day)
Likes
3,286
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#6
Wii should play your Gamecube imports.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#7
If a tv supports 50/60hz it should support 576i and 480i because those are the standards for tv signal. Most tvs in Europe do and did support NTSC and PAL, im pretty sure a tv that supports PAL 60 will support NTSC resolution too. If you can let us know what resolution the Saturn is outputting at 60hz then you will know if your tv supports NTSC or is just outputting PAL 60.

I have a feeling the cable your using is the problem, do you not have any regular AV composite cables to test?

If your really hardcore you can get component cables for the Gamecube i don't think they made PAL games support 480p but some of the PAL Gamecubes do have digital out like mine, NTSC games supported 480p.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,206 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
So how come the US games on my modded PAL Saturn play just fine?

This is just too complicated... also it seems that old school TVs aren't around that much anymore, who would've thought.
theres variations, like NTSC-J


NTSC and PAL arent the only two, theres also SECAM and variations of pal/NTSC.

this is why HDTV was a big deal, it made the same standards work worldwide.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#9
theres variations, like NTSC-J


NTSC and PAL arent the only two, theres also SECAM and variations of pal/NTSC.

this is why HDTV was a big deal, it made the same standards work worldwide.
Pretty sure all PAL TVs support SECAM which is French. NTSC-M and NTSC-J have minor differences the resolution and refresh rate is the same though.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,206 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
yeah but its those minor differences that would be screwing him over, i'm not an expert in what those differences are.
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.64/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#11
Wii should play your Gamecube imports.
And my PS2 can play my Ps1 games, yet I play the latter on my PS1 ;)

If a tv supports 50/60hz it should support 576i and 480i because those are the standards for tv signal. Most tvs in Europe do and did support NTSC and PAL, im pretty sure a tv that supports PAL 60 will support NTSC resolution too. If you can let us know what resolution the Saturn is outputting at 60hz then you will know if your tv supports NTSC or is just outputting PAL 60.

I have a feeling the cable your using is the problem, do you not have any regular AV composite cables to test?

If your really hardcore you can get component cables for the Gamecube i don't think they made PAL games support 480p but some of the PAL Gamecubes do have digital out like mine, NTSC games supported 480p.
I found the manual for the TV online, it specificly says it does not support NTSC. So i don't think the cables are an issue. The Saturn is originally a PAL console so I suspect thats why it works.

theres variations, like NTSC-J


NTSC and PAL arent the only two, theres also SECAM and variations of pal/NTSC.

this is why HDTV was a big deal, it made the same standards work worldwide.
SECAM is even worse than NTSC. France and Russia use it, and a few other borderline 3rd world countries.

Pretty sure all PAL TVs support SECAM which is French. NTSC-M and NTSC-J have minor differences the resolution and refresh rate is the same though.
Yes all PAL TVs support SECAM.

yeah but its those minor differences that would be screwing him over, i'm not an expert in what those differences are.
I think the TV has to handle the different resolutions. PAL has more pixels to work with (an extra 100 lines iirc), and if a TV doesn't handle NTSC resolution, it doesn't know what to do with it.

So far on my HDTV, the Gamecube works flawlessly. And I checked some craigslist sites, seems tube TVs are more scarce than expected. I found one for the price of a loaf of bread, and it specificly handles NTSC.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#12
Okay so your Saturn is running in PAL 60 not NTSC that explains why the Gamecube wont display in NTSC. Its a Japanese Gaemcube so you can pick up Japanese component cables but might be expensive so might want to avoid.