• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

nvflashk - Flash any BIOS to NVIDIA GPUs - Safe board ID bypass up to 4xxx series

HotaruT

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2023
Messages
6 (0.04/day)
I tried flashing ASUS DUAL RTX 4060 OC with the bios from ASUS STRIX RTX 4060 OC.
Flashed fine but black screen at windows login.
Safe mode worked so managed to flash it back to default.

I sure hope there will someday be a bios editor for 40xx series since the only thing holding back this card is the power limit.
It's only hitting 140w where my old 2060 would hit over 200w.
Time Spy Graphics Score 11 198
 
D

Deleted member 182555

Guest
I tried flashing ASUS DUAL RTX 4060 OC with the bios from ASUS STRIX RTX 4060 OC.
Flashed fine but black screen at windows login.
Safe mode worked so managed to flash it back to default.

I sure hope there will someday be a bios editor for 40xx series since the only thing holding back this card is the power limit.
It's only hitting 140w where my old 2060 would hit over 200w.
Time Spy Graphics Score 11 198
Unfortunately what you wrote is completely wrong. asus 4060 dual still doesn't go up even if you raise that limit.
best case I got is a +4% by sending voltage very high and a few points on timespy gpu.
from 12200@12730... At present it's not worth it.

Furthermore, on games like CP2077 that I use to test stability of gpu, I have problems when I use path tracing + dlss + RR + frame generation. ofa makes artifacts at high speeds, I had to slow it down selectively.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

HotaruT

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2023
Messages
6 (0.04/day)
Unfortunately what you wrote is completely wrong. asus 4060 dual still doesn't go up even if you raise that limit.
best case I got is a +4% by sending voltage very high and a few points on timespy gpu.
With stock voltage i get stable +175MHZ OC with afterburner.
Raising voltage actually lowers the max OC since it's hitting the power limit earlier.
Temps stay below 70C with stock fan profile hitting maybe 65-70% fan speed.

1697444036456.png1697444593856.png

Also i'm not exactly a newbie when in comes to overclocking...
Still need to get my lazy ass moving and get back the 1. position when i feel like it. ^^
1697444810904.png
 
D

Deleted member 182555

Guest
With stock voltage i get stable +175MHZ OC with afterburner.
Raising voltage actually lowers the max OC since it's hitting the power limit earlier.
Temps stay below 70C with stock fan profile hitting maybe 65-70% fan speed.

View attachment 317702View attachment 317703

Also i'm not exactly a newbie when in comes to overclocking...
Still need to get my lazy ass moving and get back the 1. position when i feel like it. ^^
View attachment 317705
since you put 3dmark go to hwbot and see who has the record in timespy gpu with asus dual 4060 oc....
 

HotaruT

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2023
Messages
6 (0.04/day)
since you put 3dmark go to hwbot and see who has the record in timespy gpu with asus dual 4060 oc....
Will that help me getting past/raise the power limit? And no, not ready to do a shunt mod.
But your comment was really unhelpful. Thank you for that. ^^
 
D

Deleted member 182555

Guest
Will that help me getting past/raise the power limit? And no, not ready to do a shunt mod.
But your comment was really unhelpful. Thank you for that. ^^
do this shuntmod I'm really curious to see how you do it...

Will that help me getting past/raise the power limit? And no, not ready to do a shunt mod.
But your comment was really unhelpful. Thank you for that. ^^
sorry but I think I have given you all interesting information, that just raising the tdp doesn't solve anything, that Ofa causes artifacts at high frequencies, that there are stability problems when you use rtcore+tensorcore+ofa+alu gpu at the same time, that voltage is needed, mine was running at 1.125v. Even altering power sensors reading does nothing (soft shunt mod). draw conclusions...
 

pawelnrg

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2023
Messages
15 (0.12/day)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Mobile. Is it possible with this program to lower the frequencies or TPD? I need to do an underclocking on this card in order to use it in HP 8770 and Zbook G2 laptops (TPD max 100W). Burn-in test Temperature 70oC hot spot 81 oC. Unfortunately at 120W it does not work stably.
PS. i don't know if i should start a new topic or ask here?
 

Patomosm

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2023
Messages
3 (0.03/day)
"FLASH ANY BIOS" Does not work for RTX 3080 ti fe (GA102-255-A1)

C:\nvflash>nvflashk -6 01_NVIDIA.RTX3080Ti.12288.210326.rom
nvflashk pre-release
github.com/notfromstatefarm/nvflashk - Safer GUI version with autorecovery coming by September!

Checking for matches between display adapter(s) and image(s)...

Adapter not accessible or supported EEPROM not found, skipping

NOTE: Exception caught.

Results:
Index | Match | Flash | Name
<00> Graphics Device (10DE,2208,0000,0000) S:00, B:01
Nothing changed!

ERROR: Detecting GPU failed.

Anyone can explain and help?

Any hint about where to expect a bios editor for RTX 3000?

Thanks !
I only know "HxD Hex Editor", but it is not what you're needing for, I suppose.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
I'm pretty sure that you can simulate the presence of a fake monitor with modified edid CRU + regedit, it didn't work because it wasn't done on the correct video output... if you're not in a hurry I'll check it for you tomorrow otherwise you can try it by modifying it manually with regedit...
You would be a lifesavior!
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2020
Messages
192 (0.16/day)
System Name PowerSpec 1720 (Clevo PB70EF-G)
Processor i7-8750H (UV)
Motherboard PB70EF-G
Cooling SYY 157
Memory 32GB 3000MHz 16-18-18-36 1T (OC)
Video Card(s) 115W RTX 2070 8GB GDDR6 (OC/UV)
Storage 500GB WD Black SN700 NVME, 1TB Samsung 980
Display(s) 144Hz G-Sync 17.3" IPS
Case PowerSpec
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Pro-Gaming X
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Redragon K556/DITI K585
Software M$ Windows 10 Pro, Throttle Stop 9.5, MSi Afterburner, ParkControl
Benchmark Scores CB R23 - 8173/1105, CB R20 - 3172, Fire Strike - 18140, Time Spy - 8287
I have tried 2-3 BIOS on my MSi Ventus 4070 3X OC which uses an 8-pin power connection.

All these other BIOS are for higher wattage 16-pin 4070 cards. They all flashed and worked, drew higher wattage and completed all benchmarks.

But the performance was significantly worse than stock BIOS. 2-3K off each 3DMark score easily.

Oddly, Cinebench24 3D Score was a tad higher.

Anyone have any theories? I am back on factory BIOS, capped to 200W, and it outperforms all these higher TDP BIOS I've tried.

Anyone else try cards BIOS with different power delivery?
 
D

Deleted member 182555

Guest
I have tried 2-3 BIOS on my MSi Ventus 4070 3X OC which uses an 8-pin power connection.

All these other BIOS are for higher wattage 16-pin 4070 cards. They all flashed and worked, drew higher wattage and completed all benchmarks.

But the performance was significantly worse than stock BIOS. 2-3K off each 3DMark score easily.

Oddly, Cinebench24 3D Score was a tad higher.

Anyone have any theories? I am back on factory BIOS, capped to 200W, and it outperforms all these higher TDP BIOS I've tried.

Anyone else try cards BIOS with different power delivery?
have you checked difference between nominal and effective clock? you can see it with both rtss and hwinfo64. did you check if the gpu was throttling?
Without even checking, I'm already sure that the GPUs have a very different power supply stage and that there are obvious differences in bios, it's not a question of TDP limit.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Vitalii89

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2023
Messages
11 (0.06/day)
Been waiting for it for a long time, seems like a hoax to me.
Why so?

The flasher is legit, been flashing my own GPU, it's just that the other bios didn't did the trick for me, so I guess in my case I only need to modify my own to satisfy my needs.
 

HotaruT

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2023
Messages
6 (0.04/day)

HotaruT

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2023
Messages
6 (0.04/day)
You can still use the command line version of it really.
I did. Result was a black screen and needed to go to safe mode to revert the original firmware.
The promise of the GUI looks tempting and easier to solve possible compatibility problems then just taking a random, closest firmware and uploading it just by console.
 
Top