• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Nvidia 1070 fans seem to max out when gaming

Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
76 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Omega
Processor AMD FX-6300 Vishera 32nm Technology
Motherboard AMD 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Air
Memory 16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 937MHz (9-10-9-27)
Video Card(s) 4096MB ATI AMD Radeon R9 200 Series (Gigabyte)
Storage 238GB Samsung SSD 840 PRO Series (SSD)
Display(s) VX238 (1920x1080@60Hz)
Case Rosewill Thor
#1
ok so my brand new 1070 that's not even a month old is acting a bit strange. ever since installed asus gpu tweak the fan when i enter a game dials it up to 11 and won't stop till i reboot or shut down. i've long since uninstalled GPU tweak but the issue persists. i tried uninstalling the drivers then reinstalling them but that did nothing. though it's fine when i'm NOT gaming but what good does that do me lol. and the game doesn't seem to matter. Diablo 3 does it (which btw a 10 year old pc could almost run that game) and so does wolfenstein the new order and Battlefield 4. i haven't tried any other games but i think it's safe to assume the result will be the same. i'll check a few more games to be sure though. but in the mean time anyone know a fix? this is my card btw:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx…
i've googled the issue and couldn't get a clear answer
any help would be appreciated.
my other specs are:
AMD Ryzen 5 1600
750w psu
GIGABYTE GA-AB350-GAMING 3
Corsair Vengence 16gb ddr4 2666mhz
2x 256gb sdd
4x 3tb hdd
thanks in advance
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
Reinstall program, set defaults on it, remove program, install afterburner, use open hardware monitor overlay for temperature sensing in game
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
76 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Omega
Processor AMD FX-6300 Vishera 32nm Technology
Motherboard AMD 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Air
Memory 16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 937MHz (9-10-9-27)
Video Card(s) 4096MB ATI AMD Radeon R9 200 Series (Gigabyte)
Storage 238GB Samsung SSD 840 PRO Series (SSD)
Display(s) VX238 (1920x1080@60Hz)
Case Rosewill Thor
#3
hmm ok thanks i'll try that
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
Report your ingame temperature and fan speeds back here with a screenshot, Milan game with open hardware monitor overlay enabled you can just hit print screen and then save it as a JPEG file and upload it here
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
562 (0.17/day)
Likes
533
System Name Artas1984
Processor Intel Core i7 5775C
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 2X8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz CL8
Storage Samsung Evo 850 M.2 500 GB & Western Digital Gold 8 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Keyboard Aula SI-859
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 BIT
#5
That is the exact same Asus GTX1070 Strix i tested vs. RX Vega 56, and there is no way the fans max out... No way! And GPU Tweak II was installed when i tested it!

When at full power, the fans would spin up to 40 % at maximum if left untweaked. 30 % would be the most common spin.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
76 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Omega
Processor AMD FX-6300 Vishera 32nm Technology
Motherboard AMD 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Air
Memory 16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 937MHz (9-10-9-27)
Video Card(s) 4096MB ATI AMD Radeon R9 200 Series (Gigabyte)
Storage 238GB Samsung SSD 840 PRO Series (SSD)
Display(s) VX238 (1920x1080@60Hz)
Case Rosewill Thor
#6
That is the exact same Asus GTX1070 Strix i tested vs. RX Vega 56, and there is no way the fans max out... No way! And GPU Tweak II was installed when i tested it!

When at full power, the fans would spin up to 40 % at maximum if left untweaked. 30 % would be the most common spin.
ok maybe not maxed out but they're spinning awfully fast and loud regardless of the game just about.
strange thing is, Open hardware monitor says the fans are at 0 rpm. that's not even REMOTELY the case. i'm in a game right now and they're being quite loud
so now i have a question. could this potentially cause my gpu to wear out faster? if so i'll totally rma it. it'll suck but i thankfully have a back up GPU i can use in the mean time. (an old amd 7800)
but if not... i'll likely just live with it if it will cause no issues
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
76 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Omega
Processor AMD FX-6300 Vishera 32nm Technology
Motherboard AMD 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Air
Memory 16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 937MHz (9-10-9-27)
Video Card(s) 4096MB ATI AMD Radeon R9 200 Series (Gigabyte)
Storage 238GB Samsung SSD 840 PRO Series (SSD)
Display(s) VX238 (1920x1080@60Hz)
Case Rosewill Thor
#7
Report your ingame temperature and fan speeds back here with a screenshot, Milan game with open hardware monitor overlay enabled you can just hit print screen and then save it as a JPEG file and upload it here
i installed OHM and can't seem to find an option for the in game overlay. tried msi afterburner and could only get gpu % (whatever the hell that is)
also sorry for the late reply, been busy
EDIT: never mind i think i got it
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,193 (0.83/day)
Likes
633
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | MSI nVIDIA Vanta 16MB
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#8
My card is having the same issue. I didn't configure it with any software before this started, so it's not due to your tinkering. This has been reported on and off since the card launched, as far as I can tell. I'm guessing a recent driver set it off for me and I will have to wait for nVIDIA to fix it in a future release.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
76 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Omega
Processor AMD FX-6300 Vishera 32nm Technology
Motherboard AMD 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Air
Memory 16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 937MHz (9-10-9-27)
Video Card(s) 4096MB ATI AMD Radeon R9 200 Series (Gigabyte)
Storage 238GB Samsung SSD 840 PRO Series (SSD)
Display(s) VX238 (1920x1080@60Hz)
Case Rosewill Thor
#9
My card is having the same issue. I didn't configure it with any software before this started, so it's not due to your tinkering. This has been reported on and off since the card launched, as far as I can tell. I'm guessing a recent driver set it off for me and I will have to wait for nVIDIA to fix it in a future release.
well then i'll wait a bit before deciding to RMA it. if it's a driver issue then there's not much i can do. unless there's a place i can download older drivers just to test?
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
76 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
System Name Omega
Processor AMD FX-6300 Vishera 32nm Technology
Motherboard AMD 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Air
Memory 16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 937MHz (9-10-9-27)
Video Card(s) 4096MB ATI AMD Radeon R9 200 Series (Gigabyte)
Storage 238GB Samsung SSD 840 PRO Series (SSD)
Display(s) VX238 (1920x1080@60Hz)
Case Rosewill Thor
#10
OK! i fixed the issue! the reason my fans we're acting up was cause i need to redo my cable management X_X
yes. that's right. some cables were caught in one of the fans -_- but everything is fine now.
sigh. i need to be more careful >.<
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#11
OK! i fixed the issue! the reason my fans we're acting up was cause i need to redo my cable management X_X
yes. that's right. some cables were caught in one of the fans -_- but everything is fine now.
sigh. i need to be more careful >.<
Yeah take your time lol