• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Nvidia cards with different idle/3d clocks?

Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
879 (0.18/day)
Likes
167
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#1
besides the gtx260,275, 280 and 285, what other nvidia cards have a power saving mode.

my old 8800gts didnt, my 9400 doesnt, what others ones do. I checked out a gts250 with nibitor but it said it didnt recognized the bios.

I like my gtx260 and all but its overkill for physx. I have edited the bios to be less of a power hog in idle mode but I think I might down grade. If I do downgrade I would prefer a card with bios triggered power saving mode.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#2
The 9800GT does if I remember right, used to fold with one. 99% sure the 9800GTX+ I had did it too.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
879 (0.18/day)
Likes
167
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#3
when I go to edit a bios with nibitor its only showing one voltage and one set of clock rates. is it a special bios that does it.

Ive got the idle on this gtx260 at an awesome setting.

Extra = 650/1400/1150 @ 1.15v
3d = 200/500/100 @ .95v
2d = 200/500/100 @ .95

now at idle it sits at 7.26amps and load(physx) its at 24amps
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.55/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#4
The 9800GTX+ I just sold had it, my 8600GT doesn't.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
I don't think it's worth it. You're better off getting a lower end card. It will cost you less money to buy, and the monster cards will probably use more power than the lower end cards even though the monster cards have idle clocks and the lower end cards don't. Get yourself like a 9500gt—it doesn't even have an external power connector. It just plugs in, no wire management to do, nothing.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
879 (0.18/day)
Likes
167
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#6
I would really rather have the 8800gts 320mb again. that was a great physx card, it just wasnt very power efficient. 9500 is just alittle too low end for physx imo.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#7
Really? 32 shaders, 256mb memory on the 128-bit bus seems fine to me for physx processing
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
879 (0.18/day)
Likes
167
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#8
well the main thing I play with physx right now is batman. they recommend a 9800 I think for full fledge physx. a 9600gt would probly be good but its for me its not about being good enough, I want more then enough.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
731 (0.22/day)
Likes
102
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.2 GHz Quad-core Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M Z77
Cooling ID-COOLING IS-50 TDP 130W
Memory Kingston HyperX Genesis 2x4 GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 AMP Edition (ZT-P10700C-10P)
Storage WD SiliconEdge Blue 64 GB SSD, Kingston SSDNow! 240 GB SSD, WD RE4 1 TB HDD
Display(s) LN-T4065F FullHD LCD TV
Power Supply Raidmax RX-1000AE 1000W 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury FPS Gaming Mouse (Defective MOUSE3)
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#10
I have a question about this. Is it possible to add 2D/3D clocks and voltage to a reference 8800 GTS 512 by modifying the BIOS?

I know that MSI Afterburner allows me to do this with the 2D clocks, but what about through BIOS modification?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
879 (0.18/day)
Likes
167
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#11
ive tried it and it didnt work with my old 8800gts 320mb. not sure when they emplimented it. I would like to do it to my 9400gt but not sure if ill mess something up.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,055 (0.33/day)
Likes
600
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
#12
9500gt is plenty for physx. I used an 8500gt and it ran every benchmark perfectly. Havent tried batman on it, but the physx is nowhere near as intensive as actual graphics. Go low end. That 9400 may even be enough.