1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Designs New GTX 460 SE Variant with 288 CUDA Cores, 256-bit Memory

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 5, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,413 (9.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,019
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    NVIDIA is designing a new variant of its GeForce GTX 460 graphics processor, the GeForce GTX 460 SE. Based on the 40 nm GF104 silicon, it's positioned below the GTX 460 768 MB. It has 288 CUDA cores (6/8 streaming multiprocessors enabled, compared to 7/8 on the other GTX 460 variants), but uses the complete 256-bit wide memory interface, with GDDR5 memory. The GPU and memory are clocked at 650/1300 MHz DDR, compared to 670/1350 MHz DDR on the other GTX 460 variants. No information regarding pricing/availability is available.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Heise
     
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    whats it competing with?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,778 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    609
    you know i don't even know why they would make something like this it, seeing as it has 256bit it should have 32 rops and be in between the GTX460 192bit and the GTX460 256 336sp
     
  4. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,880 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,141
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    Like to see the pricing. Seems like it might be better to pick up something like this over the GTS 450 if the price difference is small.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. afw

    afw

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    644 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    It would be better if they release this needing only 1 x 6-pin power connector ... even Galaxy came up with a single 6-pin GTX 460 IIRC .. so why need 2 connectors for this which has less cores ... and lower clock speeds ... :shadedshu
     
  6. Cpt.Derrek

    Cpt.Derrek New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Hmm seems like just a way to use up lesser binned GF104 GPUs to me. I don't like how Nvidia has now 3 different GTX 460s all with different performance levels. :wtf:
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  7. alwayssts

    alwayssts

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    535 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    A quick number crunch puts it somewhere around 90% the speed of a GTX460 768MB...IE exactly what the 768MB is to the 1GB on average. It's closest competition would be the 5830 which is EOL and has no replacement in sight. In essence, this could be a smart call for nVIDIA if priced right because it will be essentially what everyone wanted from a 5830 but it failed to deliver because of how much it was maimed; A product that bridges the gap between 5770/5850 and overclocks to the next segment. This almost certainly will accomplish that (~6850 performance?).

    Short answer: Faster product than 5770, cheaper than 6850...A viable 460 768MB replacement that may be priced less so nVIDIA can rid themselves of this special combo of all working ROPs and two faulty shader cores.

    A much easier way to explain projected relative stock performance almost to the letter:

    GTX 260 216 ~ 460 SE
    GTX 275/280 ~ 460 768MB
    GTX 285 ~ 460 1GB
     
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,573 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    now they're just taunting us... they must be saving up all of the top binning GF104's for something grand.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. motasim

    motasim

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Mostar, Bosnia & Herzegovina
    ... I hope that they'll release this "grand"something soon, otherwise it's going to be too late ...
     
  10. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    Location:
    Singapore
    ..aand this little piggy is confused. :eek:
     
  11. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    We've been expecting them to release GF104 variants with more unlocked cores, not the other way around..

    Are yields worse than we though?
     
  12. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6,107 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,268
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Umm... Not sure about that one.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/HIS/Radeon_HD_6850/28.html

    GTX 460 768 is 91% (all res summary) of 6850, so this at 90% (your workings) of a 768mb 460 would be ~80% performance of a 6850.

    I think it's suicide for the 450's. The 6850 and the 768mb 460 trade blows well enough.
     
  13. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    Location:
    Singapore
    I have to agree, it looks more like a competitor for the hd5770
     
  14. Atom_Anti

    Atom_Anti New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Captiva Isaland, Florida USA
    Yeah:D, however the new SE variant with 1GB memory going to be more popular than the predecessor. Most of consumer cares about the memory size and 1GB sounds better than 768MB;). Consumers might also thinks SE means Special or Second and not Shit Edition. Nvidia should include SE = Shit Edition with small characters on the bottom of the box:D.
     
    DaMulta says thanks.
  15. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    576 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    Latvia
    I'm allergic to SE edition cards. Last time I bought one "Special Edition",
    it was Radeon 9600 SE AGP With disabled half of display pipelines and half of Default memory bus. :cry: No more "SE" for me.:laugh:
     
    Completely Bonkers says thanks.
  16. DarthCyclonis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    69 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Both AMD and Nvidia should label cards like this as CE (Crippled Edition) not SE. Or even call it the GTX 455. This is just going to confuse every day consumers and have them spending money on what they believe is a full version of the 460. I'm sure this is what the N team wants but it is not right.
     
  17. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6,107 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,268
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    The price diff in the UK is also only about £25 between a 450 and a 460. Doesn't seem to make much sense at all.
     
  18. Ren7on

    Ren7on New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Monte Grande, Buenos Aires, Argentina
    This is what the GTS 450 never be.
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,769 (5.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,901
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    I think this is a smart move considering how memory limitted the GTX460 768MB becomes in some games, even at 1080p resolution.

    I guess nVidia needs some way to get rid of the super defective GF104 cores.:D I'd prefer they release a GTX460 384SP version myself though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,509 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,292
    460 GTX SE is Nvidia's I-need-more-attention edition card.
     
    afw says thanks.
  21. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    Location:
    Singapore
    I can bet a shinny penny that those cores are not defective but cut on purpose. and 768mb is plenty for 19x12. You'd reach the card's fillrate limit long before you run out of memory imo. I think that this was a bad marketing move. If they needed to fill a price gap, an overclocked GF106 core would have been cheaper and more effective than this. I guess there was an over-supply of GF104 cores?
     
  22. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,573 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    exactly, theres still 8 rops and 64-bit of the memory bus waiting on the GF106 core, which IMO would make it quite beastly given the clock speeds it's capable of.

    commmme onnnnnn 384 sp's.... dual gpu... something!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    wow, sub $200 card will be cramped with this card, but if it means lower price, i'm all for it
     
  24. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,020
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Sounds like a model for OEM builders. They get to advertise a Special Edition with 1GB and 256bits, while quietly ignoring the rest of the specs. Like HD's that look like the retail model, but with half or quarter the cache.
     
    Completely Bonkers says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,769 (5.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,901
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Normally I would agree, but I don't know here. I think some might still be functional units, but I'm betting there was a good batch or two that had enough failed SPs that releasing this SKU was the only way to use them.

    Ask erocker about his success running Dirt2 at 1920x1200 with GTX460 768MB cards in SLi. The cards hit the memory barrier. And I know Metro cranked up exceeds 768MB also.

    Or an oversupply of defective GF104 cores.;)

    Though a better fill for this price point would have been a 192-bit GF106, IMO.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)