• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

NVIDIA GeForce 290.36 Beta Drivers Released

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,555 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#1
The latest beta drivers and the first in the 290 series have been released by NVIDIA today, supporting all graphics cards since the venerable 6-series. Their main new feature are official support for enabling ambient occlusion settings in the control panel separately for specific games and enabling NVIDIA Surround on the new X79 SLI-certified motherboards. Ambient occlusion (AO) is settable for uber-popular games The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim and Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3. So, what does AO do? We'll let Andrew Burns of NVIDIA explain:
If you're unfamiliar with Ambient Occlusion, it is most easily described as a way to make in-game shadowing more realistic, and therefore better.
What he doesn't say of course, is how it kills your frame rate, especially on lower end hardware. Anyway, there's all the usual goodies in this release: 3D Vision game profiles for games such as MW3, Diablo 3 & LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7 (yes really). There's a HD audio update and nine fixes too, including one for random flickering of the Windows boot logo as it's loading or fading away and a fix for the mouse cursor flickering and shaking in games such as Crysis 2 & Deus Ex when SLI is enabled when using 3DTV Play. The NVIDIA product release page is here and they have a snazzy-looking driver selector here. The release notes follow.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,698 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#2
i wonder of AO in skyrim performs just the same when its forced compared to older drivers?
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#3
I think performance is the same. I switched it from quality to high quality and it was the same outside but I took a few fps hit inside.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#4
I updated to these, and after the initial restart, my display FREAKED out. It was displaying fuzzy vertical bars which were half my actual screen and half colorful patterns. It was impossible to tell what I was doing, but I managed to restart it, and it looks fine now. Just figured I'd post in case anybody else has the same issue. Running my spec'd rig through a Displayport cable.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
Increasing a graphics setting hurts framerates, especially on low end hardware! OMG, to the Romero copter!
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
559 (0.24/day)
Likes
22
Location
Islamabad
System Name Hhumas-PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Extreme CPU X9650 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS 9700 NT 110mm 2 Ball Ultra Quiet
Memory OCZ Platinium 2x2GB
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit GDDR5
Storage WD Green 500 GB , WD 500 GB
Display(s) Dell U2410F
Case Casecom
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit
#6
wow i am going to try my evga 9800gx2 with this driver .... I hope it works
 
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
#7
How do I make it find Skyrim after I install this driver so that I can force AO through the Control Panel?
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2008
Messages
522 (0.15/day)
Likes
203
#8
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
#9
Thank You.

I had to uncheck the box for the "Show only programs found on this computer." I do not know why I have to do that, since I do have Skyrim installed :confused:
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
93
Location
Finland
System Name I can't believe I bought that / HTPC
Processor i5-750 @ 3.5GHz 1.27v / P II 705e @ stock
Motherboard Asus P7P55D-E Evo / Asus M4A785D-M PRO
Cooling Corsair H100i / Air
Memory 4x2 Geil DDR3-2133 @ 1755 / 2x2 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660 TI / Asus HD6670
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB + Spinpoint F1 750GB / Crucial m4 128GB + WD Green 1TB
Display(s) HP w2408h / Samsung 55" HDTV
Case CM 690 II Advanced / Silverstone GD02
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair AX850 / OCZ ModXstream 500W
Software Win 7 / Win 7
#10
I clean installed these yesterday and after enabling SLI my screen went blank. The display kept trying to power up but didn't find a signal. Had to uninstall them in safe mode to fix it. Latest whql's work just fine.
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,435 (2.31/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#11
I had a bsod after trying to enable SLI:( Was forced to re-install windows...
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
93
Location
Finland
System Name I can't believe I bought that / HTPC
Processor i5-750 @ 3.5GHz 1.27v / P II 705e @ stock
Motherboard Asus P7P55D-E Evo / Asus M4A785D-M PRO
Cooling Corsair H100i / Air
Memory 4x2 Geil DDR3-2133 @ 1755 / 2x2 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660 TI / Asus HD6670
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB + Spinpoint F1 750GB / Crucial m4 128GB + WD Green 1TB
Display(s) HP w2408h / Samsung 55" HDTV
Case CM 690 II Advanced / Silverstone GD02
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair AX850 / OCZ ModXstream 500W
Software Win 7 / Win 7
#12
I had a bsod after trying to enable SLI:( Was forced to re-install windows...
Seriously? :twitch: Usually these can be fixed in safe mode, but you had some seriously bad luck. Sometimes the Betas are just fine, but seems like this one isn't one of those.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#14
Well, managed to install these, and enable sli. Except, my sli profiles got wiped out, and it won't let me re-add a bunch. Did some research around the net, and it seems I'm not the only one. Bad drivers! Rolling back.....