• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nvidia Geforce go 7600 driver issues

mrsavo

New Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi all,

I recently installed an update to my Nvidia Geforce Go7600 graphics card (automatically through windows, i might add!!) and since this update, my laptop hasn't worked properly.

If i uninstall the driver, i am forced to revert back to the standard VGA graphics card, which isn't very good, and lots of videos/movies won't work, and the basic screen resolution is very poor....compared to what i'm used to.

I am desparate to find out what the problem is. How do i find out if my Nvidia Graphics card is stuffed?? and if it is, is it possible to replace it??

As part of trying to fix this problem, i upgraded to Windows 7. It was only by doing this, did i find out what the problem was!!

I've tried loads of different driver releases, including the version 179.48 from Nvidia's website, but no joy.

My laptop is a HP dv9288ea.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,203 (0.83/day)
Likes
641
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | 3dfx Voodoo3 3000
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#2

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#3
Is it 32-bit or 64-bit Windows?

32-bit:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...3&product=3357934&sw_lang=&key=null&site=null

64-bit:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...dlc=en&cc=uk&os=2100&product=3357934&sw_lang=

These are for Windows Vista, but should work on 7 no problem. Though you may need to set compatibility mode.
As red machine instructed, use the drivers from the HP website and those should work fine. Most of the older laptop cards (ATI and Nvidia) have no more driver support so its just best to stick with what works from the factory
 

mrsavo

New Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Hello guys. Its 64-bit, and i've just tried the driver as suggested by Red_Machine, but no joy. The HP logo appears on screen, then the micorsoft corporation text and green loading bar etc appears, then small horizontal lines appear across the screen for about 2-3 seconds. After that..nothing! The screen is just black.

The only way to get out of this is to hold down on/off button, fire it up in safe mode and revert back to previous driver, in this case the standard VGA graphics card kicks in.

Like i said, the laptop works fine, except for the graphics looking very poor. Photos look rubbish etc etc.

I've literally tried 15-20 different drivers from HP website and Nvidia. I also reverted back to Vista because HP don't support drivers for win7 yet.

Does anybody know if its possible to replace the graphics card? and if so it is easy? I imagine it to be a complete pig of a job, but hey, if it saves my laptop then ill give it a go.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts/comments.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,203 (0.83/day)
Likes
641
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | 3dfx Voodoo3 3000
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#5
Well, maybe you should try going back to Vista? Your HP should have a recovery partition you can invoke in order to restore to factory settings.
 

mrsavo

New Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
thanks for the swift reply, but have tried all of that. The HP recovery doesn't do anything different, and yeah already reverted back to Vista.

Is it possible to replace the graphics card?
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,203 (0.83/day)
Likes
641
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | 3dfx Voodoo3 3000
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#7
Unfortunately no. Even if after a recovery reinstall with HP drivers loaded, your GPU is most likely borked. Not a lot you can do with that, I'm afraid.
 

mrsavo

New Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
ok mate thanks for your help.

FYI I've also just ran a little bit of software recommended to me called GPU-Z v0.5.1 and it lists everything related to my graphics card.
It lists the standard VGA graphics and everything to do with this, but there is no mention of the Nvidia Geforce card at all. Don't know what this means, but me being the ever optimist, hopes that the Nvidia card is running separately, and therefore a separete entity?? Don't know??

Thanks for your help.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,203 (0.83/day)
Likes
641
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | 3dfx Voodoo3 3000
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#9
GPU-Z, as far as I know, reads all it's information from the driver. Seeing as you only have the basic VGA Graphics Adapter driver installed, it won't give you any info.

If you're on Vista again, I would try that HP driver I listed again. Ensure that your OS is 64-bit before downloading the 64-bit driver. A lot of people assume their OS is 64-bit just because their CPU is, which is not the case.
 

imemine

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#10
I am having the same problem but my laptop is a Toshiba satellite p105 s6227 with the nvidia go7600. I've reinstalled vista, winxp and win7 and the only thing I can get to work is the standard vga driver. It stopped working since I did an upgrade. I was trying to use this laptop to attach to my tv so I could watch videos and movies through it but the standard vga driver doesn't allow me to have an external monitor. I've installed and uninstalled and nothing seems to work. any help will be greatlly appreciated.

M
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#11
I am having the same problem but my laptop is a Toshiba satellite p105 s6227 with the nvidia go7600. I've reinstalled vista, winxp and win7 and the only thing I can get to work is the standard vga driver. It stopped working since I did an upgrade. I was trying to use this laptop to attach to my tv so I could watch videos and movies through it but the standard vga driver doesn't allow me to have an external monitor. I've installed and uninstalled and nothing seems to work. any help will be greatlly appreciated.

M
Hi

What? "It stopped working since I did an upgrade" what did you try and upgrade?

Your notebook is Vista 32-bit compatible

Make sure you uninstall any video / vga drivers from control panel / add and remove programs before installing the drivers below

This is the first release driver nVidia Display Driver for Windows Vista(v9.7.5.4; 01-05-2007; 50.95M) for your notebook http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/tais/support/jsp/modelContent.jsp? go to the download section (Try these first)


Make sure the BIOS on your notebook is V4.20 or higher before running the driver from the Tohsiba web sight and that you have Vista 32-Bit home premium installed

ONLY use these as a last resort and DO NOT use these without an updated Bios v4.20 or higher http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/tais/support/jsp/modelContent.jsp?

you require NVIDIA Display Driver for Vista V7.15.11.5666(v7.15.11.5666; 12-14-2007; 54.88M)

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

imemine

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#12
It started when I did the updates from windows update and it loaded the nvidia for the 7600
works fine with the generic simple driver.
I even installed vista from the recovery cd's, I've tried it with xp and also win7.

Ok, the bios is 3.3 n here. Let me reinstall vista. I need to update the bios first

I'll print out your message and do it step by step

give me a few hours and Ill let you know how it goes.

thank you.
m
 

imemine

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#13
I installed the bios.
then I tried the first set of nvidia drivers. screen flickered and then went black
booted to safemode, I uninstalled that set but couldn't get back to the generic
monitor driver, so I went back into safemode and installed the second set you suggested and
same thing happened.

ended up with black screen. I cannot rollback the driver to the generic

so now I will have to install vista again to get the nvidia

i'm at my wits end.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
i'm thinking the video card is stuffed, to be honest.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#16
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#17
It started when I did the updates from windows update and it loaded the nvidia for the 7600
works fine with the generic simple driver.
I even installed vista from the recovery cd's, I've tried it with xp and also win7.

Ok, the bios is 3.3 n here. Let me reinstall vista. I need to update the bios first

I'll print out your message and do it step by step

give me a few hours and Ill let you know how it goes.

thank you.
m
Hi

I take it from this that you did not read the driver page at Toshiba's www as in my original mail. If you were using bios 3.3 you should have used the "first" driver....
You jumped the gun
as you have now used the updated bios you must use the second driver and not the first one.

to remove the dirvers that are installed:

Go into safe mode; open up add and remove programs and uninstall any Nvidia driver from there First

and Second
while in safe mode; open up control pannel / divice manager / highlight your display adaptor / press your right hand mouse button; menu will appear (use uninstall)

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

imemine

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#18
No I didn't jump the gun. Prior to writing to this board and updating the bios, I had reinstalled from the original disks all the software, then I had tried the drivers from the toshiba site. I had tried an upgrade with win 7. I had tried a downgrade with winxp. with all the appropriate drivers from the original disks to the toshiba site.
Then I wrote to this site and got your info. upgraded the bios, then tried the other drivers.

All the nvidia drives cause the card to blink and then a black screen.
As I am searching the internet I see that there are many people with the exact same problem that I am having.

So now I have the new bios loaded and I recently just reinstalled vista. I have the generic driver working. Today I'm going to do all the vista updates today except for the Nvidia graphics card driver.

I don't think it will ever work correcly and I guess you can't change the graphics card. Its a shame it can't be fixed, everything else works just fine. What a waste of products.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#19
No I didn't jump the gun. Prior to writing to this board and updating the bios, I had reinstalled from the original disks all the software, then I had tried the drivers from the toshiba site. I had tried an upgrade with win 7. I had tried a downgrade with winxp. with all the appropriate drivers from the original disks to the toshiba site.
Then I wrote to this site and got your info. upgraded the bios, then tried the other drivers.

All the nvidia drives cause the card to blink and then a black screen.
As I am searching the internet I see that there are many people with the exact same problem that I am having.

So now I have the new bios loaded and I recently just reinstalled vista. I have the generic driver working. Today I'm going to do all the vista updates today except for the Nvidia graphics card driver.

I don't think it will ever work correcly and I guess you can't change the graphics card. Its a shame it can't be fixed, everything else works just fine. What a waste of products.

Hi

my apologies; re jumping the gun

nb: have you tried to force the dirver through Device Manager / highlighting the standard vga driver and then forcing a driver update the old fashioned way. unpack the Nvidia drivers to a folder and then choose that folder to update from.

best of luck

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
609 (0.13/day)
Likes
76
Location
London, UK
System Name this_is_so_leet_it_needs_no_name
Processor Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8 P67-M Pro
Cooling MUX-120 with Dual Fan
Memory Samsung Memory DDR3 2133 Overclocked (non LP)
Video Card(s) XFX ATI/AMD 5870 1gb @ [tbc]
Storage 2*2tb Samsung Raid 0 + 64gb Kingston SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL LED monitor
Case Lian Li PC-60 old skool alu case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD PCI-Express (great)
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Win 7 64bit
#20
Seriously, a windows update driver update is breaking laptop GPUs? Not good.
 

imemine

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#21
Yes I did do a manual installof drivers and still the same thing.

I was wondering if a generic driver would work, not just the standard but maybe something with more optionsm if one even exists. I only want to use this to play movies and stuff on my tv. So all I need it to do is be able to connect a external monitor. I don't need the full power of the graphics card, or 3d junk. It works with standard generic driver.

Why so many laptops with this problem?

thanks again everyone.

M
 

imemine

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#22
Can you believe video card works with Ubuntu

I decided to run a test on this toshiba laptop so I fully installed ubuntu.

I did all the tests including connecting an svideo cable (which is how I have my tv plugged into the laptop).

Guess what guys? I now have video running through my laptop to my tv and with the test ubuntu did on the video card, it all works. I never installed nvidia, I just let the OS put on what it wanted. Now it works. Can you believe that?

So it must be the updates and not the graphics card?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#23
I decided to run a test on this toshiba laptop so I fully installed ubuntu.

I did all the tests including connecting an svideo cable (which is how I have my tv plugged into the laptop).

Guess what guys? I now have video running through my laptop to my tv and with the test ubuntu did on the video card, it all works. I never installed nvidia, I just let the OS put on what it wanted. Now it works. Can you believe that?

So it must be the updates and not the graphics card?
Hi

I am so glad you have been able to get up and running, strange solution but great that it works for you.

atb

Law-II