• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

nVidia GTX 465 flashing to GTX 470: Fact or Fantasy?

Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,782 (4.37/day)
A GTX460 1GB and a GTX465 are equal performance wise, but the GTX465 consumes more power. The GTX465 is better than a GTX460 768MB since the disabled ROPS really hurt the GTX460's performance, not to mention dropping below 1GB of memory actually does have an effect on certain current games.



The GTX560 just barely beats it, and again that is because nVidia went way conservative with the first fermi clock speeds. I haven't seen a GTX470 yet that couldn't do 800MHz/1000MHz, and at 800MHz/1000MHz, a GTX470 beats any overclocked GTX560.
Like I said, you have to overclock the 560 to be fair. And we arent talking about Nvidia's marketing strategy on reference clocks here bro. Beats it plenty, 5% or more in all tests. And it overclocks pretty darn well too... Soooooooo yeah. It beats it, period. ;)

With the facts straight, the only question here is if that $50 is worth it to the buyer. ;)
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,580 (5.20/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Like I said, you have to overclock the 560 to be fair. And we arent talking about Nvidia's marketing strategy on reference clocks here bro. Beats it plenty, 5% or more in all tests. And it overclocks pretty darn well too... Soooooooo yeah. It beats it, period. ;)

With the facts straight, the only question here is if that $50 is worth it to the buyer. ;)
I'll repeat myself for the hard of reading:

and at 800MHz/1000MHz, a GTX470 beats any overclocked GTX560.
And last I checked the GTX560 really didn't overclock all that well thanks to nVidia pushing the card pretty close to its limits already. The GTX470 that gives a 30% overclock overclocks pretty darn well in my eyes, the GTX560 that can barely muster 15% isn't doing all that well in my eyes. So, no, it doesn't beat it overall.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,647 (5.68/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
I'll repeat myself for the hard of reading:



And last I checked the GTX560 really didn't overclock all that well thanks to nVidia pushing the card pretty close to its limits already. The GTX470 that gives a 30% overclock overclocks pretty darn well in my eyes, the GTX560 that can barely muster 15% isn't doing all that well in my eyes. So, no, it doesn't beat it overall.
any suggestions on mine i can't come close to 800mhz core i also know for a fact that the 560 didn't clock for shit like 930 core max...
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,580 (5.20/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
any suggestions on mine i can't come close to 800mhz core i also know for a fact that the 560 didn't clock for shit like 930 core max...
Do you have one of those recert ones? It is a refence PCB, so it should overvolt without a problem using Afterburner. I know I had to unlock the voltage on mine and push it to 1.15v to get it to do 800MHz stable, but it still did it.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,647 (5.68/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
Do you have one of those recert ones? It is a refence PCB, so it should overvolt without a problem using Afterburner. I know I had to unlock the voltage on mine and push it to 1.15v to get it to do 800MHz stable, but it still did it.
i have the recert reference one and afterburner has volts greyed out
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,580 (5.20/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
i have the recert reference one and afterburner has volts greyed out
Did you go into the settings and enable voltage control and monitoring in Afterburner? It is disabled by default.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,647 (5.68/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
Did you go into the settings and enable voltage control and monitoring in Afterburner? It is disabled by default.
probably not i am pretty good at not paying attention to minor details :p how did you unlock yours to 1.15v?
 

plunx

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Location
Dallas,Tx.
go into afterburner's installation directory, find the MSIafterburner.cfg file and change the unnofficialoverclocking value from 0 to 1. you should be able to have voltage control just by going to 'settings' and enabling it in there through the program itself.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,580 (5.20/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
probably not i am pretty good at not paying attention to minor details :p how did you unlock yours to 1.15v?
I had to flash it with a modded BIOS, actually an eVGA SuperClock bios that I modified to unlock the voltage maximum to 1.212v, but 1.15v is the highest I'll go.

go into afterburner's installation directory, find the MSIafterburner.cfg file and change the unnofficialoverclocking value from 0 to 1. you should be able to have voltage control just by going to 'settings' and enabling it in there through the program itself.
That won't allow you to overvolt past 1.087v, you need to modify the BIOS on the card to go beyond that.
 

plunx

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Location
Dallas,Tx.
you're right, i forgot all about the 1.087 limit, but just curious, were there any 460 or 470 superclock BIOS that let you go higher with the voltage? or is this just with the GTX 560?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,580 (5.20/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
you're right, i forgot all about the 1.087 limit, but just curious, were there any 460 or 470 superclock BIOS that let you go higher with the voltage? or is this just with the GTX 560?
Yeah, all my cards are flashed with BIOSes that allow up to 1.212v. The GTX560 is limitted to 1.15v by default, but there are BIOSes available that allow 1.212v as well, the GTX570/580 both can do 1.212v without a modified BIOS.
 

plunx

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Location
Dallas,Tx.
alright cool, that's a really good thing to know. with the GTX 460 i was able to use for about a day, i overclocked it a bit but I wasn't able to get much more than an 870 MHz core at the 1.087v, i'm thinking that if i were to go ahead and get a GTX 460 like the one i tried, i could get it to higher clocks if i was able to use higher voltages, but i also don't think i'd go much higher than 1.15v without being worried.
 

Benetanegia

New Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
2,680 (0.72/day)
Location
Reaching your left retina.
Wow I must have an exceptional GTX 460 that's being pretty much wasted in my hands. Mine did 845 Mhz on the stock voltage (0.95V) and 865 Mhz with 1.0V when I tried it, I just didn't want to go further and that's why I say it's being wasted lol. Actually I just didn't want to waste more time when even at 800 Mhz is capable of playing everything just fine. I have it at 830 with stock volts now.

In both cases I think it was 100% stable, but who knows for sure. For every OC, I tested stability with 5 mins of Furmark, because I just don't trust t much and temperature didn't raise after the second minute, then 2 loops of Vantage, 2 loops 3Dmark06, 2 loops 3Dmark11, 2 loops heaven, 2 Crysis, 2 Mafia.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,647 (5.68/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
I had to flash it with a modded BIOS, actually an eVGA SuperClock bios that I modified to unlock the voltage maximum to 1.212v, but 1.15v is the highest I'll go.



That won't allow you to overvolt past 1.087v, you need to modify the BIOS on the card to go beyond that.
1.05 is enough for 800c/1600s/1800m so sounds like a keeper for now :)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,782 (4.37/day)
I'll repeat myself for the hard of reading:



And last I checked the GTX560 really didn't overclock all that well thanks to nVidia pushing the card pretty close to its limits already. The GTX470 that gives a 30% overclock overclocks pretty darn well in my eyes, the GTX560 that can barely muster 15% isn't doing all that well in my eyes. So, no, it doesn't beat it overall.
And I'll say for the oblivous to the obvious...(just having fun with j00 man!!!). Stock clocks on th 560ti are at 820 core in the first place... So explain how the hell a card with less Shaders is faster clock for clock than an overclocked 560ti? Does the memory bandwidth really make that big of a difference? Can you post some screenshots of this actually happening or should I trust you b/c of post count?

(that is a serious question actually)
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,647 (5.68/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
And I'll say for the oblivous to the obvious...(just having fun with j00 man!!!). Stock clocks on th 560ti are at 820 core in the first place... So explain how the hell a card with less Shaders is faster clock for clock than an overclocked 560ti? Does the memory bandwidth really make that big of a difference? Can you post some screenshots of this actually happening or should I trust you b/c of post count?

(that is a serious question actually)
i think maybe just maybe the 470 has more shaders but thats just a guess not based off of fact or anything



oh wait yea it is here is the review in fact
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,580 (5.20/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,647 (5.68/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
Not to mention more ROPs and a larger memory bus. Else would a GTX470 still be so close to the GTX560 with only a 620MHz core clock?:wtf:
well it has better shaders not more of them :slap:
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,791 (0.53/day)
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) GTX1070 8GB, and heap of dead GPU's in the garage
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Contour Balance Keyboard / Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores it does boot up
I bought two Point of View GTX465s in June '10, soon after reports of their unlockability appeared. The first thing I did with them after unboxing was I took the coolers off just to confirm both cards had 10 RAM chips and GF100-275-A3 cores onboard.
Stuffed them buggers both with a plain GTX470 bios.
Aaand presto!
Two fully working GTX470s in SLi, ever since.

 
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
829 (0.26/day)
Location
Sudan, the lesser known, bigger home of the Nile.
System Name 192.168.1.1~192.16.1.100
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus B85M-G
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 20GB mixed sticks (because screw best practices)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 OC (Underclocked, underpowered)
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + lots of TBs of HDD storage.
Display(s) LG 24MK430 Primary + Samsung S24D590 secondary
Case Corsair Graphite 780T
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply Coolermaster 850V
Mouse Coolermaster MM530
Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS
Software MS Win7 Ultimate X64 (Until it reaches EoL, anyway)
Benchmark Scores Me no know English. What bench mean? Bench like one sit on?
Lucky you. Mine is a real GTX 465. :cry: Why didn't I take that 460 :banghead:
 

JEskandari

New Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
System Name MoonGlade
Processor Core I7 920
Motherboard MSI X58 Pro
Cooling PCcooler HP1216X
Memory Crucial Ballistix BL3KIT25664BN1608
Video Card(s) Palit GTX460 Sonic
Storage WCD WD1001FALS-00E3A0 + STM31000528AS
Display(s) LG W2262TQ
Case CoolerMaster HAF 922
Audio Device(s) ALC 888s
Power Supply SilverStone DA850
Lucky you. Mine is a real GTX 465. :cry: Why didn't I take that 460 :banghead:
because you made the mistake of not buying a Point of View or MSI Teine Frozer Golden Edition or PNY With Black Board .
by the way why hit your head to the wall your GPU have far more Compute Capabilities
than Mine.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
829 (0.26/day)
Location
Sudan, the lesser known, bigger home of the Nile.
System Name 192.168.1.1~192.16.1.100
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus B85M-G
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 20GB mixed sticks (because screw best practices)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 OC (Underclocked, underpowered)
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + lots of TBs of HDD storage.
Display(s) LG 24MK430 Primary + Samsung S24D590 secondary
Case Corsair Graphite 780T
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply Coolermaster 850V
Mouse Coolermaster MM530
Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS
Software MS Win7 Ultimate X64 (Until it reaches EoL, anyway)
Benchmark Scores Me no know English. What bench mean? Bench like one sit on?
I read somewhere that ZOTAC's was also unlockable. Should have done more research >_<
The reason why I regret getting this one instead of teh 460 is the damned heat !. I stand by the opinion that Fermi isn't hot. But this Fermi is smokin' !
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,580 (5.20/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I read somewhere that ZOTAC's was also unlockable. Should have done more research >_<
The reason why I regret getting this one instead of teh 460 is the damned heat !. I stand by the opinion that Fermi isn't hot. But this Fermi is smokin' !
You really shouldn't regret it all that much, the amount of heat the GTX465 puts out is only marginally more than the GTX460. You're talking when sitting idle maybe 10w more, and when under load maybe 25w more. That really isn't all that much more heat. I don't think you'd be all that much more happy with a GTX460 if heat was your concern.
 

plunx

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Location
Dallas,Tx.
i ordered a Zotac just to check it out; it has 10 memory chips, but it has the GF100-030-A3 GPU. that sucks, at least it seems to overclock well.

also, this gets REALLY hot. when i first got it and took the heatsink off of the GPU, there was enough thermal paste there for three or four Fermi GPUs. i took it all off and used some crappy silicone stuff instead, but it only dropped the temperatures by about 4 C. overall (this could have just been because it was making better contact after than before; there are small 'grooves' in the heatsink inbetween the copper pipes that touch the GPU and there were two noticable places that weren't making very good contact in the first place). i'm hoping to get some mx-2 or actic silver some time this weekend and try that out, i think the heat is the main problem because as soon as it gets around 85 or 86 C. you start seeing bad artifacts.

if i run this at 800/1600/1833 or something around there i -must- run the fan at 100% to be able for it to keep up with the heat and it still barely does, plus the fan gets really really loud after 90%. seems like everything runs fine until it starts getting close to 86 C., then artifacts will start to show (plus that's just a bit too hot for my liking anyway, personally, even if someone told me it was safe at that temperature).

i can only find a few GTX 465/470 coolers and they're really expensive.. i think a cheaper one i saw was around $45 and another one that was around $65. either way, i think if the heat could be dealt with, the GTX 465 is 'okay' if you manage to overclock it nicely, keep it cool, and you're not running super high resolutions.

a day after i placed the order, one of my two 2GB sticks of patriot 1333mhz ram died so I had to send both sticks back in order to RMA it (came as a 4GB kit). i've been using 4GB of 1600mhz ram, but i have to run it at 1333mhz because that's the highest this motherboard supports. plus, the ram i was using before was running at 7-7-7-20 for the most part, and the stuff i'm currently using is 9-9-9-24. i'm noticing some other slowdowns just in windows itself, so i'm hoping that's a ram issue and not something having to do with the GTX 465. luckily the model of ram i had previously isn't produced anymore, so i was offered 4GB of the Viper II Sector 5 stuff, which i remember being some of the best stuff back when i first originally bought the patriot 1333 4GB kit (i think at that time the Viper II Sector 5 stuff was about $60 more for the same amount, but it runs at 7-7-7-20, i believe).

but.. yeah, i don't think the GTX 465 is the best bet if you're looking for super high resolution stuff, but if you can find one really cheap and at least say.. $30, $40 less than a GTX 460; i say go for it, and hope that the card you get overclocks well. hell, hope you get a card that has both 10 memory chips and the GF100-275-A3 GPU instead of the GF100-030-A3 GPU. i had a strong feeling i was either going to see 8 chips or the GPU, and i saw all ten chips but then saw the 'real' 465 GPU. i'm actually somewhat happy it came as a 'true' GTX 465 and not one of the kind that has all 10 memory chips and the GF100-275-A3 but still doesn't flash; then i'd probably be sitting here with a brick right now. heat seriously IS an issue with the 465 cards, the PNY GTX 460 OC or whatever i used was nearly 18 C. less at all times (at 80% fan, compared to 100%) than this one runs, plus the fan was a lot less 'noisy' on the GTX 460.
 
Last edited:
Top