• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nvidia HDMI Audio Out to TV Not Working

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
So I've been staying at a hotel the past few months and I've had my laptop plugged into the TV via HDMI so I can watch netflix. Everything worked fine for months no problem. Then yesterday audio just stopped working and I can't use any resolution other than 1280x720 even if I try to force it.

Any suggestions beyond the usual drivers, shutdown, unplug, or system restore shiznit?

Relevant hardware:

Laptop: Asus G60JX
Video Card: Nvidia GTS360M
 

Phxprovost

Xtreme Refugee
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
1,217 (0.38/day)
Likes
260
Location
Pennsylvania
System Name Result of Boredom
Processor AMD FX-6350
Motherboard ASUS M5A97
Cooling Enzo Tech Extreme-X
Memory 16gb ddr3
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Display(s) Asus 24in (1920X1080) X 2 @144hz
Case NZXT S340
Software WIN7 64bit HP
#2
maybe its the hdmi cable, i just had one die on me the other day, screen came on and looked like pulsating red sand, swapped it out for a new one and everything is fine now.
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
Already bought a new one.
 
T

TechPowerDown

Guest
#4
Already bought a new one.
kinda hard to tell since we don't know what you have been doing with your laptop 24/7 nor do you.

1.) have you recently installed anything?

2.) the obvious and i feel stupid for asking, is your laptops volume turned on? and is the mixer volume up for whatever program your using to stream it. i've done that before with IE :banghead:
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
more like doing stuff with it 3/7. I work 13/7.

Haven't installed anything in a month.
It might have done an auto-update.
OMG it was muted :p (not really)
Sound comes out of laptop speakers just not the TV
Re-installed audio drivers tonight
Ran system-restore to rollback to several days before problem started
restarted (numerous times)

Audio Control Panel says TV is not plugged in (It is)



Probably going to have to use my three free hours tomorrow to format so I can watch Netflix Tuesday
 
T

TechPowerDown

Guest
#6
more like doing stuff with it 3/7. I work 13/7.

Haven't installed anything in a month.
It might have done an auto-update.
OMG it was muted :p (not really)
Sound comes out of laptop speakers just not the TV
Re-installed audio drivers tonight
Ran system-restore to rollback to several days before problem started
restarted (numerous times)

Audio Control Panel says TV is not plugged in (It is)

http://img.techpowerup.org/100822/Untitled-1635.jpg

Probably going to have to use my three free hours tomorrow to format so I can watch Netflix Tuesday


:banghead: thats frustrating, and why would you install the audio drivers, THEN roll back...

formatting is what i do when microsucks slows down/gives me a problem
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
Why re-install drivers then rollback? Who knows. I'm flailing madly to solve the problem before I have to go to sleep and start work again. It's hard to get anything done when you don't get days off from work and work 12-14 hours per day.

Formatting is what you do when you don't have time to actually solve the problem. Looking for the path of least resistance here
 
T

TechPowerDown

Guest
#8
Why re-install drivers then rollback? Who knows. I'm flailing madly to solve the problem before I have to go to sleep and start work again. It's hard to get anything done when you don't get days off from work and work 12-14 hours per day.

Formatting is what you do when you don't have time to actually solve the problem. Looking for the path of least resistance here
well the least resistance IMO would be reinstalling win7
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (1.12/day)
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
#10
sounds like the audio chip on the 360m kicked the bucket maybe due to excessive heat?

It's probably a driver issue though...

I was messing around with my audio drivers a few months ago and had the same issue.. OS reinstall solved it.
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#11
I figured it out. Nvidia Control Panel and/or Windows weren't properly grabbing the EDID information for the LG TVs in the hotel anymore. Even after a format I couldn't get it to work because of that.

To fix it this is what you have to do.

1. Download MonInfo
2. Choose the EDID for your TV.
3. Save it as a .inf
4. Use that .inf file as the driver for your TV rather than Generic PnP monitor driver.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,424 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,567
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
Glad you got it fixed.

Subbed for the info!