• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

NVIDIA Introduces NVIDIA Quadro CX - The Accelerator For Adobe Creative Suite 4

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
NVIDIA today introduced its new accelerator for Adobe Creative Suite 4 software, the NVIDIA Quadro CX. This new GPU provides creative professionals with a faster, better, more reliable way to maximize their creativity. Quadro CX was architected to deliver the best performance for the new GPU-optimized features of Adobe Creative Suite 4.




Show full news post
 

EarlZ

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
339 (0.08/day)
Likes
6
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 Rev1.1
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory 4GB G.Skill 9-10-9-27-1T 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX580 1.5Gb
Storage 2x Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung T220
Case Lian Li PC-P80
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Gold 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
ALL HD4xxx cards do acceleration for Adobe Creative Suite 4... much more worth it than these quadros.
Corrent, and 100% sure this is just driver level.. GP-GPU concept.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
300 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
Ambugaton
Processor Intel Skylake i5 6500 3.2 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3p
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory HyperX Fury Black 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz CL15 1.2v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1070 G1 8GB GDDR5 256bit
Storage ADATA Premier Pro 240GB & NAS - 4Tb Raid 1
Display(s) 22" Dell 2209WA A02 E-IPS
Case Cooler Master CM Silencio 452
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC /w Microlab Solo 6C Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-620 EVO Bronze 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#4
ALL HD4xxx cards do acceleration for Adobe Creative Suite 4... much more worth it than these quadros.
If you are to believe Fudzilla's article that is.
I understand that the acceleration is handled through OpenGL so it wouldnt be that improbable.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
1,962 (0.41/day)
Likes
956
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 512GB Plextor M8PeG NVMe, 500GB Crucial MX200
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Roccat ISKU
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/j1yypa
#5
If you are to believe Fudzilla's article that is.
I understand that the acceleration is handled through OpenGL so it wouldnt be that improbable.
And maybe if you took your head out of wherever you've stuck it, you'd realise that Fudzilla is actually more right than wrong. Sure, there's the odd miss here and there, but I think that happens to most publications, be it online or in print.
Even this esteemed publication has mistakes in it from time to time, but I don't hear you moaning about that...
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
300 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
Ambugaton
Processor Intel Skylake i5 6500 3.2 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3p
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory HyperX Fury Black 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz CL15 1.2v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1070 G1 8GB GDDR5 256bit
Storage ADATA Premier Pro 240GB & NAS - 4Tb Raid 1
Display(s) 22" Dell 2209WA A02 E-IPS
Case Cooler Master CM Silencio 452
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC /w Microlab Solo 6C Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-620 EVO Bronze 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#6
And maybe if you took your head out of wherever you've stuck it, you'd realise that Fudzilla is actually more right than wrong. Sure, there's the odd miss here and there, but I think that happens to most publications, be it online or in print.
Even this esteemed publication has mistakes in it from time to time, but I don't hear you moaning about that...
I was just saying that if I hear it from only one unofficial source, and it happens to be fudzilla I tend to have a slight doubt at times, not that I disbelieve it. It's not like AMD/ATi confirmed it yet.

I don't understand why you had to reply in such a hostile way... please refrain from contributing to the degradation of forum threads in such manner.

Thanks​
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#7
I was just saying that if I hear it from only one unofficial source, and it happens to be fudzilla I tend to have a slight doubt at times, not that I disbelieve it. It's not like AMD/ATi confirmed it yet.

I don't understand why you had to reply in such a hostile way... please refrain from contributing to the degradation of forum threads in such manner.

Thanks​
We're sick of them bashing fudzilla. I mean, they usually get the news before every other source...
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#8
All I can say is... congratulations nVidia. You got CUDA out and working silicon AND PRODUCTS before Intel got Larrabee out.

If Larrabee got here first, CUDA wouldnt stand a chance. As it is, it has got a headstart.

Now for the FORMAT WARS OF 2009: Intel vs. nVidia on math acceleration.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
783 (0.22/day)
Likes
121
Location
Latvia
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ lapped @3,0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1264
Memory 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) Xpertvision 8800GTS 640MB G80
Storage 250GB Seagate Barracuda & 750GB Samsung
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 931BF
Case Coolermaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A
Power Supply HEC WinPower 550W
Software Ubuntu 10.04 x86 & Windows 7 x86
Benchmark Scores I'm scared of benching
#9
I'd say it's GTX 260 with different memory and HDMI outputs.
Buy GTX 260, change 8 numbers in driver *.inf file and you'll get this card.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
300 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
Ambugaton
Processor Intel Skylake i5 6500 3.2 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3p
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory HyperX Fury Black 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz CL15 1.2v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1070 G1 8GB GDDR5 256bit
Storage ADATA Premier Pro 240GB & NAS - 4Tb Raid 1
Display(s) 22" Dell 2209WA A02 E-IPS
Case Cooler Master CM Silencio 452
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC /w Microlab Solo 6C Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-620 EVO Bronze 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#10
NVIDIA Quadro CX... I hope nobody buys the damn thing, that'll teach them.

Sounds to me like corporate greed. "Oh look those designers earn well using our products, why not rehash and charge premium".:mad:
Good thing that competion is fierce these days and ATi will leave a dent in Nvidia profit, just like happened to the 280.

Isn't it enough that LCDs (that are fit for graphics design) are expensive as hell? (spectraView series comes to mind)

So get a decent PC + Wacom Tablet + NVIDIA Quadro CX + Nec SpectraView + everything else a designer needs and you get to pay around 10k$ for something worth around 2,5k$ :shadedshu
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#11
I'd say it's GTX 260 with different memory and HDMI outputs.
Buy GTX 260, change 8 numbers in driver *.inf file and you'll get this card.
Then you can spend the other $1700 on hookers and blow... I mean you can actually pay for CS4 by that point.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,292 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
I'd say it's GTX 260 with different memory and HDMI outputs.
Buy GTX 260, change 8 numbers in driver *.inf file and you'll get this card.
It is hard to tell what it is by the specs. The 198SP's definitely pegs it as a GT200 core. However, it only has a 384-bit memory bus? It does come with 1.5GB of RAM to, so it is definitely no normal GTX260.

And I wish it was that easy to convert a normal card into a Quadro...There is far more to it than that, most of the professional features are physically disconnected.

I don't really see a market for this with ATi cards accelerating CS4, and normal nVidia cards accelerating Photoshop CS4. The video editing crowd will probably buy it, even with ATi cards doing the same job, simply because the ATi cards won't be able to touch this thing due to the 1.5GB of RAM.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
783 (0.22/day)
Likes
121
Location
Latvia
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ lapped @3,0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1264
Memory 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) Xpertvision 8800GTS 640MB G80
Storage 250GB Seagate Barracuda & 750GB Samsung
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 931BF
Case Coolermaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A
Power Supply HEC WinPower 550W
Software Ubuntu 10.04 x86 & Windows 7 x86
Benchmark Scores I'm scared of benching
#13
It is hard to tell what it is by the specs. The 198SP's definitely pegs it as a GT200 core. However, it only has a 384-bit memory bus? It does come with 1.5GB of RAM to, so it is definitely no normal GTX260.

And I wish it was that easy to convert a normal card into a Quadro...There is far more to it than that, most of the professional features are physically disconnected.

I don't really see a market for this with ATi cards accelerating CS4, and normal nVidia cards accelerating Photoshop CS4. The video editing crowd will probably buy it, even with ATi cards doing the same job, simply because the ATi cards won't be able to touch this thing due to the 1.5GB of RAM.
Here's the line from Quadro CX driver *.inf
NVIDIA_GT200.DEV_05F9.1 = "NVIDIA Quadro CX"
Quadro CX description says:
CUDA Parallel Processor Cores 192
GTX 260 description says:
Processor Cores 192
IMO it's the same thing.

GTX 260 has 448 bit memory, Quadro has 384 bit memory. One memory channel cutted off (same as 8800GTS G80 and Quadro FX 4600, where GTS has one channel cutted off).
Memory size - just a chips with larger capacity.

Maybe it's more different than i think, but why do i have to spend 2k$, if i can get GTX260 much cheaper, open Notepad for 10 seconds and get the same if not better card. :)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,292 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
I wasn't arguing that the core was the same, but it isn't just a normal GTX 260. 1.5GB of GDDR3 split across 12 chips mean each chip is huge(125MB). Large memory chips, like these, are still very expensive.

The Quadro(and FireGL) cards have been nothing more than slightly modified desktop cards for a while now. You can't just change the driver inf and get the features of the Quadro card, it isn't that easy. You can not take a GTX260 and edit the inf to read it as a Quado. It might display as a quadro, but you won't get the features of the quadro. You used to be able to soft mod regular nVidia cards into Quadros, but I'm pretty sure nVidia put a stop to that when they released the 7000 series card.

There is a big different between what your opinion is, and what is reality. Your opinion is wrong, you can not change a GTX260 into a Quadro.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#15
Ah, but you can emulate a Quadro on a GTX260 ;)

Typically the differences between consumer and pro cards, just like with ATI and their FireGL range, is that the pro series has:

1./ Higher specced display hardware, for higher resolutions, like dual channel DVI
2./ Higher specced display hardware and BIOS, for greater colour depth and gamma mapping
3./ Sometimes additional ports/features like 3D glasses

However, point 1 is now moot. All higher end consumer has dual link DVI. Point 2 is only of value if you have a pro TFT which has a higher gamut spectrum that a regular TFT. And point 3 is very very specialist, but still used for engineering and medical applications.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,292 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
If by emulate, you mean change the name so the drivers read it as a Quadro, but not get any actual hardware acceleration in apps that the real Quadro provides. Then yes, I guess you can emulate the Quadro with a GTX280. The same way you can emulate a GTX280 with a 8800GS.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#17
No, you WILL get the acceleration because it is CUDA based. You'll get acceleration in CS4 for any CUDA enabled GPU. That's exactly what these "plugins" for CS4 are: CUDA based filters rather than x86 based filters (and apps).
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
783 (0.22/day)
Likes
121
Location
Latvia
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ lapped @3,0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1264
Memory 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) Xpertvision 8800GTS 640MB G80
Storage 250GB Seagate Barracuda & 750GB Samsung
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 931BF
Case Coolermaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A
Power Supply HEC WinPower 550W
Software Ubuntu 10.04 x86 & Windows 7 x86
Benchmark Scores I'm scared of benching
#18
The same way you can emulate a GTX280 with a 8800GS.
Not really :)
Of course you can change cards name to whatever you want:



Driver setup installs drivers depending on your cards GPU, not name.
I've modded my G80 8800GTS to Quadro FX 4600 and everything recognizes it at FX 4600.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,292 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#19
No, you WILL get the acceleration because it is CUDA based. You'll get acceleration in CS4 for any CUDA enabled GPU. That's exactly what these "plugins" for CS4 are: CUDA based filters rather than x86 based filters (and apps).
Only Photoshop CS4 gets CUDA acceleration currently. Premier and the other CS4 apps do not get acceleration from just any CUDA enabled GPU, they still require workstation cards such as this Quadro to recieve hardware acceleration.

Not really :)
Of course you can change cards name to whatever you want:



Driver setup installs drivers depending on your cards GPU, not name.
I've modded my G80 8800GTS to Quadro FX 4600 and everything recognizes it at FX 4600.
It might recognize it as a FX 4600, but it will not perform like an FX 4600. The programs will recognize it as whatever name you put(hence my 8800GS into a GTX 280 reference), however it will not actually work as an FX 4600.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,738 (0.73/day)
Likes
861
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#20
Only Photoshop CS4 gets CUDA acceleration currently. Premier and the other CS4 apps do not get acceleration from just any CUDA enabled GPU, they still require workstation cards such as this Quadro to recieve hardware acceleration.



It might recognize it as a FX 4600, but it will not perform like an FX 4600. The programs will recognize it as whatever name you put(hence my 8800GS into a GTX 280 reference), however it will not actually work as an FX 4600.
It's using the quadro driver, adobe thinks it's a quadro, the card is basically the same, it will accelerate...

This has been done forever.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,292 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
It's using the quadro driver, adobe thinks it's a quadro, the card is basically the same, it will accelerate...

This has been done forever.
No, it won't accelerate. You need to soft-mod the card to achieve that with a G80 8800GTS, it is more than just changing the device id. The G92 cards are not even soft-moddable, so I doubt the GT200 cards will be either.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#22
^^ it will accelerate. The CS4 accelerators are CUDA based: http://www.nvidia.com/object/product_quadro_cx_us.html

What is DIFFERENT about Quadro CX is the follow:

1./ 1.5 GB GDDR3
2./ 10-bit per component color fidelity (only useful on a pro display that can display these extra colors)
3./ Dual DisplayPort for2x 2560x1600
4./ Quad Buffered Stereo for speicalist stereo imaging devices (stereo display connector like the FireGL range)

And THAT is the only difference compared to the consumer card. Essential for certain industrial applications, completely USELESS for the regular consumer/gamer.

There is NO "MAGIC" chip on the device design for CS4.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#23



Wait, Nvidia has BBQ? Dammit, and all this time..........:banghead:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,292 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#24
^^ it will accelerate. The CS4 accelerators are CUDA based: http://www.nvidia.com/object/product_quadro_cx_us.html
First of all, the only way to get it to accelerate would be to somehow illegally get your hands on the software that adds CUDA acceleration to Premier. The only legal way to get and use this software is to buy this Quadro card(saddly). Without that software, the GTX260 renamed to the Quadro will not accelerate. However, once you get that software, any CUDA enabled GPU will accelerate, so renaming the GTX260 is really useless at that point.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,324 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,729
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#25