• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

NVIDIA Investigates TDR Issues, Requests Sample Cards

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,059
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#1
Guru3D reports on a post from NVIDIA tech support on NVIDIA's forums regarding TDR issues (Timeout Detection & Recovery problem (display stopped responding but has successfully recovered)). These problems centre around Battlefield 3 and Windows Media Centre, which NVIDIA can't reproduce, so it looks like the problems may be with specific card models. NVIDIA rep ManuelG posted:
I want to give everyone a quick update on some of the bugs mentioned in this thread:

Show full news post
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,059
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#2
Anyone seen this here?

EDIT: I've not seen any issues like this with any of my nvidia cards.
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#3
I'm using a GTX 460 with the latest Nvidia drivers and use WMC all the time with no issue. Haven't tried BF3 on it yet.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,608 (2.89/day)
Likes
8,480
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
I am using an EVGA GTX560 (not Ti) and as Erocker stated Windows Media Center works fine. I also have not played BF3 as I don't have the game yet.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#5
Im using the latest Nvidia drivers and a GTX580 with no issues whatsoever in BF3 and I use VLC and not windows media so I wouldnt know about issues with that.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
15
System Name Red Babe
Processor i7 2700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximous IV
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 16GB 1600Mhz Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 679 DCII
Storage 1TB Black 1TB Green 120GB GT SSD
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q
Case Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z
Power Supply Enermax MODU87+ 900W
Software Ubuntu + Windows 7
#6
gtx480

I have a GTX480 with the latest driver! I have no problem with battlefield 3 and WMC although my screen frozes somethimes with Windows media Player!
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#7
When I was running my 460 in BF3 I had issues for a short time in beta, but that soon stopped in retail.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
715 (0.28/day)
Likes
208
Location
A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
System Name 192.168.1.1
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 20GB of mixed Kingston sticks (Who says mixing and matching don't work!)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 780Ti Twin Frozr Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + lots of TBs of HDD storage.
Display(s) A Samsung S24D590 Primary + Philips 220E (sans two pixel-columns) secondary
Case Corsair Graphite 780T
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply Coolermaster 850V
Mouse Steelseries Sensei Raw
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software MS Win7 Ultimate X64 (Until it reaches EoL, anyway)
Benchmark Scores Me no know English. What bench mean? Bench like one sit on?
#8
GTX 580, no issues with media player. And nothing's wrong with FireFox (though I seldom use it). Maybe the issue happened on factory OCed cards ? Heard BF3 can be very stressing.

Cool thing to see a Nvidia taking such a move. The company does care for it's customers it seems. +rep NV !
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
292 (0.07/day)
Likes
51
Location
TX
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60 CPU
Memory 16gb (4x4) G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX 970 FTW
Storage 1x Samsung 850 Pro 512gb, 1x Crucial M500 480gb, 2x 1TB WD Raptor RAID 0
Display(s) 1x LG 34UM95 21:9 (3440x1440) twin Dell E1709W (900x1440) portrait wings
Case Corsair Carbide 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Home 64-bit
#9
I am using a Gigabyte GTX 580 and am having issues with bf3, predominately that I cannot run it in full screen, I have to run a 2560x1440 window. In fullscreen I get crashes quite often, and though windowed has crashed before, it is not very common. I also get the whole screen flashing green sometimes.

Running the latest beta drivers with a well ventilated corsair 600T. Overclocked or stock, just seems to be kinda buggy for me.

I don't use WMP, but Firefox (7.0.1) has no issues at all.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
491 (0.15/day)
Likes
9
Location
ireland
Processor amd phenom 2 x4 955 @3.8
Motherboard asus m4n68t v2
Cooling tx2 cooler
Memory kingston hyperx blu 1600mhz
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage 300gb+320gb+500gb
Display(s) targa 19"
Case black
Audio Device(s) audigy 2
Power Supply 700 watt generic brand
Software win 7 64bit
#10
im using my new gtx 460 and yes it is quite annoying sometimes only playing an bf3 server 2 mins and crash it lags out then just freezes to desktop. was crashing on youtube aswell but it stoped. i turned my settings down to medium so i assume that its not using most of the new dx11 features and hasnt bein locking up as much. also some1 said the previous beta driver fixes the problem i have yet to try.
 

..'Ant'..

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
294 (0.08/day)
Likes
163
Location
█♣█
System Name Anth's Old i7 Monster™
Processor i7 940 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6TD Deluxe
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems
Memory 12GB (6x2GB) G.Skill DDR3-1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB W/Accelero Twin Turbo II
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 128GB / 2 x Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB RAID 0 /WD VelociRaptor 150GB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 40LE700UN LED 40" Widescreen @ [1920x1080] 1080p
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 2
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte 7.1 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair AX1200W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#11
Anyone seen this here?

EDIT: I've not seen any issues like this with any of my nvidia cards.
Same here thank god!
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#12
had issues with my GTX570 and WMC
 

Respect_

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Monckips
Processor Intel I5-2500k
Motherboard MSI z68a-gd65 (G3)
Cooling Thermalright Silverarrow
Memory G.Skills Ripjaws 2x4Gb 1600mHz
Video Card(s) MSI gtx 560 ti
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 1Tb
Display(s) Asus VE228H 21.5" LED Monitor
Case Corsair Graphtie 600t White Edition
Audio Device(s) huh?
Power Supply XFX PRO750W XXX edition
Software minesweeper
#13
I got this issue quite often with my gtx 560 ti. This issue happened with the 3 latest drivers and beta drivers(haven't other drivers). Hope nVidia will fix this.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,527 (0.46/day)
Likes
375
System Name Lailalo / Edelweiss
Processor FX 8320 @ 4.5Ghz / i7 3610QM @2.3-3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASrock 990FX Extreme 4 / Lenovo Y580
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus / Big hunk of copper
Memory 16GB Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600+ / 8GB Hyundai DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 / GTX 660M 2GB
Storage Seagate 3TB/1TB + OCZ Synapse 64GB SSD Cache / Western Digital 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) LG Ultrawide 29in @ 2560x1080 / Lenovo 15.6 @ 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper / Lenovo Y580
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Whatever Lenovo used
Power Supply Antec Truepower Blue 750W + Thermaltake 5.25in 250W / Big Power Brick
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 Home
#14
Have had BF3 just suddenly crash out at times. Then I've seen issues in game with textures acting up. Sometimes there are green flickers on the screen. Most when I read about it, were issues EA needed to fix. Looks like the last battlelog patch fixed the DX error. Can finally start up normally instead of putting the game into XP mode.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
117 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
System Name XTREME CORE
Processor Intel Core2QUAD Q9650 OC`ed @ 4Ghz 1.265v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3P Rev 1.0
Cooling Corsair H100 CPU Water Cooler
Memory 4x2GB Corsair XMS3 DHX DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 460 SC EE 1024MB
Storage 1x OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB SSD, 1x Samsung SpinPoint F3 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron 22inch L226WTQ
Case CM Storm Sniper Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX850W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
#15
i get the tdr ballon error in the systray everyday on my gtx 460 but bf3 is fine as i completed the game
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
I have a POV TGT Charged GTX460 1GB, and so far the above mentioned scenario i haven't witnessed considering i use my computer for over 20 hours a day.

So far i have played BF3 in ultra settings with all the eye candy and even completed the game with no problem at all.

i don't consider my self as a user of the above mentioned media software, as i am a minimal user even tho i use windows media player mostly for listening to music or any audio file, Most my videos if not all i play using VLC Media player and it works fine in any cas no problems with any of the above media players mentioned.

With all the above i still have a PROBLEM with my Nvidia drivers and i believe its after i updated to GeForce 285.27 Driver BETA, ever since that all the way to the most recent one.

Nature of my problem is that:
Some times after Days or some times hours, but mostly days or a week or weeks, i get a BLACK SCREEN FOR LIKE A FEW SECONDS 3 - 5 SECONDS AND MY WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE x64 reports that YOUR DISPLAY DRIVER HAS TEMPORARILY STOPPED WORKING, something of the sort, or maybe it says DRIVER STOPPED RESPONDING.
I strongly think this is caused by the drivers because i have had this card since December 30th 2010 is the Day i purchased it and it has been fine till the above mentioned driver update.

please not that the problem is not frequent, and i think it is mostly caused when i am surfing the web using Mozilla, in fact all the time it has occurred is when i am surfing the web using Mozilla, most recent occurrence of this problem was yesterday November 05, 2011.
 
Last edited:

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#17
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#18
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,012 (0.29/day)
Likes
357
Location
Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
System Name Skylake
Processor i7 6700K stock
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Pro4
Cooling Scythe Ninja 3 + Noctua Industrial PPC-3000
Memory 2x8gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000Mhz Cl15
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified ACX 1515/1901
Storage 2x 2Tb SSHD FireCuda + 2Tb Constellation ES.3
Display(s) 27" BenQ LED + 49" LG 4K TV
Case AeroCool VS-9W
Audio Device(s) ASRock Fatal1ty X-Fi + Logitech Z2300 200W 2.1
Power Supply CORSAIR TX750M 62A
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Genuine
#19
I have a 560 ti and sometimes i experience Firefox freezes/crashes... but i'm using Chrome and everything is OK with this :)
In games/apps i don't have any problems at all... BTW i'm using 280.26 WHQL
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
746 (0.20/day)
Likes
88
#20
The bastards are probably overclocking their cards past 100% stability, that's why nothing shows up in other games. Being that Battlefield 3 is a very taxing game, it'll show any errors on unstable GPU's (excluding a related bug on NVIDIA/DICE's part).
 

Syborfical

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2006
Messages
86 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
#21
I have a GTX 560 Ti,

I keep getting this error

Display Drive stopped responding and has recovered

display drive NVIDA windows kernal mode drive, version 285.62 stopped responding and has successfully recovered

The error pops up in a pop up box in the bottom right of the screen.

It happens when surfing the web.
The screen goes black, my monitor cycles through the inputs.
Takes about 2 seconds
Then the screen comes back and the error message pops up in the bottom right hand corner.

Never happens in linux only windows.
Happen after a drive up date.

normally happpens when using firefox... never in games ...
i know I just need to start in safemode and delete the drivers ....
 

Syborfical

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2006
Messages
86 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
#22
Another tip..


These sorts of issues are all over the nvidia boards.

You either have to switch power management mode to 'prefer maximum performance' in the control panel or disable hardware acceleration. Not much of a workaround but it does reduce the TDR's caused by the 28x.xxx series drivers.

Failing that you could always just revert back to the 27x.xxx series drivers which are much more stable.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
317 (0.14/day)
Likes
83
System Name scrapper
Processor Intel i5-6600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z-170A
Cooling H100i
Memory Corsair Vengence 16gb ddr4 @3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 EVGA SC
Storage 2x 500GB Samsung 850 SSD
Display(s) CrossOver 27" 1440p LG IPS @ 120Hz
Case Corsair 650D
Power Supply AX-850W
#23
have two gtx460's in SLI slightly overclocked and not getting the TDR issue but get green flickering in BF3 as well as the occasional game crash (i believe this is a game error and not a hardware error)

so i think my problems are due to nvidia/ EA right now
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
10
System Name My Box
Processor Core I7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Anniversary
Cooling Alpenfohn Ben Nevis
Memory 16 GB DDR3 1600, Dual channel
Video Card(s) Zotac GeForce GTX 970 AMP! Omega Core Edition
Storage SSD OCZ Arc 120 GB, WD Blue 1 TB, WD Blue 1 TB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 27xi IPS LED Backlit
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Sabre 24/96 DAC
Power Supply LDLC XT-650P 80+ Platinum
Mouse A4 Tech Basic
Keyboard Microsoft Comfort Curve
Software Win 10 Pro X64
#24
Gtx 460 768 MB, Asus DirectCU, worked flawlessly on the old platform (h55+i5 760). Since I've switched to SB (h67 + i5 2500), I've been getting this "recovery" stuff constantly, but I always thought it was because I got lazy and didn't reinstall Windows when switching platforms, even though the system works flawlessly otherwise.

The strange thing is it always happens in desktop mode, never in games or other graphic applications.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#25
I was using ASUS GTX 570 Direct CU II, it was very unstable with Unigine and Metro 2033 as in if I were to give it a reasonable OC the game wouldn't even start I think it's related to DX11. It wasn't as bad in Battlefield 3 or in Rage both games worked fine, but when I tried to edit one of my videos through Windows Media Player I wasn't able to get playback it was just a black screen whereas if I played the video with VideoLAN it'd be perfectly fine. Of course this doesn't make me think bad of NVIDIA as a whole their cards are still more preferable in a single GPU config but my GTX 570 did not play nice with me for the short time I had it which was a week.