• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

NVIDIA Opens Up CUDA Platform by Releasing Compiler Source Code

Joined
Dec 6, 2011
Messages
4,785 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,187
Location
Still on the East Side
#1
NVIDIA today announced that it will provide the source code for the new NVIDIA CUDA LLVM-based compiler to academic researchers and software-tool vendors, enabling them to more easily add GPU support for more programming languages and support CUDA applications on alternative processor architectures.

LLVM is a widely-used open source compiler infrastructure with a modular design that makes it easy to add support for new programming languages and processor architectures. It is used for a range of programming requirements by many leading companies, including Adobe, Apple, Cray, Electronic Arts, and others.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,361 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,816
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#2
Does this mean PhysX on Radeon cards alone? If yes, well, YES please! Though i see it a bit unlikely to happen by AMD, only if someone codes it themself.
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#3
Does this mean PhysX on Radeon cards alone? If yes, well, YES please! Though i see it a bit unlikely to happen by AMD, only if someone codes it themself.
PhysX is a proptietery, nVidia only standart. It has a driver level lock to work on/with nVidia boards only. You can't just "code it yourself", there're laws that restrict it.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,361 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,816
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#4
PhysX works through CUDA. Bypassing the hardlock in drivers is just an inconvenience imo. It was harder to reverse engineer the CUDA itself...
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#5
So? Point being...? You can not code PhysX to run on AMD hardware in any legitimate way. It's protected by law.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.17/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#6
So? Point being...? You can not code PhysX to run on AMD hardware in any legitimate way. It's protected by law.
The keyword here is "legitimate".
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
2,785 (1.22/day)
Likes
1,672
Location
New Zealand
System Name MoneySink
Processor 2600K @ 4.8
Motherboard P8Z77-V
Cooling AC NexXxos XT45 360, RayStorm, D5T+XSPC tank, Tygon R-3603, Bitspower
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600C8
Video Card(s) GTX 780 SLI (EVGA SC ACX + Giga GHz Ed.)
Storage Kingston HyperX SSD (128) OS, WD RE4 (1TB), RE2 (1TB), Cav. Black (2 x 500GB), Red (4TB)
Display(s) Achieva Shimian QH270-IPSMS (2560x1440) S-IPS
Case NZXT Switch 810
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek yawn edition
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050
Software Win8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3.5 litres of Pale Ale in 18 minutes.
#7
So? Point being...? You can not code PhysX to run on AMD hardware in any legitimate way. It's protected by law.
Howdy, you must be the new sheriff in these here parts?

IMO makes more sense to offer PhysX to Radeon users but still keep the PPU a GeForce product- Win/Win. Presently, I'm sure a number of AMD/ATi users would love to use PhysX and pick up cheapie GTX460 (or similar), whilst still retaining their HDwhatever as primary graphics- seems like a no brainer.
My secondary rig (Q9400/P45) uses the SLI hack...another case of Nvidia limiting it's own opportunities. Might make sense for Nvidia to keep it proprietry when they still produced mobo chipsets...now? Not so much. Personally I'd allow SLI free on all and any board that could support dual cards to maximize sales potential...but maybe I'm simple, who knows?
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#8
The keyword here is "legitimate".
Uhm, yeah? nVidia bought out Ageia to own their tech. Nobody else can render it on their GPU unless they're looking to buy nVidia... :D

Howdy, you must be the new sheriff in these here parts?

IMO makes more sense to offer PhysX to Radeon users but still keep the PPU a GeForce product- Win/Win. Presently, I'm sure a number of AMD/ATi users would love to use PhysX and pick up cheapie GTX460 (or similar), whilst still retaining their HDwhatever as primary graphics- seems like a no brainer.
My secondary rig (Q9400/P45) uses the SLI hack...another case of Nvidia limiting it's own opportunities. Might make sense for Nvidia to keep it proprietry when they still produced mobo chipsets...now? Not so much. Personally I'd allow SLI free on all and any board that could support dual cards to maximize sales potential...but maybe I'm simple, who knows?
It's not me who puts out these blocks, it's nVidia. Period. Send a support ticket to them to explain this, see if they care.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.17/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#9
Uhm, yeah? nVidia bought out Ageia to own their tech. Nobody else can render it on their GPU unless they're looking to buy nVidia... :D
I'm not saying I have any idea what would be involved or how difficult it would be or that I even think it's feasible, but legitimacy has never stopped hackers before. Nobody said it had to be official. ;)
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#10
I'm not saying I have any idea what would be involved or how difficult it would be or that I even think it's feasible, but legitimacy has never stopped hackers before. Nobody said it had to be official. ;)
In order to run PhysX "on" AMD hardware itself, you need the technology, which is under the property of nVidia. For that, you need to buy it from them.

An "inofficial" hack is going to be public once made, and obviously they'll be one of the first to know about it. It's a non-possibility.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.93/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#11
I'm not saying I have any idea what would be involved or how difficult it would be or that I even think it's feasible, but legitimacy has never stopped hackers before. Nobody said it had to be official. ;)
If they could reverse engineer and get it to work when it was locked down, they will get it to work easier, and better, now that the platform is open source.

In order to run PhysX "on" AMD hardware itself, you need the technology, which is under the property of nVidia. For that, you need to buy it from them.

An "inofficial" hack is going to be public once made, and obviously they'll be the first one to know about it. It's no possibility.
Are you new to the internet? All sorts of shit that's illegal is available, this is no exception. AMD has the technology to run that shit, but Nvidia controls the patents to it. So rather than pay licensing fees (assuming Nvidia even offered them) AMD chooses to just ignore PhysX since it only applies to like 5% of games released anyway.
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#12
If they could reverse engineer and get it to work when it was locked down, they will get it to work easier, and better, now that the platform is open source.
Look, PhysX isn't the exact same thing as CUDA. It does work through it, but it's LOCKED to nVidia. There's no way to run it on AMD unless you're going to break laws.

"PhysX" is under the registery of nVidia. It's owned by them and can't be re-applied.

You're acting no different than a stupid AMD fanboy.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.17/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#13
In order to run PhysX "on" AMD hardware itself, you need the technology, which is under the property of nVidia. For that, you need to buy it from them.

An "inofficial" hack is going to be public once made, and obviously they'll be one of the first to know about it. It's a non-possibility.
K. It gets released, people download it, nvidia gets it pulled from original servers, and people who downloaded it just share it over P2P.

edit: And I hope you don't call me an AMD fanboy too, because I don't even really like them :laugh:
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#14
K. It gets released, people download it, nvidia gets it pulled from original servers, and people who downloaded it just share it over P2P.

edit: And I hope you don't call me an AMD fanboy too, because I don't even really like them :laugh:
The driver level block isn't protected by laws. It's just a simple line of code. You can break it. PhysX however IS protected by a law. In order to run it on a non-nVidia GPU, you have to pay nVidia. End of story.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.17/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#15
The driver level block isn't protected by laws. It's just a simple line of code. You can break it. PhysX however IS protected by a law. In order to run it on a non-nVidia GPU, you have to pay nVidia. End of story.
Hey, I already stated I had no clue about what was actually necessary. All I was arguing was that the "legitimacy" of any potential hacks or whatever is irrelevant.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
2,785 (1.22/day)
Likes
1,672
Location
New Zealand
System Name MoneySink
Processor 2600K @ 4.8
Motherboard P8Z77-V
Cooling AC NexXxos XT45 360, RayStorm, D5T+XSPC tank, Tygon R-3603, Bitspower
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600C8
Video Card(s) GTX 780 SLI (EVGA SC ACX + Giga GHz Ed.)
Storage Kingston HyperX SSD (128) OS, WD RE4 (1TB), RE2 (1TB), Cav. Black (2 x 500GB), Red (4TB)
Display(s) Achieva Shimian QH270-IPSMS (2560x1440) S-IPS
Case NZXT Switch 810
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek yawn edition
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050
Software Win8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3.5 litres of Pale Ale in 18 minutes.
#16
If they could reverse engineer and get it to work when it was locked down, they will get it to work easier, and better, now that the platform is open source.
Nvidia's stance has been (I think) that 1. It's an Nvidia bought-and-paid-for tech, 2. JHH is a stubborn mule, and 3. Nvidia couldn't make PhysX workable with AMD unless they both *shockhorror* collaborated to ensure compatibility every time the PhysX engine is updated
AMD has the technology to run that shit, but Nvidia controls the patents to it. So rather than pay licensing fees (assuming Nvidia even offered them) AMD chooses to just ignore PhysX since it only applies to like 5% of games released anyway.
True enough. It would also make sense to offer PhysX to AMD card owners if Nvidia got something out of the deal (i.e. the use of an Nv card for PhysX processing). Realistically, an AMD card owner isn't going to jump ship to Nvidia based on some eye-candy in a few games...and if they are staying AMD, why not make a low/mainstream sale to those people who prefer an AMD primary GPU? Certainly makes more sense than locking half the gamers out of the tech. Sales + gaming goodwill. Having PhysX available to both AMD and Nvidia users would also likely help it become more widespread I would think.


In the greater scheme of things, I think Nvidia opening up CUDA is just Nvidia covering it's bases. They probably see that OpenCL (Nvidia are part of the Khronos group) will gain traction over time, and that CUDA ports to OpenCL without too much difficulty. Most Dev's would likely know the same, so it looks as though Nvidia looks to widen CUDA uptake while still playing the "open source" cards.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.93/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#17
Look, PhysX isn't the exact same thing as CUDA. It does work through it, but it's LOCKED to nVidia. There's no way to run it on AMD unless you're going to break laws.

"PhysX" is under the registery of nVidia. It's owned by them and can't be re-applied.
I think you're missing the point. Nobody is claiming it means AMD can market or develop products that use PhysX, people are debating whether or not it can be cracked and programed to run natively on their cards. Currently it basically offloads the PhsyX processing to the CPU when it detects an AMD card and forces it to use some super awful Instruction Set from the early 2000's rather than a streamlined one.

All people are interested in is whether or not this will make a hack possible that improves performance in PhysX-powered games when using AMD cards. Which it more than likely will since people won't have to spend tons of time on trial and error with reverse engineering.

You're acting no different than a stupid AMD fanboy.
Not sure what prompted that considering you could not be any more wrong.
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#18
All people are interested in is whether or not this will make a hack possible that improves performance in PhysX-powered games when using AMD cards. Which it more than likely will since people won't have to spend tons of time on trial and error with reverse engineering.
And how exactly are you expecting that to happen since AMD doesn't use CUDA? They use a VLIW architecture that renders differently per-shader.

Not sure what prompted that considering you could not be any more wrong.
You could not be more wrong, not me.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.93/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#19
And how exactly are you expecting that to happen since AMD doesn't use CUDA? They use a VLIW architecture that renders differently per-shader.
Because with the platform it runs on openned they can find out exactly how everything works, then mix and match how it works with the way AMD GPU's function. Not exactly a complicated concept. People already have made various exploits that get PhysX running (poorly) on AMD platforms, so it's not completely impossible. They just waster hundreds of hours trying to find ways to get it to work since everything is locked down.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,696 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#20
PhysX on SSE (particularly AVX) hmmm...
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#21
to academic researchers and software-tool vendors
this is not a general public release, don't expect anything to come out of it.

if you use CUDA to simulate your weapons of mass destructions you can now build your own processor (ASIC) and port CUDA to work with it, so you can simulate more and better