• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVMe SSD Not Showing Up In Windows on AMD System

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,780 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
This all relates to my previous thread on my struggles with running RAID on AMD here.

This is on my AMD Rig4 in my signature, but I'll give a brief rundown on system specs just in case my signature or the rig changes in the future:

Ryzen 5 2600
X470 Taichi Ultimate
16GB DDR4-2933
GTX1060
850W Corsair HX850
240GB SATA SSD - OS(Inland Professional)
1TB NVMe SSD - Cache Disk(ADATA SX8200 Pro)
HighPoint 2722 SAS RAID Controller
-5x6TB HDDs in RAID6​
-6x3TB HDDs in RAID5​
-2 Random HDDs running as stand alone drives​
Now, originally I had the NVMe drive and 2x120GB SSDs in RAID1 connected to the motherboard. That experiment failed thanks to AMD not supporting TRIM when their controllers are in RAID mode, and all the drives becoming painfully slow(it came to a head when it took over an hour to install Windows 10 Updates). Also, the Cache disk was pretty much worthless because writes directly to the RAID arrays were quicker than writes to the NVMe SSD I was using as a cache.

So, I cloned the OS from the 2x120GB SSDs over to a single 240GB SSD using Acronis True Image. System booted just fine. Then I went into the BIOS and switched the SATA controller from RAID to AHCI and disabled RAID mode on the NVMe(you have to do it in two different placed in the BIOS for some stupid reason). I booted into Windows, it auto installed the AMD SATA driver and asked me to reboot, and it booted just fine.

That's when I noticed the NVMe drive wasn't showing up in Windows. Not that it wasn't showing up in This PC, it wasn't showing up anywhere. It wasn't in Disk Management and it wasn't in Device Manager, no where in Windows.

So, things I've tried:

Uninstalled everything AMD I could find in Programs and Features and Apps.
Re-installed the standard AMD Chipset driver.
Reset the BIOS to defaults.
Flashed the latest BIOS.
Removed the Highpoint card to make sure it wasn't interfering somehow.
Changed the NVMe drive to a different NVMe slot.
Moved the NVMe drive to another computer to confirm it is working.

So now I'm stumped... Any ideas?
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
750 (1.61/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
Reinstall Windows? Seems like you've already tried everything I would logically suggest. It doesn't show up in the BIOS?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,780 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Reinstall Windows?

That's what I'm trying to avoid. This would be the second re-install thanks to this fight, because the system freaked out when I added the NVMe drive and somehow Windows was corrupted.

Reinstall Windows? Seems like you've already tried everything I would logically suggest. It doesn't show up in the BIOS?
Sounds like it's not showing up in BIOS.

It shows up in the BIOS normally. It is just not in Windows.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
7,891 (1.31/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Did you try disabling CSM and fast boot options?
Also, can you see it in Disk Management? You might have to "enable" it there.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,780 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
62 (0.01/day)
System Name Crap
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI MPG x570 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-U125
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2070 Super Windforce OC
Storage SAMSUNG 970 EVO 500GB SAMSUNG 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Display(s) Asus VG248QG 24” G-Sync 165Hz
Case Test Bench
Audio Device(s) Nvidia High Defination Audio
Power Supply Corsair RM750X Modular
Mouse Logitech G602 Wireless
Keyboard Redragon K552-RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64-Bit Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20.060 - 6323
If it doesn't show up in Disk Management you might want to RMA the drive.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,774 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Silicon power qlc nvmex3 in raid 0/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Yes.



No, as I said in the first post, it is not in Disk Management or Device Manager.
Could it be that it's a Gpt partition tied to an OS that doesn't recognize it.
I have been having similar issues after using a 8Tb externally plugged in initially to copy the old drive contents.
When internalised it wasn't recognized by the same Os that effing made it externally.
It took deleting via diskpart on another pc to fix it for me.

Gpt is a pain if used.

My phone's one more niggle from getting f'd up against a wall.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,780 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
If it doesn't show up in Disk Management you might want to RMA the drive.

It shows up in the BIOS, it showed up just fine before I changed the BIOS option to disable NVMe RAID, and it shows up on every other computer I have tried it on. So I don't think it is the drive.


Could it be that it's a Gpt partition tied to an OS that doesn't recognize it.
I have been having similar issues after using a 8Tb externally plugged in initially to copy the old drive contents.
When internalised it wasn't recognized by the same Os that effing made it externally.
It took deleting via diskpart on another pc to fix it for me.

Gpt is a pain if used.

The drive should still be listed in Disk Management, but with an unknown partition.

Even still, it doesn't show up even in diskpart.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,774 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Silicon power qlc nvmex3 in raid 0/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
It shows up in the BIOS, it showed up just fine before I changed the BIOS option to disable NVMe RAID, and it shows up on every other computer I have tried it on. So I don't think it is the drive.




The drive should still be listed in Disk Management, but with an unknown partition.

Even still, it doesn't show up even in diskpart.
I don't suppose you have a usb to nvme adapter so you can try it in another pc easily.

Mine didn't show either initially took deleting the original partitions on another pc to bring it back to visible and more staring about in diskpart to get it working.

Could be a bios option you missed possibly disabling it ie pciex lane allocation or nvme support and also now you have Sata working right can't you try re enabling nvme raid to see if it shows up , it should still boot fine From SATA ahci despite enabling that.

Nvme 2.2 goes missing with some settings on mine I by it disabled now in fact on purpose.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,780 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I don't suppose you have a usb to nvme adapter so you can try it in another pc easily.

Mine didn't show either initially took deleting the original partitions on another pc to bring it back to visible and more staring about in diskpart to get it working.

Could be a bios option you missed possibly disabling it ie pciex lane allocation or nvme support and also now you have Sata working right can't you try re enabling nvme raid to see if it shows up , it should still boot fine From SATA ahci despite enabling that.

Nvme 2.2 goes missing with some settings on mine I by it disabled now in fact on purpose.

I've already tried it on another computer, it shows up just fine.

Literally the only setting in the BIOS I have changed is changing NVMe RAID from enabled to disabled. I could see it in Windows before changing that option.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,774 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Silicon power qlc nvmex3 in raid 0/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
I've already tried it on another computer, it shows up just fine.

Literally the only setting in the BIOS I have changed is changing NVMe RAID from enabled to disabled. I could see it in Windows before changing that option.
I think it's possible wiping it would fix it as I said , just throwing you ideas bro it shows in another pc as mine did.
Your OS is seeing it as a drive you have no rights to see or something IMHO, I've had this twice only wiping got it working for me.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,780 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I think it's possible wiping it would fix it as I said , just throwing you ideas bro it shows in another pc as mine did.
Your OS is seeing it as a drive you have no rights to see or something IMHO, I've had this twice only wiping got it working for me.

I forgot to say I ran a clean command on it when it was in the other machine.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,774 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Silicon power qlc nvmex3 in raid 0/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
I forgot to say I ran a clean command on it when it was in the other machine.
Good lord bro you have my issues beat in the wtaf domain then sorry.
Have you tried re enabling nvme raid , checked pciex allocation stuff , I realize you have only moved one setting but sometimes odd stuff happens elsewhere unexpectedly.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,780 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Good lord bro you have my issues beat in the wtaf domain then sorry.
Have you tried re enabling nvme raid , checked pciex allocation stuff , I realize you have only moved one setting but sometimes odd stuff happens elsewhere unexpectedly.

Yeah, I did a BIOS flash and reset.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,076 (3.59/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Full Size Wireless Apple Magic Keyboard
Software MacOS 10.15.7
If you want to rule out Windows as the issue, have you tried booting a relatively new Linux distro from a flash drive to see if it shows up there? I'd feel better about calling it a BIOS issue if it could be reproduced with either a clean installation or another OS.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,774 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Silicon power qlc nvmex3 in raid 0/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Yeah, I did a BIOS flash and reset.
You said it worked in another pc , did you try creating a drive on it , copy some files to definitively destroy the last partition then put it back in yours.
Mine misrepresented a fair few times it took me three days and a fair few attempts to get it alive.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,780 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
If you want to rule out Windows as the issue, have you tried booting a relatively new Linux distro from a flash drive to see if it shows up there? I'd feel better about calling it a BIOS issue if it could be reproduced with either a clean installation or another OS.

I've got a few WindowsPE flash drives floating around, heck I can probably boot into a Windows 10 install drive and see if it sees it there. I'll try that.

You said it worked in another pc , did you try creating a drive on it , copy some files to definitively destroy the last partition then put it back in yours.
Mine misrepresented a fair few times it took me three days and a fair few attempts to get it alive.

Yes, the drive is fully functional in another machine. In fact, when I put it in the other machine, the partition that was on it showed up on that PC and I could read files and write files to it normally. I did a clean command on the drive and re-initialized it and created a new partition just to be safe.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,774 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Silicon power qlc nvmex3 in raid 0/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
I've got a few WindowsPE flash drives floating around, heck I can probably boot into a Windows 10 install drive and see if it sees it there. I'll try that.



Yes, the drive is fully functional in another machine. In fact, when I put it in the other machine, the partition that was on it showed up on that PC and I could read files and write files to it normally. I did a clean command on the drive and re-initialized it and created a new partition just to be safe.
Write a smallish file to it too though?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,780 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
442 (0.78/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS
Memory 32gb G.Skill F4-4000C18D-32GVK
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra Gaming
Storage 9.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz, LG 43" 4k HDR TV 43UM6910PUA
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod, G602, M705
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB + K57 RGB Wireless
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
Dumb question have you tried the mobo manufacturer nvme driver? It'll be on the mobo install disc somewhere. Does anything show in device manager with a yellow or red icon?
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,657 (0.88/day)
Location
Washington, US
System Name Rainbow
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k
Motherboard MSI MPG Z390M GAMING EDGE AC
Cooling Corsair H115i, 2x Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-3000 PWM
Memory G. Skill TridentZ RGB 4x8GB (F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT MECH OC
Storage 2x Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST Deskstar 4TB 7.2K
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Xigmatek Aquila
Power Supply Seasonic 760W SS-760XP
Mouse Razer Deathadder 2013
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 4 trillion points in GmailMark, over 144 FPS 2K Facebook Scrolling (Extreme Quality preset)
I can probably boot into a Windows 10 install drive and see if it sees it there. I'll try that.
I would be curious to know this too. Should hopefully point us in the direction of it being an issue with that particular Windows install or if it still doesn't show up, maybe some kind of incompatibility with that NVMe driver and the mobo's AHCI?
 

DAPUNISHER

New Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2019
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Should hopefully point us in the direction of it being an issue with that particular Windows install
That was the problem in my case. Had a similar issue with a WD Black NVMe not being seen by windows, but appearing in the UEFI. I installed WD SSD dashboard, and fortunately it did see it. It allowed me to erase and format it, which then made it show up in windows. ADATA has their own toolbox, worth a try if it has not already been efforted http://www.adata.com/en/ss/software-6/
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,780 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Dumb question have you tried the mobo manufacturer nvme driver? It'll be on the mobo install disc somewhere. Does anything show in device manager with a yellow or red icon?

The only NVMe driver the manufacturer provides is the NVMe RAID driver. I guess the normal NVMe driver is bundled with the chipset, which is just AMD's chipset driver zipped up. Which I've already tried installing.

Nothing with a yellow or red icon.

I would be curious to know this too. Should hopefully point us in the direction of it being an issue with that particular Windows install or if it still doesn't show up, maybe some kind of incompatibility with that NVMe driver and the mobo's AHCI?

I'll try to get this done today.

That was the problem in my case. Had a similar issue with a WD Black NVMe not being seen by windows, but appearing in the UEFI. I installed WD SSD dashboard, and fortunately it did see it. It allowed me to erase and format it, which then made it show up in windows. ADATA has their own toolbox, worth a try if it has not already been efforted http://www.adata.com/en/ss/software-6/

No dice, the tool didn't detect the drive at all.
 
  • Sad
Reactions: xvi
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
7,891 (1.31/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
And what happens if you force remove the NVMe RAID driver? As it seems that it might be the cause of the problem at this point.
 
Top