• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Obsidian 800D One hot swap bay will never work

Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
266 (0.10/day)
Likes
15
Processor i7 3930K 3.2 stock @ ~4.0
Motherboard Asus P9x79 DELUXE
Cooling Phanteks CPU cooler
Memory 6 x 4 Gb Kingston HyperX RAM triple channel 24GB total
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980 G1 4GB x2 SLI
Storage 1 ADATA 512Gb (primary OS) 2 X 64GB Agility 2 SSD in RAID0
Display(s) Benq XL2420T, 24" LED Gaming Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Power 1000W
Software Win 8.1 Enterprise x64
Benchmark Scores They're good!!!
#1
OK so here's a strange one.

I can't use all 4 bays at once. I can only use 3 of them. Right now I have the top three bays in use. Top two are 2 velociraptor drives in RAID 0. Under them is my Mushkin SSD OS drive but the bottom drive (agility 2 SSD 64Gb) is not detected.

Here's the spin. If I take out all the drives and put the agility 2 SSD drive on the bottom tray, my bios detects it and so will windows. But the instant I use all the drives the bottom one disappears in the bios and in windows.

Has anyone else had this issue?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,926 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,590
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#2
Did this just start with the addition of this computer case? Did the other components work before the case was added?

If all the drives work in all said hot swaps then the issue is in the mobo I would think.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
266 (0.10/day)
Likes
15
Processor i7 3930K 3.2 stock @ ~4.0
Motherboard Asus P9x79 DELUXE
Cooling Phanteks CPU cooler
Memory 6 x 4 Gb Kingston HyperX RAM triple channel 24GB total
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980 G1 4GB x2 SLI
Storage 1 ADATA 512Gb (primary OS) 2 X 64GB Agility 2 SSD in RAID0
Display(s) Benq XL2420T, 24" LED Gaming Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Power 1000W
Software Win 8.1 Enterprise x64
Benchmark Scores They're good!!!
#3
I think it's always been that way.... I'm using all 4 hot swap bays so could it just be a matter of overload? The back plate only comes with one power outlet so I'm wondering if that's the reason. I checked the bios and all 4 bays are "enabled". But the bios doesn't detect the drive either.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,926 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,590
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#4
Bye pass the hot swap bays and attach them directly to the mobo just to test and see if its the same issue.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Location
Spain
System Name X299
Processor I7-7820X
Motherboard ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110 Extreme Performance
Memory 64GB G.Skill Ripjaws V (F4-2800C14Q-64GVK)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-N108TD5X-B
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512GB MZ-V5P512BW / Samsung 850 PRO 1TB / WD101KRYZ-01JPDB0
Display(s) Asus PG279Q ROG SWIFT
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 750D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum-860
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M65
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64Bits
#5
I have the same problem with a G.Skill FM-25S2S-120GBP2 and G.Skill FM-25S2S-60GBP2.
With ssd sata 3 I have no problem.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
266 (0.10/day)
Likes
15
Processor i7 3930K 3.2 stock @ ~4.0
Motherboard Asus P9x79 DELUXE
Cooling Phanteks CPU cooler
Memory 6 x 4 Gb Kingston HyperX RAM triple channel 24GB total
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980 G1 4GB x2 SLI
Storage 1 ADATA 512Gb (primary OS) 2 X 64GB Agility 2 SSD in RAID0
Display(s) Benq XL2420T, 24" LED Gaming Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Power 1000W
Software Win 8.1 Enterprise x64
Benchmark Scores They're good!!!
#6
Come to think of it... All three drives are sata 3 with the Agility being sata 2... So do you think that's the issue?
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Location
Spain
System Name X299
Processor I7-7820X
Motherboard ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110 Extreme Performance
Memory 64GB G.Skill Ripjaws V (F4-2800C14Q-64GVK)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-N108TD5X-B
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512GB MZ-V5P512BW / Samsung 850 PRO 1TB / WD101KRYZ-01JPDB0
Display(s) Asus PG279Q ROG SWIFT
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 750D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum-860
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M65
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64Bits
#7
I think SANFORCE 1200 is the problem...
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
266 (0.10/day)
Likes
15
Processor i7 3930K 3.2 stock @ ~4.0
Motherboard Asus P9x79 DELUXE
Cooling Phanteks CPU cooler
Memory 6 x 4 Gb Kingston HyperX RAM triple channel 24GB total
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980 G1 4GB x2 SLI
Storage 1 ADATA 512Gb (primary OS) 2 X 64GB Agility 2 SSD in RAID0
Display(s) Benq XL2420T, 24" LED Gaming Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Power 1000W
Software Win 8.1 Enterprise x64
Benchmark Scores They're good!!!
#8
I'll try pulling my raid drives out and putting it into a wirking slot then upgrade the firmware. MAYBE that will help lol
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
266 (0.10/day)
Likes
15
Processor i7 3930K 3.2 stock @ ~4.0
Motherboard Asus P9x79 DELUXE
Cooling Phanteks CPU cooler
Memory 6 x 4 Gb Kingston HyperX RAM triple channel 24GB total
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980 G1 4GB x2 SLI
Storage 1 ADATA 512Gb (primary OS) 2 X 64GB Agility 2 SSD in RAID0
Display(s) Benq XL2420T, 24" LED Gaming Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Power 1000W
Software Win 8.1 Enterprise x64
Benchmark Scores They're good!!!
#9
All the drives work... Turns out it's the Back plate. Called Corsair for RMA. DONE!!! Now we play the waiting game ;)