• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OC Assistance: E5200 & P35-DS3L

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
8,009 (1.96/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Corsair Harpoon Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
I am trying to get this cpu to 3.0-3.6ghz stable for WCG. I read a lot of FAQs, stickies, and threads before attempting, but evidently I missed something.

@stock 200x12.5- Vcore BIOS- 1.2375, CPUID Idle 1.20, OCCT Small Data 1.18

@333x9- Vcore BIOS- 1.325, CPUID Idle 1.28, OCCT 1.26

At 333x9 it ran OCCT Small Data High Priority for 2 hours. No errors and a max temp of 56C with high ambient temps. Only other voltage increase was +.1 DDR2 w/ Auto Timings 5-5-5-15 I believe. It ran WCG for 8 hours with no errors. I figure it was stable enough for its purpose. I've read a lot of other WCG members running OCCT for a shorter amount of time with no issue, which is why I chose 2 hours for stability.

Today I was using the computer with WCG running and the computer froze twice and BSOD'd once. Max temp 55C. OCCT freezes the computer within 5 minutes. I upped the Vcore .0125, +.2 DDR2, and +.1 MCH with the same results. I think the voltage is already too high for a paltry 3ghz, no?

I can get it to post 3.33 w/ BIOS Vcore 1.3937 which has me thinking 3.6 is probably not going to happen. Right now I would be satisfied with 3.0 stable and elated for 3.33 stable w/o excessive volts.

The rest of the components are listed in my system specs (WCG0). BIOS is the latest F9 version. Any help is appreciated. Let me know if there is any other pertinent info I forgot to add. I am not an avid OCer so bear with me please, thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
2,250 (0.54/day)
System Name Always changing
Processor TBD
Motherboard ASRock Z97 Extreme3
Cooling Himalaya 2
Memory G.Skill RipJaws DDR3 2400 Cas 11
Video Card(s) TBD
Storage OCZ ARC 240GB
Display(s) Nec 23" 1080P LED
Case Antec Eleven Hundred V2
You got a bad cpu man most e5200's hit 3ghz-3.33ghz stock vcore. Try lowering the ram divider
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
8,009 (1.96/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Corsair Harpoon Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
Attempted 250x12 @ stock Vcore, +.1 DDR2 and MCH, 2 SPD Divider posted but no Windows. Bumped Vcore up to 1.3265, still no Windows. Did the same thing with 333 FSB with no luck either.

I also tried out 220x12.5, stock Vcore, +.1 DDR2 and MCH and it got to Windows and failed OCCT 4 seconds into the load test.

This is very disappointing. I can't imagine how hard it will be to sell an E5200 that cant clock. The member I bought it from thought it would do upper 3s, but in the end it is all luck of the draw.

Thanks for the tip, I am pretty much ready to call it. Anyone have any other tips before I try to get rid of this CPU?

You got a bad cpu man most e5200's hit 3ghz-3.33ghz stock vcore. Try lowering the ram divider
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.70/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
any possible way you can RMA it? Also you try upping the NB voltage and PLL maybe even the term.volt alittle
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,687 (0.80/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
how could he rma it? just cause it doesn't oc won't be a reason to get it through intel's doors. I guess he could try to explain some issue he has with it to the store he bought it from.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,747 (8.29/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim (4.3GHz 1.2v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
use OCCT's linpack test, its more stressful than the regular test, so it will show up errors faster. 1-2 hours of linpack will show up any problems that may have been missed in other tests.

I'd be watching your ram, often people miss simple things like ram overheating, or NB overheating.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
8,009 (1.96/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Corsair Harpoon Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
How high is safe for the NB voltage? From what I have read, the P35-DS3L runs hot as is. Whats safe for the term volt? Just to verify that is the FSB Volt setting in my BIOS, right? I have read something about PLL before, but I think with my FSB being under 333 I shouldn't touch it.

I don't think RMA is an option. I bought it from a member here and shipping it back and forth to complete RMA in addition to getting the RMA approved is probably not worth the effort.

Sorry for all the questions. Thanks!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,747 (8.29/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim (4.3GHz 1.2v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
for a mere 333 FSB, you should be able to use stock voltage on just about everything.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.70/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
how could he rma it? just cause it doesn't oc won't be a reason to get it through intel's doors. I guess he could try to explain some issue he has with it to the store he bought it from.
i have heard stories of people RMAing there chip because it didn't overclock good. Some even told intel that others made up lies
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,747 (8.29/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim (4.3GHz 1.2v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
333x9 = 3Ghz

273x11 = 3003Mhz (aka, 3GHz)

Why not try the far lower FSB, same CPU clocks, lower NB stress, possibly lower voltages needed?
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
8,009 (1.96/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Corsair Harpoon Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
It doesn't pass OCCT small stress test with 220x12.5 stock Vcore, +.1DDR2 and MCH.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,747 (8.29/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim (4.3GHz 1.2v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
try the stock FSB's (200, 266, 333) with lower multis.

If you cant pass 266x9 for example, you're missing something - ram set wrong (voltage/timings/MHz) or somethings weirdly incompatible (need a BIOS update, etc), or PSU is too weak
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
8,009 (1.96/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Corsair Harpoon Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
266x9, 266x10, booted into windows all stock settings, did not run any stability tests.

266x11 no go @ stock volts, but with a slight bump +.0125 it can get to Windows to fail Linpack in 10 seconds.

It's late so I am going to quit on this for tonight.

Tomorrow I am going to attempt it again and keep a clear log of exactly what voltages were along with the multiplier settings. That way I can be very clear as to what I tried and the results (my piece of scratch paper is not cutting it).

Thanks for the tips, hopefully you will be here tomorrow as well.

edit-
Just remembered, I posted it @ 3.6 and it froze in the BIOS earlier today. Had to reset the computer 2x before it would enter the BIOS again. Should I reflash the BIOS to make sure its fine, or does that happen sometimes and I shouldn't worry about it?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,747 (8.29/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim (4.3GHz 1.2v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
dont reflash the bios, thats not needed.


What you need to do is test CPU clocks, and memory clocks seperately - so you know CPU needs 1.30v for 3.2GHz, ram needs 1.95v for 960Mhz, NB needs 1.4v for 450 FSB, that kinda thing


You keep track, so that you know what you need to do when you want a certain combination.
my CPU needs 1.18v for 3.8Ghz (i know, awesome chip), so i can do 400x9.5 or 450x8.5 - i know that both will need the same CPU voltage, but that the mobo will need more NB voltage (since i tested at 450x6 until it was stable) and that the ram needs 1.90v (since i tested 200 FSB at 800Mhz ram, and kept raising and testing in memtest, til it wasnt stable)
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
8,009 (1.96/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Corsair Harpoon Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
333x9 1.3Vcore idle, 1.28Vcore OCCT Linpack, DDR2 @ 2.096v = pass OCCT Linpack 1hr 90% test.

Safe to leave my RAM V that high? I have G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-1GBNQ. The heatspreaders on them are very cool to the touch (my case has excellent air flow).

Going to let it run WCG for the next 8 hours again. When I wake up I will try browsing, play movies, and Crunching to see if I can duplicate the freezing and BSOD, hopefully it will be fine. Thanks for all your help, I am learning a lot about this process.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,747 (8.29/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim (4.3GHz 1.2v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
DDR2 ram is safe to about 2.2v, as long as its cool. if you cant hold your finger on it, its too hot.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,983 (1.73/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-34-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse logitech hero
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores pretty fast!
I would RMA both board and chip... "it doesn't work - BSOD at stock settings" (lie). That being said it sounds like a bad board, not a bad chip.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,687 (0.80/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
it does pass linpack or OCCT's stress test at stock right? if it doesn't like mussels said something else in your config is messing up. Mussels has you covered here for advice but i just wanted to throw in my opinion :)

Also, i personally never use linpack, i've always used OCCT and my pc never crashes on me if i pass it, linpack is just a rediculous stress test imo. no useful or entertaining program will EVER come close to stressing you CPU like linpack does.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
8,009 (1.96/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Corsair Harpoon Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
I would RMA both board and chip... "it doesn't work - BSOD at stock settings" (lie). That being said it sounds like a bad board, not a bad chip.
I don't think RMA is an option for a variety of reasons. What exactly makes it seem like a bad board? I do not have another 775 board (that supports 45nm) around to test the chip in unfortunately.

it does pass linpack or OCCT's stress test at stock right? if it doesn't like mussels said something else in your config is messing up. Mussels has you covered here for advice but i just wanted to throw in my opinion :)

Also, i personally never use linpack, i've always used OCCT and my pc never crashes on me if i pass it, linpack is just a rediculous stress test imo. no useful or entertaining program will EVER come close to stressing you CPU like linpack does.
It passes OCCT and OCCT's Linpack at stock, and it did pass OCCT Linpack for 1 hour max stress at 333x9 with the voltages mentioned in my last post. I don't understand how the original 333x9 settings (in my first post) pass OCCT Small Data Sets for 2 hours then BSODs with a combination of Windows Media Player, FireFox, and BOINC.

It did crunch 6 hours straight no issue so far. I had a movie open in WMP, opened 25 tabs in FF, and started seeking around to random points in the movie with BOINC running and it did not BSOD. Im going to try it again when it gets hotter.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,698 (4.05/day)
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and SOHO Server
Processor Ryzen 3600 : Ryzen 1700 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Giga X470 Aorus : Biostar X370 GT5
Cooling Stock : Liquid cooled
Memory 2x16GB Oloy 3600 : 2x4GB Viper Elite 2667
Video Card(s) EVGA 2060 KO Ultra : XFX R5 220
Storage 1TB NVME HGST 2TB : WD 10TB + WD 3TB + HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150
Display(s) Asus 27" + Sceptre 24" : headless
Case CM Masterbox RGB: DIYPC D480-W White Window
Audio Device(s) nVidia's audio : Onboard
Power Supply HCG 850W Bronze : Tt 775W Modular
Mouse Tt Challenger : None
Keyboard Rosewill Neon : None
Software Windows 10: Zorin 12.3
Just out of curiosity;

Is your chip an R0 or an M0? Can you post a CPUz screenshot for me.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
8,009 (1.96/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Corsair Harpoon Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
Its an M0, here is a CPUz capture (currently running WCG in background @ 100% load). Let me know if there are other tabs you would like to see.

 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,983 (1.73/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-34-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse logitech hero
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores pretty fast!
What makes it seem like a bad board is the probability of not being able to hit 3.0Ghz with even high volts. Even a dud e5200 is likely to get past 3Ghz;

Thing is, when you start reaching the limits of the chip/board you really can't tell what is failing the tests, because they have nearly identical symptoms. That is when you have to step back and think... Hmm the average OC for this chip is 3.6+Ghz with ease, the board, however, is a bit more temperamental, replete with massive v-droop and FSB holes (i used to have that board).

My problem was always NB heat on that board, as the puny heatsink they use on DS3L will get melting hot (touch it - its fun). Oh btw i found the F7 bios to OC the best (got my e4300 to 3.4Ghz), but am unsure if it works with the 45nm's.

Edit: One good way to find out if it is the board is to run a 400Mhz FSB, 800Mhz ram and a 7 multi - if it posts and is stable in windows, then it is the chip that is holding you back. If it doesn't post even with a low multi then it is the board.

Don't forget to touch the nb heatsink ;). Hope that helps, good luck on your oc :toast:
 
Last edited:

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,698 (4.05/day)
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and SOHO Server
Processor Ryzen 3600 : Ryzen 1700 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Giga X470 Aorus : Biostar X370 GT5
Cooling Stock : Liquid cooled
Memory 2x16GB Oloy 3600 : 2x4GB Viper Elite 2667
Video Card(s) EVGA 2060 KO Ultra : XFX R5 220
Storage 1TB NVME HGST 2TB : WD 10TB + WD 3TB + HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150
Display(s) Asus 27" + Sceptre 24" : headless
Case CM Masterbox RGB: DIYPC D480-W White Window
Audio Device(s) nVidia's audio : Onboard
Power Supply HCG 850W Bronze : Tt 775W Modular
Mouse Tt Challenger : None
Keyboard Rosewill Neon : None
Software Windows 10: Zorin 12.3
Thanks onedub

Try out 10.5x333 1.4v in bios; Im guessing 1.4v in bios would give about 1.38v in Windows. Trust me on this that M0 revisions of these chips dont mind high volts, you have to clock them like they are a 65nm chip.

Also, what do you have your CPU GTL's set at?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,983 (1.73/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-34-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse logitech hero
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores pretty fast!
Thanks onedub

Try out 10.5x333 1.4v in bios; Im guessing 1.4v in bios would give about 1.38v in Windows. Trust me on this that M0 revisions of these chips dont mind high volts, you have to clock them like they are a 65nm chip.

Also, what do you have your CPU GTL's set at?
Last I remember, that board does not have GTL ref options.
 

yaji

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Pentium DC E5200
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Cooling Auras Wave
Memory Geil 4x1GB DDR2 800Mhz CL4
Video Card(s) HiS Radeon HD4850 512MB
Storage Western Digital 3200AAKS 320GB
Display(s) LG W2242T
Case Dunno
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Extreme Gamer
Power Supply Chieftec GPS-450AA-101A
Software Windows 7 Pro / Ubuntu 10.04
I have got the same CPU and board. I cant go above 3Ghz too. I ended with 266x11.5@1.325v. I think that DS3L dont "like" e5200...
 
Top