• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

OC has suddenly become unstable

Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#1
I've been trying to install XP onto an old 20GB HDD so I can use my shitty Mustek scanner, but it wouldn't install after about 7 atempts using different CDs and HDDs. I figured it was because my mobo was slightly oced to 333FSB (jumper was set to that), so I put the jumper back to default and removed 2GB of ram so it was running at stock speed and with 2GB of RAM (I've heard you can have problems installing an OS sing 4GB).

To cut a long story short, XP wouln't install, it did the first part, but when it came to the part where it boots from disk to finish installation, it said "boot mgr missing press ctrl+alt+del to restart" with a few corrupt characters displaying green an pink and blue squares.

I gave up with the whole thing and thought it's not gonna work so fuck it (not literally). So I remove the ancient 20GB HDD from my system, pop the 2gb back in and change the OC jumper to 333FSB again, load my BIOS settings (specs on left) and proceed to boot. I get BSOD after BSOD. So I'm now running at 425*8 and it seems stable for now. But why can't I get it back to 486FSB after changing a jumper and removing/replacing RAM? Is this normal? Did I do something wrong?

I've already tried reseting BIOS and starting my original OC again but still getting BSODs :(

Any help MUCH appreciated! And you get a cookie for reading through all of this!!!! :):respect:
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,260
Likes
3,361
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#2
Don't know what to tell you about the OC, but where's my cookie? :D
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#3
swap the ram locations. its possible your system was only stable in a particular order, and you put them back differently.

cookie nao plz.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#4
I'll try swapping the RAM around, thanks mussels. It makes sense if it is that, because that's the only physical change I made.

Here's your cookie BTW

 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#6
Voila, problem solved! swapped RAM around and it's working fine again. Thanks Mussels! Strane that it will only OC well in that exact config, as all 4 DIMMs are the same Patriot memorys.

I better close this tab cos that cookie is amking my hungry lol
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#8
i had a similar problem using a wd 40gb ,boot error ,turned out the HD was b0rked :(
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#9
I tried installing it on my new 750GB samsung F1 drive as well as the antique 20GB one and it gave me the exact same error every time :confused:

And it can't be the disk because I tried with 2 different ones, x86 and x64. I have no idea why I couldn't install XP. It doesn't matter anyway because the reason I wanted to install it was so I could use my new scanner (which Mustek refuse to make Vista drivers for :banghead:) but I just went to a shop and photocopied my timesheet for 10p lol.

Guess I'll never buy a Mustek product again. Glad it's all sorted now though :toast: