• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OC Phenom II 925

Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#1
I have a question to ask about my CPU. How much percentage should i oc my phenom II 925 2.8Ghz from default ? Which voltage should i set and what temp should i keep my cpu running. I plan to use the new OCed core clock daily.
P/s: I have a CM Hyper 212 plus, Psu CM GX V2.3 550W, MB biostar TA790GXA3+. I'm totally new to OCing and hardware.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.32/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#2
what is your goal in terms of clock speed?
I think 3.4-3.6ghz at stock voltage should be possible. try and keep full load temps UNDER 55c and be warned that the biostar board your using is known for blowing the CPU mosfets when overclocking a quad core so i highly recommend against going over stock voltage for safety of the board

EDIT:is this your board
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5039195
if so it looks like they put a heatsink on the mosfets and that should make it stand more of a chance,that was one of the biggest problems with the older ones.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#3
what is your goal in terms of clock speed?
I think 3.4-3.6ghz at stock voltage should be possible. try and keep full load temps UNDER 55c and be warned that the biostar board your using is known for blowing the CPU mosfets when overclocking a quad core so i highly recommend against going over stock voltage for safety of the board

EDIT:is this your board
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5039195
if so it looks like they put a heatsink on the mosfets and that should make it stand more of a chance,that was one of the biggest problems with the older ones.
Yup. That's my mainboard. Thanks for your advice. I'll give it a try :toast:
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#4
IIRC, I had a 965 Black to clock for a while, I know it's not the same proc, try dropping cpu voltage down to 1.3v & raise CPU->NB to 1.25(I think stock is 1.4) and see where that nets you. Should be able to get 3.3-3.4Ghz. That will also keep your board safe.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#5
IIRC, I had a 965 Black to clock for a while, I know it's not the same proc, try dropping cpu voltage down to 1.3v & raise CPU->NB to 1.25(I think stock is 1.4) and see where that nets you. Should be able to get 3.3-3.4Ghz. That will also keep your board safe.
Thanks. I'll try it too:D. Is the stock fan of 965 of yours different from mine ? ( cause i see yours running at higher clock 3.4Ghz ) Mine is here : AMD Phenom II X4 925 Deneb 2.8GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cac... :D
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#6
When I had it I wasn't running on stock. Was on a CM hyper TX3 which your 212+ is leaps and bounds better.

EDIT:



Chip was a friends I was borrowing in March while his board was out for RMA. Mind you it's a black edition so its little easier with it's unlocked multi and it's stock value is 3.4Ghz.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#7
When I had it I wasn't running on stock. Was on a CM hyper TX3 which your 212+ is leaps and bounds better.

EDIT:
http://img.techpowerup.org/100319/Capture020.jpg
http://img.techpowerup.org/100323/Capture022865.jpg

Chip was a friends I was borrowing in March while his board was out for RMA. Mind you it's a black edition so its little easier with it's unlocked multi and it's stock value is 3.4Ghz.
Oh, i see. The multi of non BE AMD Processor is locked at the specific entry and can't be changed right ? Or it can change just a little ? :banghead:
P/s: :What about the bus ram ? I used to have a ddr2 bus 800 and i just can't make it run at 800. In fact it operated at 400Mhz only. Is there any solution for that problem ? Please help me :(
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#8
Oh, i see. The multi of non BE AMD Processor is locked at the specific entry and can't be changed right ? Or it can change just a little ? :banghead:
Can only be lowered.

P/s: :What about the bus ram ? I used to have a ddr2 bus 800 and i just can't make it run at 800. In fact it operated at 400Mhz only. Is there any solution for that problem ? Please help me :(
400mhz? Do you mean 200/400 effective or 400/800 effective?

See my screenshots above.
First ss:
580/1160 effective.
669/1338 effective.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#9
Can only be lowered.



400mhz? Do you mean 200/400 effective or 400/800 effective?

See my screenshots above.
First ss:
580/1160 effective.
669/1338 effective.
I don't know which one of those. Can you explain to me why there are ratio 200/400, 400/800 effective ? It run at 2 speed ? What i saw on the memory box is this " PC2-6400 ):confused:
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#10
I don't know which one of those. Can you explain to me why there are ratio 200/400, 400/800 effective ? It run at 2 speed ? What i saw on the memory box is this " PC2-6400 ):confused:
Double data rate memory. In CPUz you notice how it's showing me 669mhz? Double data rate = 1338 effective. Give me a CPUz screenshot of the memory tab I will show you with a pic.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#11
Double data rate memory. In CPUz you notice how it's showing me 669mhz? Double data rate = 1338 effective. Give me a CPUz screenshot of the memory tab I will show you with a pic.
Is this the software you mention ?
memory2.JPG

memory.JPG
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#12

Yup see 400mhz/800 effective, double data rate.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#13
Oh. I understand it now. Thanks a lot. By the way, the amd platform is the same as intel platform right ? ( ex : 400/800 effective ) If i push the bus ram from 400 to 600, i'll have 600/1200 effective right ? In order to do that do i have to add more voltage for my memory ? :banghead:. I'm gonna buy ddr3 ram. In my country there aren't many brand, in fact there are brand like : kingston, kingmax, team group, elixir, super talent, gskill , corsair, NCP. I don't know which one from those is suitable for my PII 925, biostar TA790GXA3+ v5.1. Can you suggest which one i should buy? :toast:
P/s: When buying memory, what do i HAVE TO care about ? :) ( the pcb, chip, or heat spreader...) Cause this is my first time building my own computer so i want it to be perfect :D
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#14
There are other variables but in theory thats a yes. Would want to look into and research pcb and chips of the sticks in use. Also ddr3 runs at such low voltage that really a heatspreader is not really needed. some kingston sticks are very good, stick with them gskill and corsair. If u can find mushkin, they are good too. If u want budget inexpensive sticks get supwr talent.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#15
There are other variables but in theory thats a yes. Would want to look into and research pcb and chips of the sticks in use. Also ddr3 runs at such low voltage that really a heatspreader is not really needed. some kingston sticks are very good, stick with them gskill and corsair. If u can find mushkin, they are good too. If u want budget inexpensive sticks get supwr talent.
Your advice is really helping me a lot. Thanks again :toast:
P/s: Topic closed